We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,762)
Filter reviews
2,762 results
Traveller rating
622
1,320
564
167
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
1,320
564
167
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squarenew yorkhell's kitchenindoor poolintrepid museumminute walkcentral parklincoln tunnelthe penthousefew blocksgood sizetwo double bedsstayed here for nightsrestaurant rowper daysuperior roomroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 2,762 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We stayed here for a couple of days before a cruise. The hotel was in a great location. We were easily able to walk to Times Square, and from there on to Hop on Hop off buses that took us most places we wanted to go. Our rooms were ready early, which was a great bonus (we had travelled by train). The hotel was clean, the AC worked(which was great because it was hot!). There was lots to do and see from this location, and some of us even walked to the port. The only down side was the onsite restaurant is very expensive (Tex Mex), for rather mediocre food. We had 4 of us at breakfast and it cost $110! Next day we got breakfast sandwiches from the deli across the street - delicious! Also reasonably priced for NYC. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sdcruisingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights travelling with our two kids aged 7&10. Easy to find, older interiors but that doesn't bother us, pool was a happy distraction after being out all day. No restaurant but is connected to a Mexican restaurant which does a fine breakfast (also reasonably priced). For the money, this was a really good choice and I wouldn't have belived there was a NY hotel that had rooms that size. Top job Skyline!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

+ Good central Manhattan location, very near Times Square and Broadway. It was great to lie and bed and see views of the Empire State Building and other landmark buildings - spectacular at night. Rooms were clean and tidy and the small pool on the top floor was nice.

- There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room, or anywhere in the hotel for that matter. It was possible to buy coffee in the adjoining restaurant, but it was much cheaper to walk across the road and buy it from the lovely Skyline Deli, along with a fantastic range of pastries and usual deli goods. The breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was prohibitively expensive for families, so we also bought it from the deli opposite each day. Wifi was charged at $3 per day, which seems like penny-pinching when paying so much for the room. Wifi should be free in any modern hotel these days. The general decor was a little tired - the hotel would benefit from modernisation.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room had great city views including the Empire State Building.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Dave2usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Being our first trip to New York we were quite concerned finding a hotel that offered what we wanted and within our budget. It did not matter what hotel we explored, people shared many pros and cons - the Skyline Hotel is no different. We had read the reviews prior to booking and monitored them up until our stay. I would be lying if I said the negative reviews did not give us some concern, however when all was said and done we had an absolute perfect stay and have nothing but good things to stay.

We stayed at the Skyline Hotel for 10 days in July. Traveling with a family of six (three adults and three children) we booked two rooms.

The checkin process was quick and without issue. We met several of the front desk staff over our stay. We were always greeted with a “good morning” or a “good evening”. When we ask questions we were given the necessary time and attention expected.

The Bell staff were equally engaging and helpful. Whether offering assistance with luggage or hailing a cab, they were always willing to help.

Concierge staff are stationed at a desk in the main lobby. We spoke to a couple individuals. One time we were provided immediate information and the second time they offered to research and get back to us. The follow up call to our room was timely and provided the info we were looking for.

We stayed on the 7th floor. Both rooms were great - one had two queen beds and one a king and pull out couch. Both were clean and larger than expected. The bathrooms were equal in cleanliness and size expectations. The decoration is updated and similar to any franchise hotel we stayed at previously. If you looked close enough you could see evidence of previous repairs and upkeep.

The room had a safe which we used - in one room it had been locked by a previous guest, but this was quickly resolved with a call to guest services. Other room amenities included the iron and board which came in handy. The television was used sparingly with no issues. Like others have reported in their reviews there was no coffee/tea in the rooms, however for $2 the Skyline Deli across the road filled our coffee thermos every morning.

The pool was an added bonus. Warm and treated daily. The hours are posted in the elevator and on your television. The pool offered a great chance to relax after a long day beating the pavement. The lifeguards on duty were friendly. There is lots of seating for anyone not swimming or just taking a moment to look at the views.

I do want to mention one staff who stood out for us. Throughout our stay we interacted several times with one of the cleaning staff, Hyacinth. A remarkable lady who reported working at the hotel for 37 years. Her attention to our rooms and the brief morning conversations made our stay just that little bit extra.

We had such a positive experience I took time one morning to stop at the General Managers office, located in the hallway on the way to the elevators. I shared with Mark our initial concerns from reviews (e.g. noise, unfriendly service, smells, lack of amenities, etc.) but in contrast let him know we had no such feedback and that our stay was absolutely wonderful.

From service, quality, amenities, location and cost, we would absolutely recommend staying here!!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
9  Thank Landedinalberta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARK H, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

I really dont know where to start, as you so well articulated what a great stay you had and the wonderful employee, Hyacinth, you got to meet. I appreciated your visit to my office and the great conversaytion we had.

I hope you had a great trip home and look forward to your visit again.

Best regards,

Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here Apr 2018. The view we're incredible and it was a fabulous location which was close to the path and you could get straight into the world trade center. However inside the apartment was a dump..... Within a couple of days the microwave broke and was never fixed. There was only one sofa, not enough seating for 5 people and the table for dining had a wonky table leg making eating very wobbly. Hardly any glasses or utensils and plates etc. The carpets were filthy and cleaning standard was very poor. We reported all issues and none were acted upon. Very disappointed

3  Thank amumontheedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARK H, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

We dont have microwaves in the rooms , there are no dinng room tables in our rooms, we do not supply utensils and plates, as there are no kitchen in the rooms and we are not by the path train. Are you talking about the Skyline Hotel????????? By the way, we are not a dump!!!!!!

I would like to know who you are and what you are referring to about the dump you said you stayed at.in NYC. !!!!!!!!!

I suggest you get your hotels straight,


Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews