We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upper West Side At Its Best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #58 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Upper West Side At Its Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here as part of a birthday weekend. Whenever I visit NYC with the family, our favourite area is the upper west side and our favorite is the Beacon.
Nothing bad to say other than our hallway smelled a bit smoky. Thankfully that smell did not carry into our 1 bedroom suite. The room was perfect for 4 of us and the kitchenette came in handy for pre-dinner drinks with our other friends who were staying at the Beacon (12 in all). I recommend the liqour store beside the hotel for champagne and the Fairway market across the street for fresh OJ!!

When staying here, we truly felt like at home. The room was clean and quiet and very comfortable and well maintained. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would love to be one of the permanent residents of this lovely place.

Great shopping nearby, Cafe Viand next door for breakfast, or if you wanted to get really creative Citarella gourmet food shop across the street. Of course, we also ate at Grays Papaya which is a stone's throw to the south.

Highly, highly, highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Splurge on a 1 bedroom suite - great value and space for NYC!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YYZpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,059
    1,127
    136
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,328
965
116
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you've ever dreamt about having your own Manhattan apartment but reality dicates a short stay in a hotel is more feasable, I recommend a stay at the Hotel Beacon on the Upper West Side. My husband & I stayed at this hotel about 7 years ago, and the hotel has been significantly upgraded during this time. We were assigned a room on the 9th floor, located next to the elevators. The room was spacious for 2 adults - two closets (one with a safe), a living area with a 3-seater sofa which may have had a pullout bed (I didn't check); 2 flat screen TV's - one on the bedroom, one in the living area; a cozy kitchenette with fridge, stove, oven, etc; a queen-sized bed; some drawer space; and a small but usable bathroom - the water pressure was average but heated up quickly and stayed warm throughout the shower. A door seperated the living area from the bedroom for added privacy. There is a significant number of channels available on the TV so finding something to watch shouldn't be difficult. The room had 2 large windows overlooking the NYC cityscape. Adorable artwork lining the walls provided a more comfortable "home" feel rather than just a hotel room. Wi-Fi was provided for a "nominal fee" and you had to get a code from the reception desk - we never used this service so I'm unable to comment. The only downsides were since our room was so close to the elevator, we heard the pullies and the opening/closing of the doors all night; the carpet was a bit frayed in corners. Also, the heater in our room was noisy and turned on and off all night, which could possibly disturb someone who is a light sleeper. The deskman provided a good recommendation for a nearby restaurant, and the meal was delicious. Across the street is a market and the subway is about a block or two away. Overall, this hotel helped us to feel more like New Yorkers and less like the tourists that we are - and isn't vacation all about escape??

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevators, and if possible, a room as close to the top of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelOC2NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This gem is a rather small, perfect, recently tastefully redecorated hotel with a "real New York" location. What really separates this from other New York hotels are the rooms with kitchenettes, including cutlery and china, a nice big guest laundry room with no waiting (six machines), a friendly book exchange (in the laundry room), and the Fairway Market just across the street. Rooms are so comfortable and well appointed. Many of the upper floor rooms have Central Park views.

I should also mention that right next to the Fairway is a little more upscale, equally famous food emporium without the elbows and traffic jams inside of the Fairway. (and a Trader Joe's beside!) There's a post office and both Fed Ex, and UPS within a block or two. The 1-2-3 subway trains (including the express) stops right at 72nd street which is only a 1/2 block away. Charming restaurants galore, one of my Manhattan favorites, the Luxembourg Cafe, is just a couple blocks away. Banks abound, and boutiques are everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd2PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I contacted hotels in San Francisco, Boston, Washington and New York for confirmation of my bookings and the only hotel so far to reply is Hotel Beacon with a friendly message confirming my booking. Very impresed by their prompt response.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tessie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My friend and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Beacon and couldn't have been happier with our visit. The Hotel Beacon is immaculately clean, friendly, comfortable and spacious. The location was absolutely perfect - so close to trains, yet within walking distance of many things. Our view on the 20th floor was gorgeous and the kitchenette was especially convenient and appreciated in the morning and evenings. I would highly recommend the Beacon and on my future visits, will surely return. Hint - if you are going at a busy time of the year and want a double/double room, I would recommend booking early. Prices were consistent and very fair.

Room Tip: Higher floor and ask for a room with a view. I booked very early as I had exact dates in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherylspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,368 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,709 - ₹ 37,243
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing