We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't Expect a Jolly Attitude...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH New York Jolly Madison Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
Ranked #372 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't Expect a Jolly Attitude...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

It seemed like we were inconveniencing the staff by staying there. We are two younger ladies and didn't get the respect that some of the older guests were receiving. The Doormen/Bellmen were definitely the rudest people we encountered, they didn't open the doors for us and snidely scoffed at the tips we gave. I work in a hotel in Toronto and you have to earn your tips - you don't expect to just get them for socializing with your co-workers in the lobby. We had won a contest, so thank goodness we didn't have to pay for our stay or I would have been even more disappointed with the service. However, the room was nicely furnished and the bathroom was luxurious (we had a Deluxe Room). Our toilet ran incessantly and the engineer that came to fix it was annoyed more and more each time he came to help us. Internet access was a bit of a hassle, was on the phone with tech support for +30 minutes as their service didn't support my device (HP Touch Pad) and had to initially try to get access on my cell phone which lead me to being charged for roaming. Housekeeping was a little pushy but our rooms were kept with the maximum amount of care and attention. We had a package sent to the hotel a week before our arrival but it got lost somewhere along the way, the staff did very little to help us track it down, although one front desk clerk tried his best to show empathy. We were very close to the Fashion and Garment District which was great as our stay was centered around NY Fashion Week.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cabinetofcuriosities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    906
    745
    331
    211
See reviews for
310
1,267
116
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have stayed in many NYC hotels. This is the best so far for location,comfort,cleanliness and especially the price booked with an online site. Quiet neighborhood with good restaurant bars close by, especially an Irish bar a few blocks away that serves good food.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ScouseFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed 5 nights at Jolly Madison - more about it here http://iain.bz/nyc1

"There is nothing jolly about Jolly Madison Towers hotel just off Madison Avenue – the rooms are tired (like 70′s porno meets grandmas house), even the bellhop suggested that we go out for breakfast rather than the hotel restaurant. BUT for us it was just fine as it meant we spent more time out in the city."

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Upon arrival, we were completely ignored at the reception desk whilst the man was just standing there in the doorway of the back office, chatting to a colleague. No one offered to carry our luggage to the 10th floor.

The room was NOT one of the refurbished ones that are displayed on the website. Bedroom walls are not exactly soundproof. Air conditioning unit was also quite loud. Bedsheets were quite thin for the time of year (winter). Room was clean, though.

Breakfast ($22,-) & internet ($10,-) are not included. No printer available at the hotel; there is a copy & print shop on the corner, diner Moonstruck is across the road.

One our next to last day, the security passes to our hotel room were somehow de-activated. No apologies were made at the reception desk, just a ''may I see a passport" and they re-actived the passes.

Upon checking out no one at the reception desk asked if we needed transport to the airport nor did any of the staff ask if our stay at the hotel was a pleasant one. Eventually the bellman did, but only after we had stalled our bags with him for a few hours. Mind you, the hotel charges about $100,- dollars for a transfer to the airport; buses from Grand Central will take you there for about $12-15 dollars.

While the hotel is in a top location (and a quiet one) from where most city sights are within walking distance, we will only consider returning to this hotel when no other option is available. This is a hotel asking top dollar for outdated hotel rooms and terrible (customer) service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank siranouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I've never stayed in a quieter hotel in New York. The renovated rooms and the bathroom in particular are clean and well appointed, and I was very happy with the room and the staff. I think it also depends on your expectations and the price. I booked my room through a fantastic online site with bargains, and I booked it about 2-3 weeks ahead of time. For the right price, it is a great spot-quiet neighborhood, a huge Duane Reade conveniently across the street, as well as a few cute restaurants and cafes surrounding the area. It's not Park Avenue, but it's steps away from everything without being so out of the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on the quietest side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#339 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#353 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#187 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#214 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,608 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#309 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH New York Jolly Madison Towers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH New York Jolly Madison Towers

Property: NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
Address: 22 East 38th Street, Midtown, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,850 - ₹ 21,605
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH New York Jolly Madison Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of New York City, the NH New York Jolly Madison Towers combines Italian-inspired elegance with art deco charm and an array of modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your NH New York Jolly Madison Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel Nyc
Jolly Hotel Madison Towers
Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel New York
Jolly Madison Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing