We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Back again to the same great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Ranked #281 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Back again to the same great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

6 Columbus is as you would expect right by Columbus Circle but not so close that you have to endure non stop traffic. I got in from a long flight and was given room keys at 3pm. As I wanted a bath and was given a room with a shower I talked to the bell hop and then reception. Within fifteen minutes I was in a room with a huge bath. The rest of my stay was a joy. Great, responsive and friendly service at a great location in midtown right by Central Park. The sushi bar in reception is very atmospheric (unusual in hotels these days) if a little pricey. Next time I'll be heading right back to Number 6. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear DaveHero

Thank you so much for taking the time and for giving us your feedback. We very much appreciate your patronage and i am delighted to hear that you had a great experience at 6 Columbus. I have upodated your guest profile and going forward we know your preferences. Please let me know if there is anything else you would like me to ad to your guest profile.
I will most certainly share your kind words with our staff.

We are very much looking forward to seeing you soon again

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
6 Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    335
    132
    88
    45
See reviews for
142
326
122
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Everything at this hotel just misses the mark.

Their website list square footage for each type of room, but they seem to very generous in their measurements. We checked into #39, which was supposed to be 200 sq ft, but I think 150 would have been closer to the mark (and I'd guess about 40 of that is bathroom). We ended up paying for an upgrade to #86 (even though it was on a smoking "optional" floor). #86 was listed at 300 sq. ft, but it felt like it was barely over 200.

Closet and drawer space very limited. Ended up with my suicase on the window sill.

Bathtub/shower was also really narrow. Nice toiletries, but no shower gel. Bathroom lighting too fluorescent/unnatural.

HVAC really noisy, so we turned it off most of the time (OK in spring, but wouldn't work in summer or winter).

Sound from the shower in the adjacent room also very loud.

Decor dark and gloomy.

On the plus side - service was pleasant, location it excellent.

But I wouldn't stay here again - there are lots of better options in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smbrannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear smbrannan

I am sorry to hear you did not have a good experience during your last visit.
i have addressed some of the issues with our department head to ensure no reoccurance and some of your comments that are decor & design related can unfortunately not be changed.
We do have larger rooms that would provide you with more closet space and i am more than happy to assist you the next time to find the right fit for you.

Please dont hesitate to contact me directly in case i can be of any assistance to you.

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
6 Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at 6 Columbus and enjoyed every minute. The room was spacious and the bathroom design was awesome. Breakfast was great and the drinks at the bar were wonderful too. The hotel staff was very accommodating when we needed early morning car service, a place to store our luggage, and even when we needed to print out some documents. Got a chance to meet the General Manager, Ralph. We hit it off chatting about triathlons and marathons- I was very impressed with his 2:58 PR in the NYC Marathon! A must stay place if you are visiting New York and definitely if you are looking to go for a run in Central Park!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear A S

Thank you so much for your feedback and your knd words.
I am happy that you had a great time here at 6 Columbus and NYC.
i'll see you at the next Marathon or Triathlon start line.

kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
6 Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This hotel is located in a very good location. Its in midtown.. next to central park... Many restaurants around the hotel... which is very common in Manhattan.

Rooms were tiny with no scope of any sunlight. we spend $200+ per night. i dont think its worth that money.

Later we stayed in other hotels in New york which were better than this one.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yashmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear yashmi

We appreciate your feedback and i am sorry to hear you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us.
We do have larger accomodations with more sunlight, please feel free to contact me directly the next time and i gladly assist you in finding the right room for you. This is Manhattan and most hotels do have rooms that can be facing another building or a couryard. I will make a note in your guest profile that you prefer rooms facing the front of the building.

Please feel free to contact me anytime in case i can be of any assistance to you

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
6 Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We booked this hotel as we had an additional night to spend in NY on our way back to Europe. The check in clerk was friendly and efficient
The overall deco is a bit bleak and dark
The Pod room we were allocated was very small and dingy
The bathroom was clean and ok stocked
The price we paid was ca. £170 for one night incl. tax
Location is good within easy reach to the Metro Station and Columbus Circle

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plane_cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear plane_cowboy

thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you have not completely enjoyed your stay with us. Please let me know the next time you need a room and i am more than happy to assist you in making reservations for a larger accomodation.

Should you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me anytime.

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
6 Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#371 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,267 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#56 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#104 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#181 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#235 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#324 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Property: 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Address: 308 W 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#179 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#249 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,243 - ₹ 40,285
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown chic comes to bustling Midtown Manhattan at 6 Columbus. Providing a sophisticated retro escape, the hotel's soothing color palette provides a feeling of tranquility. Teak and chrome furnishings compose a look inspired by the 1960's modernist decor with a 21st century sensibility, as imagined by designer Steven Scarloff. Steps from Columbus Circle and Central Park, the eighty eight room hotel includes sixteen stunning suites. Artwork by Guy Bourdin adorns the walls of all guestrooms. With uniforms designed by Theory, 6 Columbus drops downtown edge into the center of uptown Manhattan. Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar and Grill, located off the lobby, serves Japanese cuisine and classic grill favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests and members can enjoy access to Above 6, an exclusive indoor/outdoor rooftop lounge, overlooking Central Park. 6 Columbus is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Columbus Hotel
6 Columbus New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing