We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, small, expensive bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #46 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My room was very comfortable. The room was clean. It was not large, but had everything I needed. Only one elevator was working so it was nice being on the 2nd floor - although there was no view. The fire alarm in the room kept going off. First in the AM - then again in the PM. Hotel mgt was nice and left chocolate covered strawberries in the room as an apology. One other downside - I charged drinks to the room - they were $20/each. They were basic martini's - fair warning. I had a lemon drop martini. I forget what the other person had. I believe this is overpriced - even for NYC. The location was terrific - close to Times Square, 6th Avenue and most of the mid town tourist sites. It was safe and comfortable - the people at the desk were very nice - so overall - nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gayenell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor I'm sorry you experienced a few downfalls while you were staying with us but I'm pleased that we were able to make up for them. I hope we can welcome you back on a future trip.

Thank You Again,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,645 - 2,649 of 3,742 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is a very nice smaller hotel and is within walking distance to Times Square, Rockefeller Center and theatres etc. Our room was small but adequate. We didn't have a view but we didn't care as we didn't spend that much time in our room. The bed was very comfortable with nice bedding and the bathroom walls, shower and fixtures were all new. The onsite restaurant was not open while we were there as it was being remodeled. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful especially Sergio, the consierge and Rocky, the Bellman. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

I'm pleased you chose to stay with us while you were in New York City and that you found our staff as well as accommodation pleasant. I apologize for the restaurant being closed during your stay; I hope it was not an inconvenience for you. Maybe on a future trip you will have an opportunity to dine in Triomphe, as they are once again open. Thank you for your contribution on Trip Advisor.

Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was a return trip to NYC. First trip two years ago was with the family and was well served by the staff at the Iroquois. This trip was a 'sans-kids' getaway and again the Iroquois did not disapoint. We were warmly greeted by the bell staff and registration desk. The room was well appointed. The highlight though was the staff. From the servers in the lounge, to the desk clerks, bell staff and concierge, all made us feel we were the most important thing they needed to take care of that day. The advice for restaurants, transport and entertainment was first rate. And as has been mentioned in numerous posts the location is perfect. We are definitely looking forward to returning to NYC and The Iroquois.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwertyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

I'm so happy to hear that we were able to give you a warm welcome back to New York and I'm pleased to know that you chose to stay with us on the return trip. Thank you for kind words and we hope to welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is a nice boutique hotel in Manhattan within easy walk of most Midtown destinations such as 42nd Street, Grand Central and Times Square.
The hotel room was surprisingly spacious, clean and confortable. Check in / check out was efficient and hastle free, plus they have free Wifi. Complimentary coffee served in the lobby during the mornings, and the neighbouring bar was smart and comfortable. Breakfast is pricey but a short walk out of the hotel to the right, there is a convenient diner offering an array of breakfast favourites at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Book in advance to get the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark60528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

I'm delighted your room suited your needs for your stay in New York and you found traveling around the city convenient from our location. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The location is good and central to various New York hot spots (Time Square, Central Park &Radio City). Ideal hotel for walking to all the mentioned locations with no need to a Taxi (burn those calories). We reserved a suite which was ideal for the four of us. The hotel has only one elevator in operation because the other is under refurbishment and during the morning you may have to take the stairs. we were located on the fifth floor and the A/C in the room is not best in class, That is to say, if you like sleeping in a cold room 70 degree or below after a hot not - do not count on it. The A/c in the room may not have the power to do so, Overall good location and the room was nice but nothing to write back home about,

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlitoways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay with the Trip Advisor community. I apologize for any inconvenience the elevator renovation caused you during your stay. We look forward to the completion of the project as it will be a great improvement. I appreciate you mentioning the A/C in the room as well, it is a great help to hear such feedback from our guest so we can better serve in the future and prevent any discomfort.

Thank you again,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,704 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,075 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 469 in New York City
6,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,251 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#96 of 469 in New York City
816 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 14,724 - ₹ 37,918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing