We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“return visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I came across this hotel par accident in 2010 and was very impressed. When I booked again I hoped it would be as good the second time and it was. The staff are friendly and helpful but without being fussy

Room Tip: check if patio room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micra03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,843
    650
    97
    32
    10
See reviews for
780
1,768
162
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Nearly everything about the Hotel Elysée surpassed even the high expectations we had from reading past reviews.

The room was large; the bed, super-comfortable and the staff was genuinely available, helpful and pleasant. The breakfast included fresh high-quality choices, and the happy hour left us feeling that we'd joined a lively club with members we enjoyed meeting.

What makes the Elysee even more appealing is that the restoration has been done in a way that presents the hotel and its rooms and spaces as 100% up-to-date, but nevertheless mimicking what a luxury hotel in New York (or actually, Paris), must have been like in the '20s or '30s. The furnishings, bathroom fixtures and decoration all evoke the de luxe place we might have imagined staying if we ever had enough money or leisure to have taken The Grand Tour 80 years ago.

The prices vary dramatically based on demand, but the hotel's own website is transparent and easy to navigate and compare. We got a summer bargain, which made the weekend in New York all the more fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Great location, excellent room and friendly, helpful staff. This was our second stay there and it will be a primary choice for future trips. If you are looking for a great, small hotel in the mid town area, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was our second time staying at the Elysee and I think we might not stay anywhere else when we are in NYC from now on. The staff bends over backwards to make you feel at home, and the amenities can't be beat. The rates are no more expensive than any other midtown hotel, but when you add in the complimentary breakfast every morning and wine and cheese every evening I think the value is evident. We stayed one night, midweek and the hotel was not very full so they updated us to a suite when we checked in. As another reviewer mentioned it was the size of a small apartment. We never wanted to leave! The last time we stayed we did have the standard double room however, and it was certainly spacious enough for the two of us. The size of a typical Manhattan hotel room. Overall, I count this hotel as one of the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFL703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

The location of the hotel is just perfect. You can walk to the major attractions, including the central park. My husband and my kids (10 and 7) loved the room. BTW when we arrived they just update us to a suite, size of a small apartment with a little kitchen ( stove, microwave and small fridge). We did not use it because we were ON VACATION and the last thing I wanted to do is cooking.
For shoppers the local can not be more perfect.
Price was great with a complimentary breakfast and wine , chesse etc in afternoon.
Staff was great, rooms super clean and I am very pick abour it. The doorman was very friendly, all the time. We stayed there 4 nights.
Yes it has an old sort of feeling but very charming.
The italian restaurant in front of the hotel was very good and the deli was nice too.
We walked most of the time but the cab is very cheap.
Anyways... you will not be disappointed. I wish I could go back...

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor and still could hear some street noise. There was some construction on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rkapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,362 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,445 - ₹ 35,427
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing