We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a group with Graet Rail Journeys for 3 nights in mid May. It more than lived up to expectations. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, the kitchenette was a useful bonus. However the location was the best part. Within half an hour of checking in we were walking around Central Park enjoying the evening sunshine. Fairway Market is just opposite. The subway was an easy walk and the neighbourhood is a safe, relaxing area in which to stroll around - Levain Bakery is just around the corner and Viand, next door was fine for breakfast or a burger for dinner. I hope I will be back!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolPamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,135
    1,162
    145
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,387
996
120
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abita Springs,LA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This place was wonderful. We were so close to the subway, and yet in a quiet neighborhood of friendly people. So close to the Natural History museum, Central Park & Riverside Park. Great restaurants & markets. The staff was friendly, especially bellman & doormen. The room was so clean. Very spacious for NYC. The kitchenette came in handy. The bed was almost as comfortable as mine! We will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guitarmakerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

While the hotel had nothing to do with the spectacular May weather, it was part of the quilt of perfection the weekend provided. We were upgraded to a two-room suite with a full kitchen and it was a very good size by New York and European standards. The kitchen was more than we needed but anyone planning on cooking during their stay would likely be pleased. The views from the oversized windows in our corner room were extended cityscapes. The rooms were clean, bathroom a little small but sparkling with a nice assortment of toiletries. The beds were comfortable and the pull-out sofa was perfectly ok. The front desk staff was professional and courteous, and a late-checkout was easily managed. We plan to return next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room on the northwest side of the hotel, on a higher floor and the views were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in the city and was 100% satisfied. The rooms bright and clean and nicely designed, small bathroom but was happy for the kitchenette feature with coffee maker and fridge, small sink etc.. Loved the view from our room on the 16th floor. Loved that it was a small hotel, not much service, but we didn't need any. Loved the location and loved the price. Would I come here again? In a new york minute.

Room Tip: request higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We picked this hotel based on other Tripadvisors' reviews, and stayed here in May 2011. We were not disappointed.

All the positives the other reviewers have said were spot on. We were in a one bedroom suite, which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the aircon worked just fine.

Location was excellent for us, the subway on72nd street was just several minutes walk and we were able to get around to all the places we wanted to go - Macy's, Bloomingdales, Times Square, Ellis Island, Greenwich Village, Century 21, Tiffany's, Top of the Rock, Empire State Building, etc. However, just a tip - if you have not been to New York before, I recommend familiarising yourself with the subway network on the internet before you go as we found there were no maps available at the stations like there are in the UK. I printed off some maps before our trip and found them very helpful while we were there!

We ate at the Cafe Viand next door a few times - we had breakfast and dinner there. Everything we ate was lovely. There were 6 of us in our group and no one had a bad experience with food. The portions were quite large too so good value for money. Fairway supermarket across the road was fantastic. Everything you need could be found in there. We especially loved the hot meals you could buy in take away boxes. They charged per pound (I think it was $6.99 per pound) and that was enough for a meal or two! They had good selection of meat, fish, vegetables, rice and potatoes with different varieties presented each day. All of good quality, very tasty and saved us quite a bit of money. It was also very convenient, especially as we had a small kitchenette and dining area where we could eat our take away back at the hotel. They also catered for those with food allergies, stocking many wheat, gluten and dairy free items.

Central park was within walking distance and we decided to take a short ride in a horse and carriage on our last day. Central park is huge though so if you want to explore it properly you will need a few hours. We visited the American Museum of Natural History, which also was within walking distance of the hotel. We spent a couple of hours here but it wasn't really enough to get to see everything - it's massive!

All in all our first trip to New York was brilliant. Thanks to all the other Tripadvisors who left reviews about this hotel and helped us choose a good hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YJ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
2,361 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 467 in New York City
4,969 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
3,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,585 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,401 - ₹ 36,209
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing