We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“really liked” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #159 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“really liked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Very nice stay. Loved the linens and the bed was very comfortable. Complimentary breakfast included waffles, eggs, bacon, and much more. Convenient location. Room was large and in good condition. Free wireless. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: we were on the 10th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janjoe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,677
    1,824
    403
    100
    52
See reviews for
2,147
1,296
192
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed! I booked a double queen room which was perfect for my husband and I along with our two teen sons. We drove into the city after visiting with family about an hour away and had an easy time getting to the hotel and parking; the lot is right next door -- very convenient yet pricey (about $50 a day with no in/out priveleges, which we didn't need since we took the subway or walked everywhere). The room was spacious by NYC standards, very clean, with up-to-date furnishings and comfortable beds, plenty of space to stow luggage and other personal belongings, and roomy in the bathroom. The hotel is not too big -- only 11 floors, 10 of which have rooms with about 30 rooms per floor. We were on the 3rd floor in a room near the elevators and right next to the ice maker. We didn't hear a thing at night -- it was very quiet. You won't get a "view" from the windows of this hotel, but who cares? We found the other amenities to be great and would much rather be out in the city than looking at it through a window! Even though the hotel is not that big, it could get super busy in the breakfast room. A lovely hot breakfast was included with the room, and the hotel does let you know that the earlier you eat, the less crowded it is.

The hotel is well located on the edge of the Times Square area, giving us great access without being in the thick of all the crowds. We could walk to many uptown destinations and were just a block from the subway station to catch trains downtown, up to the museum mile, and even into Brooklyn. Favorite activities for our kids on this trip (ages 17 & 19) were the NBC Studio Tour, walking across the Brooklyn Bridge into the city on 4th of July, catching the Tony-winning musical "Once", and visiting the 911 Memorial.

We got a very good rate (thanks AARP!) and were extremely satisfied with our hotel choice. We will definitely return to this Hampton Inn again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ezimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, and were extremely happy with it! The room size was excellent esp. being in Manhattan. It was a standard Hampton Inn room which is always a great choice. There are multiple subway stops within a few block radius, Times Square is just a coupe of blocks away. The staff is very nice. Also free wifi, breakfast, and a concierage to help with purchasing tickets. Honestly I would recommend staying away from the breakfast buffet if you can't get there before 8am. It's a disaster area and it's too hard for the staff to keep up with the demands. We only chose to eat there one morning. There is a bagel place nearby, go there instead! Also there is a Rite Aid right next door. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carchatys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Mass
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed here one Friday night while in town for a show. It is close enough to walk to Times Square, but also convenient to a subway station if you need it. Check in was smooth, people at the desk were friendly. The room was clean and comfy. Yes, the breakfast room was on the small side, but we had no problem finding a table and the turnover was pretty quick. We used the parking next door and it was very convenient. Be sure to get your ticket validated at the front desk at checkout, as they give you a discount. We have actually stayed at the Times Square Hilton and preferred this Hampton Inn for its location away from the massive throngs of people you have to contend with in Times Square. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenmonstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

The hotel had great service although the room was cramped, and the elevator took 15 min to arrive at our floor. The service is very fast and everyone who worked there is extremely welcoming. THe floors only have about 5-6 rooms each so it is very accesible to your room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,624 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#228 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#167 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,499 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#137 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,947 - ₹ 27,959
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing