We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #349 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This Holiday Inn is in a really fantastic location just at the bottom of Central Park and right next to a subway station, meaning it doesn't take very long to get anywhere. The room was clean and spacious enough for 2 (one who is very messy!) and the shower room was good also. The bed was comfortable. Looked at the pool but didn't use it - too much else to do! But it looked clean and a fairly decent size. Stayed here for 5 nights and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    1,847
    1,171
    365
    244
See reviews for
1,454
1,031
229
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I read previous reviews of this place and decided to stay here with my wife and our 2 college-age kids because of its convenient location. Just returned after spending a week in NYC and have to agree with the other reviewers. The location is a 5 minute walk from the Columbus Circle-59th Street subway station, and with an unlimited Metro card, everything in Manhattan is easily accessible!! The accomodations are OK; nothing fancy, but clean, comfortable, not too big, not too small, and no bedbugs! Good for families, and there were a lot of them.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear AmandaJ1997,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

I was not expecting a lot because of some of the reviews, but the room was great. Comfortable king bed, large room, nice pool. Excellent front desk staff. Walk to Lincoln Cemter. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights in mid-June 2012. The two main selling points of this hotel are 1.) Excellent location; close to Columbus Circle, Central Park, Lincoln Center, the Theater District, and the Subway (59th St./Columbus Cir.) And 2.) The rooftop pool in summer months. My kids loved the pool much that it was hard to get them away from it to go and do other things.

Parking is conveniently located on premises at reduced rate for guests. The front desk staff was polite, helpful and welcoming. Our room was clean and quite spacious by NYC standards. It faced the interior courtyard - not much of a view unless you like a wall of other windows. It was quiet, with room darkening shades. The hotel does have a well worn, dated look but they advertise renovations to start soon. There were a couple of spots in common areas that reeked of cigarette smoke.

Holiday Inn Midtown is not a posh, elegant hotel but it is a reasonably priced, convenient and serviceable one. All things considered, for a family visit with children, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter but don't have much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EastrnShoreGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Hard to get excited about this hotel experience. I stayed for 2 nights with my wife and another couple who were new to NYC. I think they were disappointed with the feel of the rooms and the overall hotel mojo. As the veteran traveler to NYC, my view was a bit more charitable. Rooms are sizable enough, for NYC. The place was overall decent enough, for NYC. The location was actually good, for NYC. Detect the pattern? The location is so far west that getting across town is a royal pain, so if you have business or need to get to the East Side much while you are here, this place is not for you.

Room Tip: just ask for it! we stayed in a room facing 57th street and were on 18th floor. No problem. But t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SebGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#266 of 466 in New York City
2,491 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#262 of 466 in New York City
130 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#329 of 466 in New York City
6,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 466 in New York City
6,222 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,069 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#324 of 466 in New York City
6,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,991 - ₹ 23,463
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing