We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #191 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel which is just about a block North of Times Square proper is an excellent location, particularly if your visit is Broadway oriented. It is with a short walk of almost every theater you can think of. I was very pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. Compared to other hotels I have stayed at in NYC, this room was huge!! An excellent view to the West. I was concerned that the room was too close to the elevators, but there was no elevator noise at all. Rooms were very well soundproofed. Though reasonable clean, housekeeping could have been a bit more diligent and thorough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukcat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your room and our excellent location. I have shared your comment with our housekeeping team as excellent housekeeping is a top priority. Thank your for your candid feedback.

We hope to welcome you to NYC again soon!

Kind regards,
Gerry Hughes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,377
    3,225
    1,087
    420
    299
See reviews for
3,330
2,744
302
1,053
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,991)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the crowne plaza for 5 nights and the main reason for our trip was to celebrate my 40th birthday as well as the amazing shopping. From the minute we arrived the staff at the hotel looked after us, we were upgraded to a hudson view room on the 42nd floor and we very pleased with the size of the room. Considering we knew we were going to spend most of our time out of the hotel we had in mind a basic room, the one we got was more than adequately appointed with large king bed, a small seating area and writing desk area and a large shower room. The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of times square with subway stations close by allowing easy travelling around new york.
On my birthday we asked the concierge for advice on a special restaurant he booked us Benjamin's Steakhouse and we were not disappointed. Courtesy of the hotel I received a special treat of birthday cake sent up to the room, this was a lovely touch.
The hotel is exceptionally busy and the staff do everything in the power to be courteous and helpful, if you like a quieter more personal hotel then this is not for you and the continual toing and froing of people can be overwhelming for some people.
We were able to get a late check of a couple of hours which enabled up to make the most of our last day.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for location, cleanliness, amenities etc We would most certainly stay here again if we ever get the chance to go back.

Room Tip: higher floors do benefit from a quieter atmosphere. Do the trip to woodbury common if your trip is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for the five star review! Happy Birthday once again and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Gerry Hughes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The hotel is busy, but perfectly located and quite nice. My girlfriends took me to NYC for a belated 50th birthday celebration and we stayed at the Crowne Plaza for the night. We happened to mention the occasion to the person who checked us in at the hotel and not only did we wind up with a lovely room (33rd floor, great view of the Hudson river) but he also sent up complimentary champagne in the afternoon. It was such a generous and gracious gesture, and completely unexpected. I really want to thank him (Louie Oliver) for making our stay so special. The two concierges we got advice from (I think one was Eddie) were also incredibly helpful. All around, the staff really made it a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: A view of the river is really worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend your birthday with us here in Times Square! I am so pleased the team was able to make it special for you. We hope you will visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Gerry Hughes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed with my mother and sister over the memorial day weekend. The room was clean and comfortable and had all basic requirements, however, a hotel this large you would expect to get Wi-Fi free. In most of NY you will get free wi-fi so go down to the lobby (free here) or go to any restaurant where it is normally free.

The location of this hotel is superb if you wish to see the sights. I walked ever morning, Central park one day and found the Magnolia Bakery, Rockerfella Center, St Patricks Cathedral and FAO Schwarz on another walk. If you are there at a convienent time and not silly hours of the morning (jet-lag), I suggest you go and play on the Piano at FAO Schwarz - in the movie BIG.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrimp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Times Square during your recent visit to NYC. It is nice to read you made the most of our excellent location and really explored the city. We hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards,
Gerry Hughes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingdale
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Crowne Plaza Hotel in Time Square is just the perfect location. In the middle of everything and the view from the top floor is just wow! The service was wonderful and the staff was just the best. Room service and the eating was just over the top. Try it you will love it. Price is high but it was worth it. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Giftbloomingdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for the five star review! I am so happy to read we were able to impress you with our location and service. Please come again soon.

Kind regards,
Gerry Hughes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,927 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#179 of 468 in New York City
7,834 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 468 in New York City
6,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#183 of 468 in New York City
10,370 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Property: Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Address: 1605 Broadway, Between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,382 - ₹ 31,030
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing