We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad...”
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #312 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed two nights at The Salisbury last week. First the good: I was there with my 15 year old daughter and her two friends. I got a great winter rate on their website - $99 per night, an amazing rate for this part of midtown. The hotel is in a super amazing location, on 57th between 6th and 7th Aves. Just a couple of blocks from Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, theaters. And there's a subway stop at the corner of 57th and 7th. Since it was a quiet time of year they gave us a suite which was massive. By far the biggest hotel room I've every stayed in in New York. There was a bedroom with two double beds, a bathroom, a sitting room with a couch and TV and a kitchen area with fridge, microwave and a small table. And there were FOUR huge walk in closets - one for each of us! The place is dated, especially the bathroom, but it's clean and it was lovely to have so much space to spread out. Also, 57th St. is fairly quiet at night and I slept very well.

The staff aren't very warm, but they were efficient and helpful if we had any questions. And they allowed us to leave our bags for the day after we checked out on Thursday.

But that's where the trouble began. Thursday was the day of record snowfall in New York and our bus home was cancelled (don't get me started on Megabus). So we were stranded at Penn Station at 11 p.m. So I called the Salisbury, told them our situation and that we had just stayed there and asked if they had room. They said they did and it would be $250. I told them we had just spent the night there for $99. He said that is their internet rate and I might be able to get that if I went on-line. He couldn't have been listening very well because I had already told him I was stuck at Penn Station with 3 kids. I had no access to the internet. I guess he was making assumptions in this Blackberry age, but I told him I couldn't get on the internet. He shrugged with his voice and said he couldn't do anything for us. This kind of bureaucratic nonsense in that sort of situation really upset me. I guess I could have spent $250, more than twice what we'd just paid for TWO nights. But I'm a single parent and the trip had already been a splurge. I was willing to pay something close to what I'd already paid and since they had empty rooms I can't believe they wouldn't help us out. We went so far as to call a friend who checked for $99 rooms on their website but it said they weren't available. Price gouging in a bad situation is a terrible thing to do and it didn't sit well with me.

So in fairness I would say that the main part of our stay at the Salisbury was fine, but their attempt to extort money from us when we were stuck was a rotten thing to do. We ended up getting a room for $120 at a Hilton near Penn Station on 28th St. and they were incredibly nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnnieMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,182 - 2,186 of 4,001 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2010

Saalibury hotel is quite old and the rooms dated, butlocation is great. Just a short walk to Times Square, but in the quieter end of town.Also 5 minutes walk to Central park.
Hotel charged a small fee for breakfast, which was only toast,bagels etc. Lots of small cafes etc close by, with better and cheaper options. Staff at front desk were quite helpful, but unfriendly.
Overall, a good hotel,in a good part of town, with large rooms

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Arrived at hotel with three friends for a womans week away, we were offered a suite instead of two rooms which we were delighted to accept it was the icing on the cake of a great stay The location was perfect for Central park,Times Square,theatres, subway and many of the main attractions.The only negatives were plastic cutlery and plates in breakfast room,and the foyer didnt give a good first impression.The rooms were spotless and although an old hotel it had character. I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gargunnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We recently stayed at the Salisbury and got a really good deal $99 per night, the Salisbury is in a really good location, the hotel staff were quite happy to help, particuarly the doormen. Some people have complained that they had to carry their bags themselves, this wasn't our experience and we were able to leave our luggage there on our final day as we had a late flight.
I have stayed in New York before and paid ALOT more for a hotel that was upper west side and more or less a glorified hostel.
The rooms in the hotel are spacious, in response to some comments however, I do have to mention that not all rooms come with fridge and coffee maker etc.. but, we wasn't expecting these so we were not concerned. There is a large closet, a huge bed and a plasma TV on the wall. The bathroom is a little dated but perfectly functional and clean (which is my priority).
I can't comment on the breakfast because I chose to eat out in the many deli's around that are just as good value. The hotel is close to many amenities; a Duane Reade, starbucks, pizzeria and many Delis (even a church!!).

There was wi-fi but at a charge, (I'm not sure how much) there was also computers in the lobby but they were quite expensive ($7 per 15 minutes). But we didn't need to use the service, also on my i-phone I was able to use the internet free in a local Irish bar, so I'm sure there are other places you could access the net for free.

My only gripe with the room was the heat, we stayed when it was -3 and I have to say that the room was really hot, even when we turned the heating right down and opened the windows all day. Due to the freezing temperture outside it become bearable, but I don't know what it would be like in summer? I stayed on the 11 floor facing 57th street and I can't say it was noisy to me (I think previously there were building works going on, but I never heard them on my stay).

Overall, I was really pleased with the hotel Salisbury, it was fantastic value for money and I would most definitely stay there again if I can convince my boyfriend to take me!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clademc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Rhis hotel is all about location. It was placed within easy walking distance to Central Park and most major attractions. Times Square easily walkable and a pleasant one. While the staff did n't fall over you they were pleasant and helpful. Rooms were a great size. The only fault I could find was that proper plates and cutlery in the breakfast room would have made it much nicer,

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twizzle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#321 of 473 in New York City
7,203 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,068 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#361 of 473 in New York City
4,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 473 in New York City
12,054 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#122 of 473 in New York City
5,649 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#177 of 473 in New York City
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Family Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 7,262 - ₹ 21,979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing