We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #159 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel was recommended by co-workers from a previous trip and I couldn't have been happy enough with the stay. Upon checking in, we had an issue where we thought we booked enough rooms and didn't, the staff quickly found an extra room for us. The hotel was conveniently located, and safe, a quick walk or cab ride anywhere. The staff were friendly with any request - directions, holding bags, etc. The business center was very convenient as well - great for last-minute business needs, printing boarding passes, etc. Breakfast was great. And, best of all, after long walks in the city streets, coming back to a clean room with a comfy bed was priceless! The hotel was extremely clean - in all areas. Coming back, we realized we left a box of items and the hotel quickly shipped it back to us. We can't say enough great things about it and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,222 - 3,226 of 5,591 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Everything went like clockwork. Got rooms we requested. Hotel is immaculate. Rooms nice with comfortable beds. Breakfast good. Staff was extraordinarily pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiddoc1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I enjoyed my stay for seven days in New York City.
The Hotel Staff was what I would want if I was the owner.
The location to ALL Broadway Plays was in walking distance.
A microwave was brought to the room upon request within
15 minutes. Our room was clean and quiet for sleeping.
I will stay and enjoy the free breakfast again.

Room Tip: Street view on floor 10 or 11. We were in room 1028.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel is really convenient to the theater district and Times Square, and also to Lincoln Center and Central Park. I used points so I can't really comment on price. The room was a good size and everything was very clean. Sound insulation could be better, but it was livable. The staff was friendly. It was really convenient to have the breakfast included, although it did get a little crowded. Overall, a great, simple place to stay when having fun in NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauler80020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel was recommended by a NYC resident/family member. We were not disappointed! As other reviewers have stated, the location is prime. We were within easy walking distance to the theatre district, many of the famous tourist locations & fine restaurants were close by. Other reviewers say the rooms are small, however, we had a basic King room and found the size to be the same as any other Hampton location. We were on the 10th floor overlooking 8th Avenue and street noise was minimum for a city. We could open our window 3-4 inches and the smell of warm garlic & bread filled our room as well as the "traffic" sounds - very cool! The room was very clean. The bathroom was small, but adequate, and we found that all over the city (if you could even find a restroom!) We were told later there is an app you may download to your phone to find public restrooms within the city, but let me say they were few and far between!!

We arrived at 10:30 a.m. and were permitted to have the bellman hold our luggage while we toured the city. We worked with 2 check-in staff members, one didn't have much to say the other was very friendly and recommended several informal restaurants close by for dinner, which is what we asked for. Rino's Trattoria, 877 8th Avenue, was very quaint and the food was delicious. There is an in-room safe. Ours was missing the key so we called for maintenance to come up and he was there very quickly and apologized for the inconvenience.

The only negative about this hotel is all the doors closed with a loud bang and was disturbing. We only had one night we could not sleep due to activities in the room next door. I won't go into detail, but there was "sex in the city". Otherwise, we slept well as Hampton Inn's have the most comfortable beds anywhere! I sleep better there than at home :)

The breakfast buffet is served from 6 a.m. to 10 a.m. daily. There are 2 large rooms for seating. We were there for Memorial Day & it was also "Fleet Week" so the hotel was very busy. We found if we went down for breakfast prior to 9 a.m. there were no long lines and always a place to sit. They offered the usual items like bagels, yogurt, danish, muffins, toast, & fruit, but also had 2 hot items every morning; eggs in various styles, sausage, and potatoes on the days they offered omlets with meat. You could also make your own belgium waffles. They had 2 coffee/tea/hot chocolate stations. One located outside near the lobby available 24 hrs a day and one in the back breakfast room. The staff worked diligently to keep everything stocked full.

We arrive at La Guardia and took a taxi to the hotel. Our first experience in a NY taxi was very good. Our driver, who spoke very broken English, pointed out various famous locations as we passed by. With tip & toll our ride was right at $40. Our trip back was not so great. The meter wasn't working so the driver quoted a flat rate of $35 but drove 80mph (yes I am serious) across bumpy streets, and the freeway cutting in & out of traffic like playing video game. DO NOT try to eat/drink anything in a taxi!! We managed to arrive alive, but were very shaken. Only one other taxi ride was bad - from Wall Street to Times Square. I felt the need to throw up and change my clothes...otherwise all other taxi rides were good! It is very helpful to know the location of the venue you are wishing to go to with cross streets. Example: The Hampton on 8th Avenue at 51st Street. This will cost you less $$ and you are certain to arrive at the correct location. TIP: Never cross in front of a moving taxi, they will not stop, they use their horn instead of brakes!

We must recommed The Glass House Tavern on 47th Street. This is right in the heart of the Theatre district and we were told you often see stars going for late night dinners after their shows. "The Best Man" was amazing with James Earl Jones, Candice Bergan, John Larroquette, Eric McCormack, & Angela Landsbury - so many stars in one production!!

Other must do's are: 911 Memorial (get your pass before you leave home so you can be sure to get it) & do not buy the $10 books men on the street try to sell you. They have great pictures but there are so many spelling errors it is nearly impossible to read, opt for the real books in the gift shop. Also must do's are The Empire State Building, Rockafeller Center, the Statue of Liberty, The Metropolitian Museum, & Central Park. The Hop-On-Hop-Off double decker tour bus is a great way to see many things; however, we do not recommed the "Night on the Town Tour" totally over priced and disappointing!

Definitely wear good walking shoes. I wore sandles the first day and had 5 blisters. There is a Rite-Aid just down the block, which I purchased blister bandages twice! I wanted to look good - forget about it...go for comfort!! There is a Foot Locker in Times Square if you don't follow my advice to purchase good sneakers & socks :) We were there, too!

Overall our stay at The Hampton Inn was wonderful and our first trip to NYC was most memorable!! JUST DO IT! GO - you'll love it and people are not as rude and some would lead you to believe. As a thought, perhaps people in NYC are a bit rude because there are not enough restrooms??!

Room Tip: We always ask for an upper floor away from the ice/vending area. You may have to wait on an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Two-Touring-The-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 470 in New York City
7,393 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 470 in New York City
7,030 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#199 of 470 in New York City
9,896 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#336 of 470 in New York City
5,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 8,963 - ₹ 33,400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing