We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location, No Complaints”
Review of Kitano New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kitano New York
Ranked #104 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked through Hotwire, so we didn't know where we were staying until after we paid, but honestly have no complaints.
The hotel is near enough to Times Square that we could walk to and from the theatre (Newsies was AWESOME), but far enough that it's quiet and safe. We walked to the High Line, too, but ended up cabbing back from SoHo.
The hotel is clean, comfortable and basically everything one would expect from a hotel. We actually wanted to spend more time in the room, as the bed was so soft, but had to get up early to catch our bus.
No complaints!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,162)
There are newer reviews for Kitano New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 580 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I spent two nights at this Japanese boutique hotel with my nine year old daughter and we had a lovely stay. The room was on the small side, but in true Japanese style, was very efficient and immaculate. Plus, we had a lovely view of Park Avenue. The hotel charges a fee to use the business office, and the printer wouldn't work (I wanted to print our boarding passes). They only charged me the "base rate of $8, which was de minimus in relation to the cost the weekend, but and I felt nickel-and-dimed. Overall, the staff was excellent, but the front dest clerks on Sunday morning were unfriendly and rather grumpy, which was unfortunate after such an excellent weekend and it's always nice to leave on a happy note. Despite the grumpy desk clerks, I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Park Avenue.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgkorwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Kitano is a very professionally run, clean, well maintained, spacious hotel. The staff are helpful, the location is great, within easy walking distance of everwhere in midtown. As such there is nothing really bad to say about the hotel. I guess, just on a personal level it didnt leave me with the kind of energy that NYC itself does, a difficult thing for a hotel you might think but it can be done. However if youre looking for a well priced well located hotel you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishcouple2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

On 38th and Park Ave. Very clean classy hotel in good area. Very good service from staff. Price, not too bad for NYC.

Room Tip: Get a view of Park avenue only.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We Pricelined this hotel and got a great rate ($159 in April). Room was typically small - maybe 400 square feet or so, but comfortable, with a great view of Park Avenue. The windows (which open, unusual for hotels nowadays) really are soundproof so we heard no street noise when they were closed (we were on the 10th floor). The Kitano does not have coffee in the room, instead there's a tea maker and green tea. The bed was nice and soft, closet was large enough, and the bathroom was nicely appointed with Gilcrhest and Soames products. The only thing I didn't like - they had the weakest hair dryer I have ever used!

The Kitano is located 4 blocks south of Grand Central, just a quick walk to Times Square (or you can take the S Shuttle to the Square from Grand Central). We didn't try the restaurant or the room service so I cannot recommend them, but there's a decent little diner 1 block away on Madison. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#105 of 468 in New York City
1,099 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,664 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#84 of 468 in New York City
2,502 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 468 in New York City
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitano New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitano New York

Address: 66 Park Ave, At 38th Street, New York City, NY 10016-3007
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 14,938 - ₹ 41,337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kitano New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kitano New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitano New York Hotel New York City
Kitano New York City
Kitano Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing