We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“DO NOT STAY AT THE GRAND HYATT NEW YORK!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hyatt New York
Ranked #312 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY AT THE GRAND HYATT NEW YORK!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife and I are fairly well travelled and have just spent the last month travelling through Canda and US. We are currently staying at the Grand Hyatt New York and I can tell you it is by far the worst of all 15 hotels we have stayed. Some problems we have encounted,

1. Water pressure, there isn't any! And the hot water takes 5 minutes to get warm.
2. Cleaners don't clean and barely make the bed.
3. Room phone does not work at all!
4. The plug in the wash basin does not open or close. We had to hold it open with a bobb pin.

We booked three months ago so we could have a good experience in New York and we have been placed in a substantial room which is poorly designed. Eg: to watch a movie, (more on that below), only one person can relax on lounge, the other has to lie on the bed (room 1731)

After three days of our room not being cleaned properly (basic things like, replacing the soap and shampoo/conditioner, wiping down coffee table and cleaning sink as it won't drain properly which leaves soap and shaving scum), I approached the desk and nicely requested that the room be cleaned to a higher standard. I was basically flogged off and told they would fix? Didn't happen! Next day (today 12/6/12) I was looking for a bottle opener as we wanted to share a bottle of wine and watch a movie and I could not locate one? I then picked up the phone to request and the phone doesn't work? I then went down stairs to reception and spoke to one of the managers who told me they don't supply bottle openers however she would lend me one at NO CHARGE... As if she was doing me a favour (evidently there is a service charge to use a bottle opener). I thanked her and also told her about the phone, sink, water pressure, and the state of the room and was basically dismissed. After comming back to my room I opened a bottle of wine and sat back to watch a movie and you guessed it, it doesn't work!!! We are now waiting the the service man to come up to the room to have a look (after my wife went back downstairs to tell reception - due to the phone not working).

Service terrible, hotel terrible. It's a shame as it is in a great location (next door to grand central station)

I stay at many hotels through out AUS/NZ AND STH EAST ASIA and will certainly Not be recommending the Hyatt chain to colleagues and clients.

At $378 per night, expected more.

Room Tip: Room 1731 looks out onto water chillers and other buildings. No view at all. Room layout not the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenleesgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear jenleesgroup,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Grand Hyatt New York. On behalf of the hotel, we apologize for the inconveniences and lack of service that you received during your stay here. Your experience was certainly not up to Hyatt’s standards. The housekeeping department has been made aware of your comments to ensure this does not happen in the future. We realize room cleanliness is of utmost importance to our guests, and apologize for the less than satisfactory condition you found your room in. We strive to make every guest’s experience at the Grand Hyatt New York a positive one, and hope that you will give us another chance to show you a true Hyatt experience. If you would like to discuss your stay further, a Front Office Manager is happy to speak with you directly. They can be reached at qualitynycgh@hyatt.com (Attn: Front Office Manager). Thank you again, and I hope we can show you what we are truly capable of.

All the best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

7,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,469
    2,831
    1,594
    664
    417
See reviews for
1,859
2,147
394
2,067
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,085)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

It wasn't until we visited NYC that we completely appreciated how wonderfully placed this clean and modern hotel is.
To get your morning coffee you can wander down through the lobby into grand central station or head out into 42nd street where you would have to walk around with your eyes shut to miss the surrounding iconic landmarks.
Perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This was the last hotel stay on our America trip and we were really looking forward to New York and as we paid extra for the better location were expecting something really great. We arrived at 6pm after a 2 hour wait at the airport( thanks to go shuttle) so when we were told the room wasn't ready were a bit shocked. As it was going to be a few hours wait they offered us a room with a roll out bed for our daughter, we went up to have a look and you couldnt swing a cat in it, plus at approx $400 per night it was a rip off. When my husband complained they told us that the room we had booked for 6 months prior was given to someone who had walked in off the street so it definately doesnt pay to prebook. After complaining we were given another room with proper bedding too bad it was opposite the lift with bells constantly ringing on a Saturday night, we didnt get much sleep and thought it may have been pay back for kicking up a fuss. Next day we were relocated after complaining again. All in all apart from location was the worst accommodation in USA for us we felt like we were an inconvenience as we were not business people like the majority staying there. Paying for baggage storage, coffee, internet on top!!!!!

Room Tip: Never stay opposite the lifts!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Wow! This hotel has gone through a renovation since my last stay, it was nice before and now it is spectacular! I love the room design and the lobby has a very hip vibe! Their Grand Club was perfect, everyone was feeling it! Being able to get something hot to eat late at their 24 hour market, like their super delicious Yankee pot roast stew, how cool is that!?! Also, the server at their restaurant, Eddie and the nice young lady at the Market, Miss Rivera were both very warm and hospitable. Considering this hotel's great location, this is my official New York city digs!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, Public Relations and Marketing Coordinator at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Tom C,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you loved the newly redesigned hotel from the lobby and guest rooms to the Grand Club lounge. We will be sure to pass along your sweet comments to both Eddie and Miss Rivera, it will put smiles on their faces. We are honored to be your official hotel of choice in NYC and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

If you are used to upscale hotels do not waist your time! feels like being in a shopping mall (1300 rooms), as i usually stay in Park Hyatt hotels i can notice a huge difference between Grand hyatt and Park hyatt!
positive: good location and friendly front desk staff.
Negative: small rooms, tiny bathrooms, no free hifi, and dirty rooms (huge problems of housekeeping)
Will never come back

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexos78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyatt_NY_Mgmt, v at Grand Hyatt New York, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Alexos78,

We appreciate you taking the time in letting us know about your recent experience with us, unfortunately it was not a positive one. It is nice to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and our friendly staff but I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your accommodations, specifically the condition your room was left in by housekeeping. I sincerely apologize for this. A Housekeeping Manager would like to speak with you to find out more about your situation concerning your room. If you will, please contact qualitynycgh@hyatt.com (Attn: Housekeeping Manager) to speak directly with a manager.

I hope we have the opportunity to show you what we are truly capable of.

All the best,
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#50 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#223 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#204 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,572 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#322 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,629 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt New York

Property: Grand Hyatt New York
Address: 109 East 42nd Street, Park Avenue at Grand Central Terminal, New York City, NY 10017-8500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#193 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,828 - ₹ 33,280
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt New York 4*
Number of rooms: 1306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location in the heart of New York's famous midtown. Striking lobby with waterfalls, seating areas and three restaurants and lounges. Direct access to Grand Central Terminal and connected to the Chrysler Building. Steps from Times Square, Shopping and the Theatre District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Grand Hyatt New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt New York City
Hyatt New York City
Hyatt Hotel New York City
Grand Hotel Hyatt New York
Hotel Hyatt New York
New York City Grand Hyatt Hotel
Grand Hyatt Hotel New York
New York Hyatt
New York City Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing