We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean and friendly. Really great staff !”
Review of Hotel Deauville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Deauville
Ranked #342 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Three rooms booked. Two were quite good, but one, described as a standard double lacked an outside view due to the window being right against another building's wall.

A blip when booking in at reception was that the receptionist took money against my credit card for each room seperately instead of taking it in one transaction, tripping off a stop on my credit card after the second input which needed a phone call to to my bank in London to resolve the matter.

Unfortunately it seemed to trip off a stop on my debit card as well which could not be used for the rest of the holiday.

Hotel should consider only taking one payment to avoid this occurance in future.

All rooms were comfortable and adequate to our requirements. We always returned to well maintained rooms and we found the staff at reception very helpful and considerate.

The hotel is a brown stone building close to Lexington & Park Avenue. It does not provide any catering. Lift/elevator is rather antiquated but this lent to the atmosphere.

Adequate catering in close proximity to hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kersalcentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (664)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Deauville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 285 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed her for three nights and loved it. It is in a brilliant area , very close to fifth avenue and The Empire State Building. We felt very comfortable walking from here all around the sights. Staff are very helpful. It is a very good base to explore the city. It has no frills, but we did not want any. We chose to eat out in the numerous coffee shops and bars. I have been to New York three times, twice staying in Big well known hotels, this hotel is much better and will give you a proper insight into a real New York way of life on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolo12omarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I was looking for a deal in NYC and finally found it at Hotel Deauville. I was slightly nervous before checking in but my expectations were exceeded. My sister and I stayed in an interior room with a queen bed and it was perfect. The room was simple and small but everything was clean (no bed bugs!). The window faced the building next door since it was an interior room however that was great for us because we slept soundly not hearing any of the street noise (although the AC unit was a little loud but we got used to it). The bed was also comfortable and the AC worked well which was a relief because it was very hot the weekend we were there. There was even a new flatscreen TV on the wall. The staff was very pleasant although they tend to have smoke breaks on the steps at the front doors so you are acosted with a smoky smell as you exit and enter the building. The lobby area is nice with comfortable furniture for sitting around and planning your day. A small upright piano adds character and charm. The location of this hotel is fantastic, only one block from a subway stop that will get you anywhere. As others have mentioned there are few amenities as this is more of a basic accommodation but I would not hesitate staying here again. I felt that the price I paid perfectly matched the quality of the hotel and for New York is also a great bargain.

Room Tip: Try breakfast at 'Bagel & Schmear' one block up on 28th street. Delicious fresh food at...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matty1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Older hotel which is centrally located. Close to subway stop and walking distance to many sights. Bargain price for New York City. Friendly and helpful staff. Old-fashioned elevator added to ambiance of hotel. Would definitely stay here again. Best kept secret in NYC.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wahoowa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This is the first time I have been disappointed with a hotel that received good reviews on Trip Advisor. I am very puzzled that this hotel got overall positive feedback. I just stayed here for four nights while in New York. I paid $219 for a suite, which is a great deal for this city. They can keep the rates low because it doesn't have amenities such as a restaurant, fitness center or business center. The location on Park and 29th is a few blocks from the train; there are lots of restaurants in the area and a Starbucks across the street.

The place is very old and has not been renovated or updated in a long time. This in itself would not have bothered me. I inspected the living room first. I am not exaggerating at all when I say that the sofa was absolutely filthy. There was dirt and stains all over it, and I had to put a blanket on it in order to feel OK sitting on it. Then I checked out the bedroom. The bed had no headboard, which I thought was odd and very cheesy (plus that makes it almost impossible to read in bed), and there was no alarm clock. I pulled back the bedspread/quilt, and that too was filthy, with a huge stain on the underside. It was also very torn. I immediately removed it from the bed. If something that dirty is on the bed, you wonder what else is dirty and what is being ignored. The sheets looked clean, which was a relief. The mattress was firm. The lighting was on the dim side. The towels were small and thin, what you'd expect to find in a Motel 6. The suites have a kitchen area along one wall with a microwave, coffee maker, mini fridge and sink.

The bedroom had a window AC, which was very loud; I had to sleep with it off in order to get any sleep. Luckily I am not a big fan of air conditioning anyway. The living room didn't have an AC, but it did have a ceiling fan. Also, because of the building's age, it has the type of radiator where the management has to send up the heat, and there didn't seem to be any way for you to control it yourself. I imagine this would be a problem in the winter, because whenever I have stayed at a place with that type of heat, it is never enough and I am always cold.

The hotel doesn't have a public computer. I had to go to the library to check my e-mail. The front desk did print out my airline boarding passes though.

On the plus side, the staff is very nice and accommodating. The bathroom sink was leaking and they sent someone up to fix it. There was a bulb missing from the bathroom and they sent one up right away.

In spite of the low price, I don't think I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
Thank ChelseaGirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
#369 of 468 in New York City
441 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#219 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 468 in New York City
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 468 in New York City
685 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#253 of 468 in New York City
356 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#316 of 468 in New York City
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deauville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deauville

Address: 103 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 8,662 - ₹ 11,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Deauville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Midtown Manhattan steps to everything. #6 subway 1block, 3 min walk to Empire State building. 54 guest rooms, most with private bath (7 budget rooms bed share bath). Family owned and operated. We are the Best Value in the city and a real New Yorker hotel...not a cookie cutter! We love our guests and our city. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Hotel New York City
Deauville New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing