We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again - enjoyed the character” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Life Hotel
Ranked #309 of 467 Hotels in New York City
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would stay again - enjoyed the character”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed here May 15-17 on business. The hotel is older and that gives it a bit of character (for example - only one of the elevators goes to the 9th floor (where my room was) - the other elevator goes to the 8th and you have to take stairs up from there). There is bullet proof glass at the reception desk - I didn't mind it. The desk does after all look out directly on the street. Seemed that most guests were European. The lobby area is not all that - but then, I don't pick my hotels for the lobby. The rooms are small (expected) but comfortable. The decor is fine, and everything in my room was clean and worked properly. You aren't getting all kinds of freebies with this hotel - but internet was free and worked very well. The hotel is in a good central location - easy to get to Penn Station, and other parts of NY. It was my first real trip to NY so in addition to business I wanted to spend a bit of time catching some sites and I was able to easily see a lot. Times Square is only about 10 blocks away, Central Park is about 15 blocks, and United Nations not far either. Bryant Park and the NYC Library are about 4 blocks away and the Empire State Building is 2 blocks away. An easy cab ride to Financial District and you can see all the parts down there (9/11 memorial, wall st., etc. - that cab ride is about $10 with tip).

Room Tip: Ask for an updated or refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    774
    293
    99
    65
See reviews for
245
753
148
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Easily located between the fashion district, Macy's, Empire State, Times Square and the Korean district. Good food nearby, easy subway access. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Great staff- not too intrusive, but available.
We had an upgraded room and the bathroom was huge! My only complaints, and they are small, was no full length mirror and slow elevators.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ay4peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Just got back after spending the night in a double queen renovated room. The room was beautiful, cleaan and the beds were so comfortable. The staff was very accomodating. Free delicious coffee in the lobby and a daily newspaper. My only complaint was the shower head, you couldn't adjust it so I basically stand in the very front of the tub, but on the upside the bathroom was gorgeous. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelleegirl713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here in March...Check in was smooth...reception staff,extremely throughout my stay...room was ready even though i was early...bed was very comfortable...location is second to none,just around the corner from the Empire State Building...Macy's and Times Square are within walking distances...subwayalso very close...laundry facilities onsite...only negative (and must stress,not the hotel's fault) are taxes which aren't included on booking.com prices....would definately stay here again....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnieSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed the week of April 23, 2012. It was a very pleasant experience. I have actually stayed here before several years ago. They have since renovated most of the rooms I believe. My room was a renovated room that had hardwood floors and a very comfortable bed and a nice bath. I was very pleased with my stay overall. Staff were very nice and you couldn't ask for a better location. It was also very reasonably priced for NYC. If I had to mentioned anything negative the hot water was usually only hot in the a.m. and evening but that's when you needed it so wasn't a problem for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KashiCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#305 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotel

Property: Life Hotel
Address: 19 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-4402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#240 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,463 - ₹ 25,720
Hotel Class:4 star — Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close walking distance to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and Macy's.Close to the Theater District, Times Square, radio City Music Hall and Rockefeller Center.Beautiful newly renovated rooms.Complimentary coffee machine in the lounge area.24 hours front desk and concierge service.Non Smoking throughout.Free wireless internet access.A hotel you can recommend to your clients, friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Herald Square
Herald Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing