We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful comfortable hotel near Times square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #39 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Pros: The location is extremely near the times square( 2 streets away ) and the 5th Avenue and Madison Ave. The hotel is infact just next to Sofitel Hotel .Lots of nearby area for food , supermarket and shopping.The room is quiet and the bed is comfortable.Free coffee in the lobby in the morning.Free wifi is a bonus.Staffs are friendly

Cons: NO electric kettle for boiling water.However, you can ask for free hot water supply from room service.The room is not too spacious for double queen sized room.NO specail view in room .Try not to use the hotel to call for taxi with quote charge of $90 to airport and my friend try to call he taxi company himself which is around $55 only.The other thing is that the lift is very slow indeed.

Restaurant : Red flame and many restaurants along the restaurants are good .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelchoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

I'm pleased that you chose to stay with us on your trip to New York. I apologize that you experienced any elevator delays; luckily our second elevator is now up and running which will greatly reduce any wait time. As our private car service is more expensive than a yellow taxi our bellman will always be more than happy to get a yellow taxi if you prefer, the yellow taxi's just cannot be booked in advance, only hailed at the time you are ready to depart. I hope we will see you again on a future trip, thank you once again!

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,771 - 2,775 of 3,895 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights from 28th - 1st July. The hotel is small but friendly, clean and well appointed. The rooms are nice but small., beds very comfortable The bathroom's are tiny, there is very little natural light and the back rooms we were in had no view. Only one small lift working for 12 floors. Having said that, it is ideally situated for all the main sights being on 44th and 6th. So just around the corner from Times Square and 5th Avenue, and a short walk to Grand Central Station and therefore easy to get to all the wonderful sights of NYC. Parking cost $35 a night in a car park opposite. Staff always helpful.

Room Tip: Go high up and ask for street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKBHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for your review, I'm glad to know you found your stay comfortable and our staff courteous and helpful. I am also happy to report that our second elevator is up and running!

Thank you once again for sharing.

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We just stood at the hotel and everything was great.

Thank you Lisa for making such a smooth check in.

The rooms were gorgeous. Up to date with all Hi-tech.

The entire hotel is spotless.

We will be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chayamushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

It's always very rewarding to hear such kind compliments, I'm pleased to hear that Lisa was able to provide you with outstanding service. Thank you and we hope to see you on a future stay.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at the Iroquois for a theater weekend in NYC and enjoyed it very much. It is the only hotel I know in NYC where every single member of the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is a small hotel -- and the rooms are small, too. But they are very well appointed, clean, and exceptionally comfortable. We stayed in a room with two queen beds (we were two friends traveling together), so that may have made the room appear smaller. The marble bathrooms are clean, bright and contain everything you need. There is a small reading room off the lobby which was a pleasant spot to read the newspaper and have coffee. The restaurant in the hotel is also quite good, but there are legions of good restaurants in the same area. I'd return to The Iroquois given its service, comfort, location in the theater district, and value.

Room Tip: As in most NYC hotels, as high up as possible to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaReston_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

I'm pleased to hear you chose to stay with us and enjoyed the experience. Thank you and thank you for sharing. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel is an excellent choice for service, comfort and location. The Iroquois is located within walking distance to all the local attractions. The service was excellent and the rooms were quiet and clean. No problems, no complaints. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you so much for your review, I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to get the most out of our prime location. We hope to see you again!

Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#73 of 471 in New York City
6,722 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 471 in New York City
3,225 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#83 of 471 in New York City
3,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,824 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#47 of 471 in New York City
3,520 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#41 of 471 in New York City
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 13,376 - ₹ 34,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing