We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Edison in Heart of Times Sq, NYC” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edison Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #307 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bridgewater, Ma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Edison in Heart of Times Sq, NYC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Lew,June,Cherie & Dan visited NYC 7-14 thru 7-17-12 & stayed at Hotel Edison right on 47th St ( at 7th Ave) Times Sq. Very convienient to subways, restaurants, ect. Room had 2 queen beds, good tv; but air conditioner needs to be revamped mostly hot air. Bathtub very hard to control water on shower; very strange set of faucets in there. Not much room in bathroom at all. Good value though for the price. Everyone was very friendly; except bellhops. They didn't respond very well when asked a question. Maybe they didn't speak English well. Check in & checkout was very efficient. To store luggage before we left had to pay a small fee .50 each bag; which isn't bad; but when picking up luggage they didn't have a good system. Had to wait in long line; which was stressful as we had to get going walking back to Port Authority for Greyhound bus. Like I said; good value for money spent; but would have liked better air conditioning & at least a vanity outside small bathroom for easier get ready for 4 people.

Room Tip: Don't know anything about other rooms. This room was on 9th floor & air conditioner did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dansnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We are always grateful to hear feedback from our guests, and appreciate your comments. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to see various aspects of the property from the guest's viewpoint. I will certainly pass your comments along to the appropriate departments, so that we can improve our service. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

8,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,175
    3,639
    1,970
    716
    474
See reviews for
2,545
2,930
381
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,645)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Neches, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We love vintage/boutique hotels! This one did not disappoint!!! The location is perfect. The only issue we had was the A.C. our room was extremely hot...last week of June...and there was plumbing maintenance performed in the middle of the night.....Otherwise, Great hotel & location!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duboisfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you very much for this positive review. It means so much to have our guests satisfied and content and even take the time to write about it. We apologize for the plumbing issues during your stay, though it is sometimes necessary to perform maintenance for the comfort and convenience of our guests.
We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsgrove nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I had won a two night stay for 4 at a local school fundraising event and was not sure what to expect. Was I pleasantly supprised! Yes the room was small but I expected it to be so considering the age of the building. We had 2 queen beds and adequate room for all of us to be comfortable. After walking from Penn Station it was wonderful opening the room door and feeling that blast of cool air!. The bathroom was small but was fully stocked with soap, bath gell, lotion and shampoo. We truely appreciated the ability to check our bags at the hotel after we "officially" checked out so we could take advantage of a few more hours of sight seeing before our train left.

We had a wonderful stay and will certainly visit again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank scott_jeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were impressed with our location and services. We would love the opportunity to show you the same hospitality on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

For our 3 night stay in New York to celebrate my son's 21st, the location of The Edison was perfect. Literally seconds from the centre of Times Square we were right in the centre of all the action - great when you want to do everyrthing on foot. Our room was a decent size and comfortable, although it probably could do with updating but as we really just used it to sleep in we didnt mind. The Art Deco theme of the hotel was interesting, if a little shabby. The most disappointing area was the cafe/restaurant/diner where we had breakfast. It felt tired, shabby, and run down, which was a great shame.That could definitely do with a makeover! The staff at the hotel were pleasant, the transportation clerk particularly helpful when our airport transfer didnt arrive. Our stay was on a budget and because of that i don't really have any complaints as finances were directed towards things to do rather than the place to stay, however if i were coming to New York again for a couples break or a longer holiday i would want to stay somewhere smarter and more up to date.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to let me know how your stay with us went. Needless to say all comments are welcome and we take everything constructively. We are in the process of renovations and our new, fully renovated Signature rooms are sure to please. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The hotel location is excellent, steps away from Times Square. It is apparent that the hotel is quite old and it is currently in the process of renovations. Our initial room on the 12th floor was very old and outdated. I would consider this a 2 star room. The room was clean and had a new flat screen television, but looked like an old run down motel room. Definitely not what I expected for a 3 star in Times Square. There was also a strong chemical odour throughout the hallway...maybe paint? We called the front desk to see if we could pay for an upgrade but were told that no rooms were available. We attended the front desk again later that evening and were greeted by Victor who was able to accomodate a room upgrade for our stay!!!!! This was a beautiful newly renovated room on the 3rd floor! We were thrilled. I would consider this room 3.5 to 4 star! Thank you Victor! In conculsion do not stay at this hotel unless you are guaranteed a renovated room. A room that is not renovated will surely dissapoint you and is not worth the money.

Room Tip: My rating is based on the beautifully renovated room - do not stay in a room that has not been renov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bushalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were impressed with our renovated rooms and helpful staff. We would love the opportunity to show you the same hospitality on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#338 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,779 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,034 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#374 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,659 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,585 - ₹ 24,807
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing