We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #350 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Great room on 12th floor overlooking the pool area. It is a very large impersonal hotel, but this is what you would expect. The pool area though is excellent and was so nice to go to in the late afternoon to relax by after a hard days walking and shopping! I would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selby-Family-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    1,844
    1,169
    365
    244
See reviews for
1,450
1,031
229
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Bar, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for three nights while in New York and, overall, it was okay. The hotel was at a very convenient location, allowing us to walk just a couple blocks to the nearest subway and bus which made travelling around New York a lot easier. It allowed easy access to Times Square without having to deal with all the bright lights and city noise. Because we were out of the room most of the time, all we can say about the room is that it was relatively clean. However, the rooftop pool closes at 6 which is way too early. We had three kids who love to swim and they couldn't because the pool opened way too late and closed way too early. In our opinion, there was no point in the pool at all because people would probably rather be out enjoying New York during the day. Our biggest complaint though was the "concierge." If you search up the word "concierge" on google, it defines it as: a person who makes accommodations, reservations, and recommendations for people in a hotel. However, the "concierge" at the hotel was more like an aggressive salesperson who, instead of giving us more information about the play we wanted to see, kept trying to sell us tickets to a totally different play. All in all, the hotel itself was okay but the concierge provided terrible service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Sabrina L,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. I'm delighted our location suited you well and I'm truly pleased you liked our rooms. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.I would like to apologize that you found the behavior of our concierge inappropriate. I understand the inconvenience this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again.

We truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already have. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed here for a Yankee game and it worked out super. Close to the subway, excellent location and the staff were wonderful. Rooms were large and clean although I agree that some updating is required. The rooftop pool looked inviting but there was absolutely no room. I know you can't prevent it, but many of the vacant lounge chairs were marked "reserved" and that was frustrating. Breakfast the next day was so-so - not a very remarkable experience and a bit overpriced. Overall, its a great value when visiting NYC and good customer service is always a plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Good location, but room and amenities are somewhat dated. In their defense they are remodeling through 2013. The staff was very nice. The location is within easy walking distance of Central Park, Times Square, or Rockerfeller plaza.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACoppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We couldn't check in early but we were able to store our luggage in the room behind the front desk for free while we walked around the city for a few hours before check in. The front desk workers were friendly and helpful as well were the bellmen. The room was clean and the beds looked nice. We had a room on the 4th floor with 2 double beds.The beds were decently comfortable but not the best. My major complaint would be the bathrooms. They are in desperate need of upgrading. The wallpaper is peeling off and just in general not appealing to be in. Also, the rooms are definitely not sound proof but luckly we are heavy sleepers so we weren't too bothered by the noise There is a new LCD tv in all rooms so that is a nice touch but I would definitely expect that from a 3 start hotel in NYC. Another complaint would be the size of the elevators. They are pretty tiny and can only fit about 4 people in them comfortably. Also, there are ice machines on every other floor depending on what tower you are in. But overall the hotel is a good value. We stayed from 7-20 to 7-23 (Friday to Monday) for $160/night through Hotwire. The locations is great. Defintely within walking distance to Central Park and Times Square and there is a subway station at Colubus Circle which is about 2 blocks away I believe. Also, it's about 2 blocks away from the Columbus Circle subway station. And about 5 or 6 blocks away is an amazing empanada restaurant called Empanada Mama-so delicious!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GueraBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#265 of 467 in New York City
2,491 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#277 of 467 in New York City
128 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#328 of 467 in New York City
5,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#391 of 467 in New York City
6,206 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,057 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
6,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,115 - ₹ 23,515
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing