We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel, wonderful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitano New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kitano New York
Ranked #126 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
charleston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I spent two nights at this Japanese boutique hotel with my nine year old daughter and we had a lovely stay. The room was on the small side, but in true Japanese style, was very efficient and immaculate. Plus, we had a lovely view of Park Avenue. The hotel charges a fee to use the business office, and the printer wouldn't work (I wanted to print our boarding passes). They only charged me the "base rate of $8, which was de minimus in relation to the cost the weekend, but and I felt nickel-and-dimed. Overall, the staff was excellent, but the front dest clerks on Sunday morning were unfriendly and rather grumpy, which was unfortunate after such an excellent weekend and it's always nice to leave on a happy note. Despite the grumpy desk clerks, I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Park Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgkorwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    397
    102
    32
    16
See reviews for
224
402
75
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South America
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Kitano is a very professionally run, clean, well maintained, spacious hotel. The staff are helpful, the location is great, within easy walking distance of everwhere in midtown. As such there is nothing really bad to say about the hotel. I guess, just on a personal level it didnt leave me with the kind of energy that NYC itself does, a difficult thing for a hotel you might think but it can be done. However if youre looking for a well priced well located hotel you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishcouple2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

On 38th and Park Ave. Very clean classy hotel in good area. Very good service from staff. Price, not too bad for NYC.

Room Tip: Get a view of Park avenue only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We Pricelined this hotel and got a great rate ($159 in April). Room was typically small - maybe 400 square feet or so, but comfortable, with a great view of Park Avenue. The windows (which open, unusual for hotels nowadays) really are soundproof so we heard no street noise when they were closed (we were on the 10th floor). The Kitano does not have coffee in the room, instead there's a tea maker and green tea. The bed was nice and soft, closet was large enough, and the bathroom was nicely appointed with Gilcrhest and Soames products. The only thing I didn't like - they had the weakest hair dryer I have ever used!

The Kitano is located 4 blocks south of Grand Central, just a quick walk to Times Square (or you can take the S Shuttle to the Square from Grand Central). We didn't try the restaurant or the room service so I cannot recommend them, but there's a decent little diner 1 block away on Madison. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I booked using Priceline and really wasn't sure what to expect. It was a beautiful hotel and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We even received a free upgrade :) I would definately stay here again. Room was quiet and right on Park Avenue so the neighborhood was very nice as well. Lots of shops and places to grab food and coffee close by. The Jazz Club was little rich for our wallets though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn68PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#154 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel
The Renwick Hotel
#83 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#211 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#124 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,414 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#68 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitano New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitano New York

Property: Kitano New York
Address: 66 Park Ave, At 38th Street, New York City, NY 10016-3007
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,077 - ₹ 41,956
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kitano New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kitano New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitano New York Hotel New York City
Kitano New York City
Kitano Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing