We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in the heart of theatreland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #313 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Yes this hotel is dated. Yes the rooms are small. But you could not fault its location slap bang in the middle of everything New York has to offer. We got a very reasonable deal, and fully expected the room to be small (it is NY) which it was, but perfectly adequate if a bit antiquated. The bathroom was indeed like one you'd find in a caravan but everything was clean. There are no safes in the rooms, so be prepared to collect all valuables and bring them to Reception. They have a strong room and will allocate a safety deposit box for your personal use. This is a nuisance but apparently necessary. One really unique feature about the hotel is the Art Deco decoration throughout, especially in the lobby which is a pleasant place to sit and rest your bunions! Use of the computers in the internet station only costs €3 for 15 minutes. Breakfast in the busy cafe is reasonable and will last until dinner time. The Italian restaurant in the hotel is very good with pleasant staff and a varied menu.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonMaynooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

We thank you for your compliments on the location, and services of the hotel. We are pleased to share that we have concluded renovations of many of our rooms. The management’s endeavor has always been to offer our guests a contemporary product. In line with this, further upgrades in a phased manner are already scheduled. We are confident that you will notice the difference in your future visits. Please consider on of our Signature that offer in-room safes in addition to other conveniences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9,958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,966 - 4,970 of 9,958 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed at the edison hotel in june ... its a great hotel for location as its easy just a 1 minuite walk from time square. There were a few problems though with this hotel ... When we arrived i had to pay 150 dollar deposit as the holiday was booked as a present for me and i didnt have the card it was booked on so i lost 150 dollar spending money untill i checked out. A small women with long brown hair who worked on reception had a pure attitude and never had a smile on her face she needs to be trained better or get a new job not working in public. when we arrived in are room it smelt like wet dog it was very small and the bathroom was tiny the bath was so small when i sat up in it i couldnt even stretch my legs needs to cater for tall people aswel as small people. The women who cleaned are women was lovely and very helpful. The hotel is having a few rooms redone but i would suggest they got more people in to do it so the rooms will be completed quicker. I would stay at this hotel again but i would upgrade to a bigger and better room and hopefully the women on reception would have got herself a new job.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penelope s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

We thank you for your feedback and compliments on our housekeeping staff. As far as the Front Desk is concerned, we sincerely apologize and will bring it to the attention of the manager who will take necessary action. We have taken cognizance of your feedback on the room. We are pleased to apprise you thatManagement is currently in the process of renovating and upgrading many aspects of the hotel.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

As always, I was amazed with the location in the heart of NYC. Edison does not appeal a chain hotel like atomosphere. Instead, each room has its own character, design, and views. In addition, I love pancake breakfast in the cafe, and the rum bar with Jazzy music at weekend night. I will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGeek57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

We thank you for your complimentary review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you want to stay right in the middle of everything this is the location. The Edison Hotel has quite a history to it -- kind of fun to imagine all of the people who have stayed here throughout the years. Just a 2 minute walk to Times Square and right in the middle of the Theater District convenience is definitely the key here. Newly remodeled -- No, fancy -- No, large rooms - No, Clean and helpful - Yes !!

Try the little convenience store next to the Edison Cafe -- it has a grill and buffet in the back of it. Great bagels and coffee. Buffet or place an order with seating upstairs. So convenient and cheap !!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InTheCarolinaPines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

We thank you for your courteous comment and rating. We indeed do have the advantage of being in a great location, in the heart of almost everything. We look forward to serving your family and you, on your next visit to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed at the hotel on June 26th & 27th 2012, and I would stay again. I absolutely loved the Art Deco in the lobby, and the rooms are very nice. The best part is that you step out of the entrance, walk 200 feet or so, and you are then in the heart of Times Square. The hotel staff are very attentive and friendly. Don't pass up on going into the new Diamond Cafe ( about 2 doors away from The Edison) around 6 a.m.and ordering a breakfast to go for around six bucks. Take your goodies and go enjoy the early morning at a table in Times Square! What a wonderful experience at a budget price!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetchekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 470 in New York City
4,726 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 470 in New York City
19,831 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 470 in New York City
9,888 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#187 of 470 in New York City
8,274 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#266 of 470 in New York City
4,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 8,581 - ₹ 32,645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing