We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why 4, 5 stars 1? Just 2 stars for me :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #193 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Why 4, 5 stars 1? Just 2 stars for me :(”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The world known hotel chains, the one in Times Square NY is not much I liked.

First, location ,location, location, that's why I did NOT like. There are many other hotels in other areas that easy to access, because of in the middle of Times Square, too crowded for blocks away in the morning to the late night, nothing is wrong with tourists but I hoped stay away from this area (the company booked this hotel, it was not my decision).

Second, too big anyway, even go to front desk, you need to go up from the street level, and then walk to guest room elevator, and elevator does not have security, meaning anybody can access to guest room levels, just complicated with weak security for $270/night hotel, don't you think ?

Third, attitude, management, I wanted to print my boarding pass for my flight on next day, so that I called to "guest assistance", I asked how can I print my boarding pass ? The operator hold my phone without saying anything and transferred to someone, and then same thing, and then the person #3 said I need to go the business center to do that, and she said I have to pay for using the BC ! I'm not staying at one of popular hotel for business people, and that's all you can do ? Again, this is not a cheap hotel, okay ? I complained for it, and this lady did transfer to the manager named Mr. Ibanez. Fortunately, this person did right thing finally, he asked me to send an email to him with the boarding pass in pdf, I did so and approximately 30 minutes later, one of employee delivered a hard copy of my boarding pass to my room :)

Finally, the room was not bad but nothing special except very nice Manhattan view from 29th floor, my room was typical Crown Plaza without refrigerator in the hot summer in NY, a nice big bed but I don't like this high bed flame, is that necessary this much high ?

Anyway, I will definitely NOT come back this hotel, there are some cheaper and better hotels in Manhattan.

Room Tip: maybe the corner rooms because of better view, mine was 29th floor, windows toward south and east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tethro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for the candid review of your stay. We value all guest feedback. I am disappointed you did not find our location or facilities ideal for your business trip. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. Please contact me if I can be of assistance with a future stay.

Kind regards,
Sam Grabush
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,418
    3,246
    1,092
    421
    300
See reviews for
3,368
2,757
302
1,056
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,005)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I can praise this hotel any higher. From the moment I walked in I felt right at home. The staff were fantastic. The rooms are big and roomy and the beds are to die for. I know my new home now when I return to New York.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottitash82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for the five star review! I am so pleased to read you had a fantastic stay and our staff provided a warm welcome and great service. We all hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Sam Grabush
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

What a warm and welcoming staff at this centrally-located hotel right on Times Square and adjacent to the theatre district!

The hotel is modern, up- to -date, spotless and convenient to so much of New York City's most exciting areas. Excellent and ressoably-priced dining right in the hotel and an abundance of restraints from gourmet to fast within a block of the hotel.

The hotel staff deserves a special mention! I've never encountered a more helpful, welcoming, warm and caring staff in a big-city hotel!

Great value, too, by NYC standards.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for the kind review. I am so happy to read our team was able to make you feel right at home. We appreciate that you have many choices in New York. Thank you for choosing our hotel and please visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Sam Grabush
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed at crowne plaza in february with my husband,it was our first time in new york and this hotel made our visit perfect.We had a room on the 43rd floor with amazing views of the hudson river to one side and times square to the other, so nice to look out at every night.The beds were so comfortable after a long day exploring new york. Central park,5th ave , empire state and many other interesting places are only a 10 to 15 minute walk away.Loved the hotel and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 365joa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your kind review. On behalf of my team, thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Times Square. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Sam Grabush
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Fantastic central location, slap-bang in Times Square, surrounded by Broadway theatres and only a few steps to where the City Sights hop on/off busses departs/ends on the Downtown tour (EmpireState, Rockefeller, 911 Memorial + Statue of Liberty) and 2 blocks from where the Uptown tour (Central Park, Haarlem, museums) departs/ends.

Once you are in your room the heat (we were there during an official heatwave) and the sounds and sirens that are NY, are completely obliterated and the room is a peaceful haven. Our 44th floor room had beautiful views of the city and the Hudson River
We shared a 2-double bed room, with our teenage daughter and although I initially thought the double bed was a bit small for my husband and I, we were very comfortable. The room by NY standards was spacious with a large flat screen TV.

We booked the concierge floor, which included breakfast and snacks later in the day, plus free entry to a well equipped gym and free wi-fi. In our opinion well worth the extra money!
The breakfasts were adequate, albeit slightly repetitive (selection of cereals and oat porridge, fresh fruit, yogurts, bagels, doughnuts, cake, selection of bread for the toaster, croissants, strictly not for the toaster as they catch fire! Honey, jams, cold meats + cheese plus tea, coffee and hot chocolate and juice) and although we did not make use of the late afternoon/early evening snacks, on the one occasion that I popped in for a cup of coffee they looked nice with nachos, snacks and some yummy looking red velvet cake - for July 4th!
Not much to complain about, housekeeping was mainly very good, our room was always spotless, we did have a few minor issues regarding slightly erratic supplies - but all quickly rectified with a phone call.
Our main problem with the Crowne Plaza was the internet. It worked perfectly for the first couple of days, but on Sunday they did an upgrade/ service or something ... (we were not informed until we phoned to ask why we could not get internet) I'm not sure whether something went unexpectedly wrong but the "couple of hours" we were told turned into no internet for nearly 3 days, and then were still unable to get our normal mail right up until the time we left. I thought it was poor that the hotel did not communicate the situation to its customers as this severely disrupted our business communications! Free wi-fi is one of my absolute criteria before I book any hotel.
Besides these few gripes I would return and highly recommend this hotel to fellow travellers - but go for the concierge option.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get the concierge rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for the five star review! Thank you for letting your fellow travelers know what a great value our concierge level rooms are. My team and I look forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I can assist with a future reservation.

Kind regards,
Sam Grabush
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,001 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#176 of 467 in New York City
7,906 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
6,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
11,206 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#183 of 467 in New York City
10,617 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 467 in New York City
9,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Property: Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Address: 1605 Broadway, Between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Business Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,302 - ₹ 31,182
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing