We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great boutique hotel in NYC's Columbus Circle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Ranked #305 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A great boutique hotel in NYC's Columbus Circle”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I've now stayed at 6 Columbus several times on business trips to NYC and its quickly become a favorite. The location is great, the hotel has everything you need and the staff are very focused on catering to your needs. If you like stylish boutique this is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbroumand_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Sbroumand_Nomad

Thank you very much for your kind words. We very much appreciate your loyalty.
We cant wait to welcome you back to 6 Columbus.

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
6 Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    363
    148
    102
    53
See reviews for
161
347
139
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

As a business and leisure traveler who spends 100-130 nights a year in hotels, I've come to really appreciate certain things---cleanliness, location, amenities, and warm service. This hotel delivers!

First, cleanliness--this is my BIGGEST concern when I travel. I cannot stand anything that feels like it might be unclean. At 6 Columbus, my room was absolutely spotless! It was also apparent, by design, that they avoided "dirt traps" like carpet, bedspreads, etc. that don't get cleaned regularly, by nature. My room was decorated and designed beautifully with hardwood floors--a REAL treat for cleanliness snobs and germophobes! I wish all hotels had hardwood floors like this one, rather than the dirt-masking darkly patterned carpets most hotels use. This floor gets an A+++ with me at 6 Columbus!

The bathroom was also spotless--and tiled floor to ceiling with a gorgeous contemporary feel. I love the black, gray and white contemporary feel of my room with touches of wood to add warmth.

The bed was quite comfortable and I loved the freshly washed duvets and nice sheets.

I was exceptionally surprised by windows on BOTH opposite sides of my room! Views on two opposite sides? That RARELY happens! What a treat! I could overlook Columbus Circle from my wall-to-wall, floor-to-ceiling window and peek at Central Park from my office chair... neat! I also had a nice little balcony, complete with chair and coffee table. I've NEVER been to a NY hotel with a balcony like that. Superb!

For ladies---you will LOVE the high-end brand, Kiehl's amino acid shampoo and conditioner at this hotel. FINALLY a hotel that gives you ample shampoo and a conditioner that ACTUALLY CONDITIONS your hair! (Instead of that goop that rinses out leaving your hair no less conditioned than before you started.) It was WONDERFUL...to the point I want to go online and see how to purchase more!

The service at this hotel was superb. Always friendly, helpful, and they memorized my name within minutes of checking in---and people greeted me by name throughout my 4-night stay. Brandon, one of the doormen, was especially courteous and helpful. They made me feel right at home.

A nice, large flat screen TV and a full snack and mini-bar that was stocked well-beyond-mini status was a nice treat when tired feet and long work days extinguished some of my energy for getting to the nearby drugstore for a beverage or snack. The prices at the mini-bar weren't bargains, but weren't total rip-offs, either, given the convenience.

For a business traveler, internet connectivity is always important---and I notice at a lot of hotels these days, the bandwidth is severely lacking given the multitude of devices and data-heavy use put upon them in the evening hours. At some points during recent stays, I've literally had to go without internet or tether from my phone as the hotel-provided internet (even for a fee), couldn't support the user demand. At 6 Columbus, the internet, though a bit pricey ($15/day), was rock-solid the entire time. Additionally, they offered ample outlets for charging my multiple devices.

I've been a loyal member of the Hilton chain of hotels for years (Diamond level), but I chose 6 Columbus hotel for it's location to business on this particular trip, and it's price (a little less than other nearby hotels), plus other reviews I read about its quality. For me, not staying at a Hilton chain is a deviation from loyalty that I rarely make. That said, whenever I shall return to NYC again, I'm definitely going to consider the 6 Columbus. It's been a true pleasure from start to end to stay here. Thank you, Thompson Hotels, for the excellent service and experience at 6 Columbus. I will definitely consider you again next time I am in NY or another city that has a Thompson hotel. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psycchic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear psycchic12

I very much appreciate you taking the time to write this detailed review of 6 Columbus.
I agree with you, having a clean room is of the utmost importance and we strive every day to provide our guests with everything they deserve: a clean and comfortable room, great customer service and high end amenities.
I have to say, i am very proud of our staff you provide a genuine service with a smile on a daily basis.

I am glad we were able to provide you with a memorable stay and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New York.

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
6 Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

we had the best time at this hotel from the moment we checked in, to moment we left! The front desk was very pleasant and very helpful, the doormen were great, the bar and restaurant were fantastic... the restaurant suggestions were spot on and the rooms were immaculate!. room service was prompt and reasonable... we would definately go back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear david g

Thank you for your kind review. It is extremely important to us to provide our guests with a memorable experience and i am glad we were able to meet all yor expectations.
Please feel free to contact me anytime in case i can be of any assistante to you in the future.

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
6 Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was my first stay at 6 Columbus and the price was incredibly fair considering it's a Thompson Hotel. I originally booked the Pod room (which I knew would be small, but I was traveling alone on business and not worried) and they were kind enough to upgrade me to a larger room at check-in.

The bed and bathroom were heavenly (they are always my primary concern), the staff was incredibly friendly, and the location was great (with Columbus Circle and Central Park just steps away).

Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Greg Y

Welcome to the 6 Columbus family!
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your first stay with us. Thank you for your knd words and we are very much looking forward to seeing you more often.

Please dont hesitate to contact me anytime in case i can be of any assistance to you

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
6 Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Very quiet, nice one night stay! Included a newspaper in the morning :-) but I don't think wifi. The staff was very nice. The room was clean, a little small and dark, not too luxurious feeling, but it was fine. We booked this according to a good price, also had a good location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Stella3000

Thank you for your review and for expressing your feedback.
Please let me know when your travels bring you to New York again and i am more than happy to provide you with a tour of all our different room categories. i am certain we will find a larger and brighter room for you.

we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager
6 Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 468 in New York City
6,088 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#78 of 468 in New York City
1,777 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#51 of 468 in New York City
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#297 of 468 in New York City
116 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#96 of 468 in New York City
1,531 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#273 of 468 in New York City
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Property: 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Address: 308 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#239 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#248 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,738 - ₹ 32,379
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown chic comes to bustling Midtown Manhattan at 6 Columbus. Providing a sophisticated retro escape, the hotel's soothing color palette provides a feeling of tranquility. Teak and chrome furnishings compose a look inspired by the 1960's modernist decor with a 21st century sensibility, as imagined by designer Steven Scarloff. Steps from Columbus Circle and Central Park, the eighty eight room hotel includes sixteen stunning suites. Artwork by Guy Bourdin adorns the walls of all guestrooms. With uniforms designed by Theory, 6 Columbus drops downtown edge into the center of uptown Manhattan. Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar and Grill, located off the lobby, serves Japanese cuisine and classic grill favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests and members can enjoy access to Above 6, an exclusive indoor/outdoor rooftop lounge, overlooking Central Park. 6 Columbus is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Columbus Hotel
6 Columbus New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing