We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel in convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #345 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel in convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for our first family trip to New York. It was very handy, being close to Central Park and to many shops, restaurants and attractions. It was clean and tidy and had controllable air conditioning. Not outstanding, but a great base to explore New York. There was also a swimming pool, which was a great bonus for a New York based hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janthepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    1,769
    1,119
    342
    234
See reviews for
1,376
978
214
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

A group of 25 of us stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and not one of us has a bad word to stay. Hotel clean - rooms are huge compared to other hotels I have stayed in in NYC. Manager always around - staff so helpful - rooms clean - beds comfortable and the pillows (they give you a choice!) 10 out of 10. It baffles me why there some negative comments on here re this hotel - its just fab.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed using my membership points so what can I say. I did not pay. But going by the rates of $250+ on their websites, I would not pay more than $90!

Rooms are tired and old. Large rooms, small beds. I don't get it. Holiday Inn's were known for large rooms and LARGE BEDS. I could barely fit on these with my wife next to me. Bathrooms old, showers not great. That flush, OMG, had to hold it for 5 minutes to flush. Ridiculous.
(We are so spoilt by the superior quality of hotels in Asia that we forget how bad and basic the same brands are in the USA)


No safes in room. OLD normal TV. No flat screens. Come on, I know they do a 100% occupancy but upgrade please (saw some signs that they are changing so there is hope!!)
(We are so spoilt by the superior quality of hotels in Asia that we forget how bad and basic the same brands are in the USA)


The bell desk charges you to keep bags (??!??) so we kept all in the room!
(We are so spoilt by the superior quality of hotels in Asia that we forget how bad and basic the same brands are in the USA) AM I REPEATING MYSELF??!!!!

(WIthout any bias, but I think the bell desk is run by the russian mob! They barely spoke English!)

Head Concierge was VERY HELPFUL and cheerful. Gave great tips.

Overall, its location is good as we walked to TImes Square often. Close to Central Park and the Mecca (Apple Store!!!)

So as the title says, stay for location only, don't expect anything else.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hipposcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear hipposcuba,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our concierge being helpful and cheerful.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the bed sizes, bathroom and other room amenities. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights before going to Bahamas. It's ideal as using just as somewhere to crash but that's about it. Room very basic and old. Cleaner was good always remember to leave a couple of dollars on the bed it made all the difference! Concierge and our view had alot to be desired. They provided a free safe which was good and free wifi! :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed for 4 nights with my teenage son for our first trip to New York. Hotel was perfect for our purposes with large clean room, comfortable double beds, controllable air-conditioning, windows that open, TV and wonderful shower. Location was perfect with very easy walking access to Time Square area and Central Park with its nearby incredible galleries and museums. No need to eat in hotel as there are great places for cheap eats and breakfast just around the corner. Hotel rooftop pool was also fantastic after long days of sightseeing. Metro station only 5 min walk away for visiting downtown sights or to catch a game at Yankee Stadium in Bronx (tip: if you want a beer at the stadium take some i.d. or they won't serve you however old you are!).
Only minor neg. point was that lobby needs a makeover as it is very 1970's.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#263 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#327 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,532 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#270 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#213 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,610 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#319 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,463 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#160 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,631 - ₹ 25,875
Hotel Class:4 star — The Watson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing