We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms in NYC!”
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #312 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here with our extended family over Thanksgiving 2011. Although the hotel is older, there is far more space in these rooms than any others I've experienced in NYC. This is not a plush 4-star hotel with all the amenities, but it is a great place to stay when seeing the sights. We had a one bedroom suite, which included a small refrigerator and a microwave. (There is a breakfast for an additional charge, but not a restaurant.) It's conveniently located, and the front desk staff was helpful. We will plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a room away from the street, but street noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladydoc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,724 - 1,728 of 4,001 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

The matresses are hard as the floor. Very uncomfortable to sleep. The pipes squeaked all night. The hotel hallways are very scary and looks like the Tower of Terror at Disneyland. I left after one night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location, close to 5th Avenue and Central Park. The service is excellent, the staff were all really friendly, helpful and accomodating.We recommend asking the concierge for sightseeing advice. Our room was a good size. We had a family room, with clean and comfortable beds, a walk in wardrobe, and even a "butler's pantry" with a sink, fridge and microwave.The bathroom was fine and not too small either. It is really perfect for a family stay, especially budget concious families! There are some good restarants very close by, including Angelo's ( Italian) and the Brooklyn Diner. There was building work going on opposite the hotel while we were there , with some noise, but it didn't stop us sleeping at all. (We didn't expect New York to be quiet anyway). The walls of the rooms were so thick that we couldn't hear any neighbouring guests. We had breakfast once, which was OK ( self service ) There are other places to eat nearby and also a supermarket almost next door.We left my daughter's coat behind, and the Salisbury were so good about sending it back!The decor may be a little tired in places, but they are working on it. This is not a five star hotel, but it is friendly, efficient, clean and well run and in a great location. We had a brilliant stay and I would recommend the Salisbury, especially for families.

Room Tip: Family rooms have lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Surreytravellor29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed here a few years ago, my first trip to new york! Hotel is lovely, very clean, homely the beds are huuuuge and we had 2 doubles in one room, hairdryer, fridge, tea coffee etc!. The staff are very friendly and helped us alot during our stay. You could also have breakfast for very little money at the hotel which was buffet style. Its probably the best location to stay in new york, its about a 10 min walk to times square, 5 mins to central park, and very quiet at night. i would definatley go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Salisbury for 2 weeks in late March & early April this year. We found the hotel to be in a brilliant location and the accommodation itself comfortable.

We booked a suite and so had a Iounge area as well as a bedroom. The rooms are apparently massive by New York standards. The rooms are basic and clean - yes a little worn out, but who cares! We had a microwave and fridge, which suited us well for two weeks.

We did not buy breakfast at the hotel as it is $9 a day. There are supermarkets close by as well as cafes etc so it is not hard to stock up on cheap food.

The real benefit of this hotel is the location. You can walk everywhere. It is around the corner from Central Park, across the road from Carnegie Hall, 5-10 minute walk to Times Square and Broadway. The subway is accessible from either end of the street. There are restaurants everywhere - Angelo's Pizza is right next door and has the best pizza! You do not have to spend a lot of money to get good food! Maoz - a vegetarian falafel place near Times Square is also brilliant!

A few things... if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs (or buy them from the pharmacy across the road). There are a lot of building sites by the hotel that start early. As well, the city never sleeps and there are noises that carry from the street at night.

The hotel staff are friendly enough - they don't go out of their way, but that didn't bother me. If you ask, they will help. Check your bill on checkout as we were charged for breakfast on the day we arrived even though we arrived at night and did not have breakfast once. This was easily sorted out though.

I would stay again without question.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the other side of the hotel it might help with the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#321 of 473 in New York City
7,198 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,064 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#361 of 473 in New York City
4,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 473 in New York City
12,040 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#122 of 473 in New York City
5,640 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#177 of 473 in New York City
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Family Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 7,372 - ₹ 21,859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing