We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big on hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #37 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Big on hospitality”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed at The Iroquois New York over 4 days and must say I went away rather impressed. Although the hotel was a little dated, its charm had really to do with the building's long and illustrious history (I read somewhere even James Dean once stayed here).

The room I stayed in was small but comfortable. What should be emphasized though is the level of service, in particular Bill the bellboy and Vanessa at concierge. Their overarching help and enthusiasm made my stay at The Iroquois a lot more memorable.

The Iroquios Hotel is strategically located within a stone's throw from Times Square and Fifth Avenue - a real gem among the litany of hotels in Midtown - and most definitely warrants a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
It's a great pleasure when we hear that we go beyond our guest's expectations. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us, I am glad to hear that Bill and Vanessa were able to make your stay memborable with their great service and help. They are an added value to our team. And you are correct about James Dean! he did live on the property for about 2 years, there is more information on our website here http://www.iroquoisny.com/About/History. It would be a great honor to welcome you back!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,434
    907
    179
    61
    34
See reviews for
868
1,462
214
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Everything about the Iroquois was first-class. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable. As we stayed for a week, we got to know the front desk clerks as well as the doormen and housekeeping staff. The room was on the smallish side, but terrifically well-appointed and well-thought-out. Not sure why you'd need any more room, when you get right down to it. We also tried the Lantern's Keep bar (excellent) and treated one of our Manhattanite friends to dinner at Triomphe, which was exquisite. If you are looking for a stylish, small hotel in a great location -- walking distance to Grand Central, library, Broadway theatres, etc -- look no further.

As a regular NYC visitor, I've enjoyed staying in many different hotels over the years, but I'm sure that I'll be back at the Iroquois in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miscrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on our trip advisor community. It is always a pleasure to hear great feedback from our guests. I'm happy to hear our staff were able to provide such wonderful customer service during stay. I would like to take this time and thank you for your compliments on our bar Lantern's Keep and our restaurant Triomphe, we look foward to welcoming you again!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathdrum
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Iroquois is very well located and quite charming. The room we stayed in was not large, but it was clean with all needed amenities. The bellman who took us to our room spent time with us giving restaurant recommendations and other tips to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny83858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
I'm delighted to hear that you found our location a convenience during your stay. And we would like to thank you for your compliments of our hotel and staff. It's always great to hear our bell staff going beyong their duty and providing exceptional service to our guest to make their stay that much more enjoyable.



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving last year. The hotel is very close to Times Square but at the same time it was very quiet. We had absolutely no problem with noise. The hotel itself is very nice and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are on the smaller side, but it's New York, so what do you expect? A nice touch was the hot cider in the lobby every evening. Would definitely stay here again and recommend very highly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I'm pleased to know that you found our hotel and staff warm and welcoming and that you had no issues with sleeping soundly. We are looking foward to keeping our cider hot and ready for your next visit!



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This lovely boutique hotel has old world charm but contemporary conveniences like free wi-fi. I love the Frette sheets, towels and robe. Everything is spotless and everyone was friendly and pleasant, including the doormen, housekeepers and front desk staff. A special thank you to Vanessa the concierge who helped us get theater tickets and gave us excellent advice each morning. The location is ideal for Times Square, Grand Central and Bryant Park.

Room Tip: Our deluxe king room had a view of the other lovely properties on the street but was up high enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
It's good to hear that our guests take adavantage of all the amenities we offer in the rooms, and as well the concierge service we offer. Vanessa is a great value to our team and we are glad to hear she was of great help. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you in the future!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,176 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,592 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 466 in New York City
6,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#77 of 466 in New York City
734 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 466 in New York City
2,924 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#74 of 466 in New York City
4,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,857 - ₹ 36,483
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing