We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Japanese hotel in nyc”
Review of Kitano New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kitano New York
Ranked #117 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good Japanese hotel in nyc”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

On 38th and Park Ave. Very clean classy hotel in good area. Very good service from staff. Price, not too bad for NYC.

Room Tip: Get a view of Park avenue only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    423
    106
    33
    17
See reviews for
243
430
80
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We Pricelined this hotel and got a great rate ($159 in April). Room was typically small - maybe 400 square feet or so, but comfortable, with a great view of Park Avenue. The windows (which open, unusual for hotels nowadays) really are soundproof so we heard no street noise when they were closed (we were on the 10th floor). The Kitano does not have coffee in the room, instead there's a tea maker and green tea. The bed was nice and soft, closet was large enough, and the bathroom was nicely appointed with Gilcrhest and Soames products. The only thing I didn't like - they had the weakest hair dryer I have ever used!

The Kitano is located 4 blocks south of Grand Central, just a quick walk to Times Square (or you can take the S Shuttle to the Square from Grand Central). We didn't try the restaurant or the room service so I cannot recommend them, but there's a decent little diner 1 block away on Madison. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I booked using Priceline and really wasn't sure what to expect. It was a beautiful hotel and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We even received a free upgrade :) I would definately stay here again. Room was quiet and right on Park Avenue so the neighborhood was very nice as well. Lots of shops and places to grab food and coffee close by. The Jazz Club was little rich for our wallets though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn68PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Nothing amazing about the Kitano, I stayed a couple of weeks back after two nights at the Shoreham which was much nicer. I think the Kitano could just use a facelift... It seemed clean, and was fine, I just didn't love it.
I did order room service and the food was really good.
The rooms are a good size for NYC, it's a short walk to Grand Central Station, which I did love as my favorite coffee shop is there - Joe, the Art of Coffee.... If you are a coffee fan, it's worth the trip.
The weather was fantastic for mid March, we walked to Dos Caminos down the road and had a very good dinner - Mexican.
One thing I did not like, on arrival my bed was short sheeted with the bottom sheet not covering the last foot of the bed, I ended up having to strip the whole bed and make it over, then the next day after the room had been serviced I noticed (cos I checked) again, the sheet did not reach the bottom of the bed.... It was only by an inch or two this time, but when you climb in bed the last thing you want to feel is the scratchy mattress protector on your feet.... Annoying.
Anyway, overall I'd have to just say average...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Park Avenue is gorgeous in the Spring with the tulips and magnolia in bloom along the median, and we had the perfect view from our bright and relatively spacious room at the Kitano Hotel. Mirrors, gold and glass along with a sweeping staircase in the foyer created an opulent and spacious first impression. Efficient and accommodating staff streamlined service and anticipated our every need. Within walking distance of all our destinations, the Kitano will certainly be our first choice of hotels the next time we're in NYC.

Room Tip: Park Avenue people-watching was perfect from the 4th floor on the East side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#77 of 468 in New York City
983 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#201 of 468 in New York City
2,043 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitano New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitano New York

Property: Kitano New York
Address: 66 Park Ave, At 38th Street, New York City, NY 10016-3007
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Family Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,468 - ₹ 33,846
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kitano New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kitano New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitano New York Hotel New York City
Kitano New York City
Kitano Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing