We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,126)
Filter reviews
4,126 results
Traveller rating
1,209
2,092
559
165
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,209
2,092
559
165
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarnegie hallcentral parkgreat locationnew yorktimes squarethe russian tea roomcontinental breakfasttwo double bedsbrooklyn dineran older hotelone bedroom suitelarge bedroomfridge and microwavetwo blockswalk in closetcoffee makerkitchen area
Filter
Updating list...
1,825 - 1,830 of 4,126 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The matresses are hard as the floor. Very uncomfortable to sleep. The pipes squeaked all night. The hotel hallways are very scary and looks like the Tower of Terror at Disneyland. I left after one night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location, close to 5th Avenue and Central Park. The service is excellent, the staff were all really friendly, helpful and accomodating.We recommend asking the concierge for sightseeing advice. Our room was a good size. We had a family room, with clean and comfortable beds, a walk in wardrobe, and even a "butler's pantry" with a sink, fridge and microwave.The bathroom was fine and not too small either. It is really perfect for a family stay, especially budget concious families! There are some good restarants very close by, including Angelo's ( Italian) and the Brooklyn Diner. There was building work going on opposite the hotel while we were there , with some noise, but it didn't stop us sleeping at all. (We didn't expect New York to be quiet anyway). The walls of the rooms were so thick that we couldn't hear any neighbouring guests. We had breakfast once, which was OK ( self service ) There are other places to eat nearby and also a supermarket almost next door.We left my daughter's coat behind, and the Salisbury were so good about sending it back!The decor may be a little tired in places, but they are working on it. This is not a five star hotel, but it is friendly, efficient, clean and well run and in a great location. We had a brilliant stay and I would recommend the Salisbury, especially for families.

Room Tip: Family rooms have lots of space.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Surreytravellor29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed here a few years ago, my first trip to new york! Hotel is lovely, very clean, homely the beds are huuuuge and we had 2 doubles in one room, hairdryer, fridge, tea coffee etc!. The staff are very friendly and helped us alot during our stay. You could also have breakfast for very little money at the hotel which was buffet style. Its probably the best location to stay in new york, its about a 10 min walk to times square, 5 mins to central park, and very quiet at night. i would definatley go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Salisbury for 2 weeks in late March & early April this year. We found the hotel to be in a brilliant location and the accommodation itself comfortable.

We booked a suite and so had a Iounge area as well as a bedroom. The rooms are apparently massive by New York standards. The rooms are basic and clean - yes a little worn out, but who cares! We had a microwave and fridge, which suited us well for two weeks.

We did not buy breakfast at the hotel as it is $9 a day. There are supermarkets close by as well as cafes etc so it is not hard to stock up on cheap food.

The real benefit of this hotel is the location. You can walk everywhere. It is around the corner from Central Park, across the road from Carnegie Hall, 5-10 minute walk to Times Square and Broadway. The subway is accessible from either end of the street. There are restaurants everywhere - Angelo's Pizza is right next door and has the best pizza! You do not have to spend a lot of money to get good food! Maoz - a vegetarian falafel place near Times Square is also brilliant!

A few things... if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs (or buy them from the pharmacy across the road). There are a lot of building sites by the hotel that start early. As well, the city never sleeps and there are noises that carry from the street at night.

The hotel staff are friendly enough - they don't go out of their way, but that didn't bother me. If you ask, they will help. Check your bill on checkout as we were charged for breakfast on the day we arrived even though we arrived at night and did not have breakfast once. This was easily sorted out though.

I would stay again without question.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the other side of the hotel it might help with the noise from the street.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here in February for 5 nights with my mum. Rooms are massive for New York (double bed each!) and very warm and comfortable. Location is brilliant - a few blocks away from Central Park and the main shops on 5th Avenue and a nice stroll into Times Square. Columbus Circle subway station is very close by and this made it very easy to travel to places that werent within walking distance. The area around the hotel is really nice and safe and lots of nice places to eat nearby. This is by far the best hotel I've ever stayed in in New York - cheap, cheerful, comfortable and spacious. Couldn't really ask for anything else for the amount of money we paid! Would definitely return and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gc_164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews