We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #308 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nottingham UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and have to say on the whole it was very good the location was fantastic a 1 min walk from Times Square the room was a little small but very clean regular room service and a good size bathroom perfect for what we wanted, you could upgrade if you wanted to anyway very helpfull staff and a safety box downstairs if you wanted which is free. The only negative for us was the baggage staff watched us drag our bags and suitcases to the taxi without helping but I as all the other staff where so helpfull I feel this was not a common thing still a pity though, would I go back to the Edison again yes I would hopfully next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeCruiserDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
We are always grateful to hear feedback from our guests, and appreciate your comments. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to see various aspects of the property from the guest's viewpoint. We will certainly pass your comments regarding the bell-man service to the Front Office manager, so that we can improve our service. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,324
    3,795
    2,068
    754
    507
See reviews for
2,693
3,088
404
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,747)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The Edison is between 46th and 47th and Broadway. We walked 1/2 block every day to stand in line for half price tickets to Broadway shows. The rooms are fine except a very small bathroom. The people who work there are very helpful and very kind. It is a very safe hotel as they check keys before you can go up to your room. The cafe next to the hotel has good food and the deli next to the cafe has all different kinds of cold and hot food. Just a perfect location to shop, see broadway shows or just wander the streets.

Room Tip: We stayed on 17th floor and heard no noise at night and slept great. Close the curtains as the neon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rags12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy when our guests are satisfied, because you deserve the best. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I was very pleased with my stay at the Edison Hotel. Room was clean, staff was friendly and professional, great location to Times Square. I would definitely stay at the Edison Hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Edison, and that you found the accommodations and staff to your satisfaction. We look forward to your next stay with great anticipation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

ist time in new york and was pleased with hotel .excellant location great coffee shop and nice bar with jazz a regular feature . rooms a bit on old fashioned side but clean and plenty of hot water and clean towels .would stay here again
jct

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jctgwespyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently in the process of renovations to many rooms, including our Signature rooms. We hope to welcomr you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Great art deco hotel, 2 minutes walk to the half price ticket booth in Times Square. Rooms are comfortable, two big soft queen beds but a very small bathroom.

Very busy, older clientele, not the place for young clubbers or partygoers.

Adjoining Italian restaurant good for a meal after a show. Small diner attached which serves quick meals and s reasonably priced.

Can be a little noisy from 47th street below, (we were on the 8th floor).

Overall a good place to stay in New York if Broadway is your thing.

Room Tip: Probably go for a room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
We are so grateful that you have taken the time to post feedback about your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure when guests are satisfied. We look forward to your next stay with great anticipation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 466 in New York City
18,092 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 466 in New York City
9,483 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,007 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 466 in New York City
7,222 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#384 of 466 in New York City
4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,860 - ₹ 26,879
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing