We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for location and public transport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton New York Grand Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton New York Grand Central
Ranked #306 of 467 Hotels in New York City
notts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for location and public transport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights. the location of the hotel was really good, only about 5 to 10 minutes walk east of the Grand Central Terminal, and another 10 minutes or so walk to Times Square. The staff were helpful and the Concierge really knowledgeable. We didn't eat at the hotel, as we like to experience local life, so we went to a deli one block away, on 41st Street, which was really good. The subway from Grand Central took us to downtown Manhattan quickly and cheaply. The room was good, being clean and comfortable. I only rate the value as average as it was expensive by UK standards, but was probably very good value for New York.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjwNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our location and service while staying in NYC and at the Hilton Manhattan East. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    858
    434
    177
    101
See reviews for
395
680
168
730
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Used to stay here frequently before the hotel switched to Hilton, then changed to Marriotts in the neighborhood. After a five night stay last week, I wil switch back to Marriott again. The rooms are ok; but small and can be noisy. Housekeeping was chaotic: no shampoo or bath towels provided first night. Second night I ran into a housekeeper in the elevator and finally got bath towels. There was some mold in my shower/tub. Restaurant is uninspired; front desk clerks don't seem to enjoy interacting with guests-they are brusque at best, don't answer phones frequently. Cheerful concierge was only strong positive. I have low expectations for service in Marriotts and Hiltons in NYC, but this hotel was notably mediocre.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing 42nd street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Pundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to read of these issues that you experienced. We are reviewing all comments with the entire team. We will recognize the Concierge based on your comments. We hope you will give the Hilton Manhattan East another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

It was my first visit back to NYC since moving to Singapore a year ago, and I wanted to stay somewhere near where I used to live. The Hilton Manhattan East fit that bill, and I'm pleased to say that it was a great choice.

The rooms are a bit small, but clean and comfortable (although it could have used a desk!). The staff was friendly.

The rate I received on Expedia.sg was excellent, which made this a very good value.

Room Tip: There are only 3 smoking rooms in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased to read that your chioce to stay at the Hilton Manhattan East hotel was a GOOD one. We are looking forward to many future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We requested a room with a balcony and had a lovely big room with a balcony for our 5 nights. The location is excellent, very safe and easy walking distance to Grand Central station and Times Square. The staff were friendly and the room was cleaned to a very high standard. There was a little pizza place right around the corner that had great slices of pizza for $3. The only downside was that wifi was $15 a day. We paid it but thought it was overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarlover14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are very happy to read that you liked our rooms and location. We look forward to your next vist to the Hilton Manhattan East hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I cannot fault this hotel. It may not be the most attractive from the outside, but inside was great. Very clean and the staff were very helpful and polite whenever we needed their help. Its only a few minutes to grand central station and about a 10-15 minute walk to time square.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DICohen, General Manager at Hilton New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are very happy to read that you liked our hotel and will recommend it to others traveling to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#321 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York Grand Central
The Westin New York Grand Centra...
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York Grand Central

Property: Hilton New York Grand Central
Address: 304 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,767 - ₹ 26,446
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton New York Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Tudor Hotel, this Midtown historic boutique hotel was transformed and reopened in 2010 as the Hilton Midtown East. 300 Guest Rooms and Suites located on East 42nd St. Walking distance to Grand Central, Midtown and the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Hilton New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manhattan East Hotel New York City
Tudor Hotel United Nations
Crowne Plaza United Nations
Tudor Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing