We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #311 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Edison is in a great location right by Times Square. A little bit tired and basic. Also quite noisy due to passing traffic and drone of the air conditioning units on the office block opposite - not loud but a persistent hum. Take ear plugs.

Room Tip: Higher up gets more light and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ulrike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us. For your future stays, please be advised that our Front Desk is operational 24 hours. Should you experience any problems with noise or other issues they are able to deal with it right away. For your convenience there is a phone in every room from which you can reach the reception by dialing '7251'. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Edison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,896 - 4,900 of 9,774 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

The first few times I visited I used this hotel for location.However the last two visits the rooms have been refurbished and what a difference.I now will always use the hotel out of choice for location,staff,service and pleasant rooms.

Room Tip: just ask for a newly refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bellissimaWalesU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Manager, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review, we are delighted that you have had a good experience. After all, that is what we are here for. Please do return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The Hotel is well located but the service in general is not good.
The attendants were not polite enough with us.
We had a problem with the room shower that was not solved while we were hosted there.
The room we stayed didn't have a mini-bar or a mini refrigerator.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcelomcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Guest Relations Manager, Marla Edgar at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

We're thrilled you found our location to be ideal, however, we regret that you had concern with a few of our Staff Members, and that, in addition, you experienced a maintenance issue while staying with us. The Department Managers have been contacted and will look into those particulars so that we may better serve you during your future stay. We are always more than happy to accommodate our guests with another room as per availability. Please let us know if you should need to change rooms for any reason upon your next stay. Also, we do have mini-refrigerators available at no additional charge. Please inquire upon Check-In. We truly wish to make it up to you by exceeding your expectations upon your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

It's what you'd expect from a midtown hotel as far as amenities go (not a lot), but while small and non descript, the room was clean and satisfactory with no complaints from us. The hotel has a location that's going to be hard to beat. If you want to be in the middle of it all not a far walk from most of it. This is your place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Guest Relations Manager, Marla Edgar at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

We're delighted you enjoyed taking advantage of our prime Times Square
location with the best Theatres and Restaurants right outside our front door! And, to make things even better, many of our rooms are in the process of being renovated. We have just introduced our ‘Signature’ Rooms on May 1st which are ‘Fully Renovated’ Rooms, equipped with coffee makers, iPod-compatible clock-radios, in-room safes, and ‘Free’ Wi-Fi and are simply gorgeous! Please feel free to view the photos online at www.edisonhotelnyc.com. In addition, the ‘Signature Suites’ (each complete with a mini fridge & a sleeper sofa) may prove more to your liking. And, you may ultimately be interested in the ‘Superior Signature Suites’ as they are more spacious and would prove more comfortable. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We were quite apprehensive about our stay here as we had read some of the bad reviews, however we really enjoyed our stay. We did email ahead to request a renovated room and we got one :) 4 of us were staying in one room with 2 queen beds and we found it really spacious. The beds and mattresses looked brand new and were really comfy and there was definitely no bed bugs, the bathroom didn't seem completely renovated but was good enough for what we needed. We were on the 4th floor and only heard a little street noise but could sleep well without it disturbing us.
The location was amazing, half a block from times square.
We had read that the gift shop was cheaper that most in the area and after shopping around - it was!
Most of the staff were really friendly except for one of the ladies on the front desk with long dark hair - she wasn't friendly and quite robotic in how she talked to us.
All in all we had an amazing time and would definitely stay again and recommend to others

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rach_a21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jtcanavan, Guest Relations Manager, Marla Edgar at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

We're so delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that the spacious, renovated room served you well! It's also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our prime location, where Times Square is literally right outside our front door! And, we're glad our Gift Shop proved economical as I'm sure you preferred spending your hard earned money on the legendary Theatres and 5 Star Restaurants in the area. We are so pleased that our staff provided you with friendly, hospitable service. We pride ourselves on our high standard of Guest Relations and are always thrilled to hear positive feedback in that area. However, your concern regarding one of our Front Desk Agents has been brought to the attention of our Front Office Director and will be addressed immediately. Please know this is not Hotel standard and that we will make every effort to ensure this does not occur again. We truly look forward to seeing you again soon! Please refer to our website for our current promotions and follow us on Facebook for the latest news and exciting events to take advantage of on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#396 of 469 in New York City
4,582 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#199 of 469 in New York City
9,757 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 469 in New York City
7,248 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,138 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
11,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 10,035 - ₹ 29,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing