We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #136 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall Great Experience!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Although I was a bit skeptical based on the previous reviews, I thought the Blakely was awesome! We planned our trip to NYC the weekend after July 4th so we knew the city would be crowded. Our accommodations were on the 7th floor (2 rooms) side by side facing 54th street. The room was quiet, clean and quite large by NY standards. The breakfast was adequate (self-serve) and the wait staff was fine. The hotel is quite charming and a nice change from the large hotel chains. We've traveled to NYC several times over the years and we will definitely return to this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    542
    112
    30
    16
See reviews for
407
495
48
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel in February while making plans to attend a broadway play. The hotel was very nice and appeared to be very clean. We were upgraded into a nicer room at check in which was located on a higher floor. The room was very spacious and clean. We were located in a very close proximity to Times Square and the theatre district. Although we were only staying for one night, we did not make arrangements for dinner in advance, however, the hotel was able to call various restaurants and make a reservation for us within a short period of time. A complimentary continental breakfast was also incuded with our stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley NY
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Great stay at the Blakely! This hotel is conveniently located mid block on 55th Street between 6th and 7th Ave., tucked away from the bustle. The location can't be beat as you are walking distance to Times Square, Rock Center, Radio City, Central Park and so much more. There's a Hertz Car rental and parking garage located right next door, and a connecting Italian restaurant in the Lobby where they also offer a nice complimentary continental breakfast each morning until 10:30am. Our room was very clean, the bathroom spacious, the closet large, the king-sized bed super comfy and the Keurig coffee maker with complimentary supplies very handy. Our only negatives were the super slow internet and very early 8:15 am Saturday morning knock on the door from housekeeping, but other wise the Blakely lived up to its well-deserved TripAdvisor rating. If you're looking for glitz and swank this is not the place for you, but the Blakely is a very affordable, modest, and quiet place to stay. We will absolutely be back - great job Blakely!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HudsonValleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Blakely for 8 nights. The room we had (we got upgraded to a suite) was quite and moderately clean with very comfortable beds. My understanding is that all rooms have a frig. and sink. A basic complementary breakfast is available. Housekeeping was excellent during our stay. Even if we were gone for only an hour the housekeeping staff would get in and quickly clean our room before our return. The hotel does not have a pool, but it does have a basic exercise facility. It is very close to the N,Q,R subway line. There is no grandiose entrance hall to this hotel--it's just a hotel with quality rooms. Staff were always friendly during our stay. My only complaint is that there wi-fi was of inferior quality (speed). Overall, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Upper floors tend to be quieter. Overall, I felt that this was a safe area of mid-town for my daugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMDigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed in a suite that held 5 but had 6 stay and it worked well. Bathroom was modern and spacious . Kitchenette had a Kuerig and coffee picks that was complimentary. iPod dock, living room that was used as another bedroom for 2.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#100 of 466 in New York City
1,609 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#176 of 466 in New York City
3,471 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 466 in New York City
2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#111 of 466 in New York City
1,231 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#208 of 466 in New York City
632 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#147 of 466 in New York City
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,704 - ₹ 31,538
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing