We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Where we will ALWAYS Stay”
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Carlos Hotel
Ranked #54 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Over the last 6 years we have stayed at the San Carlos Hotel at least 4 times. In between we tried a few different hotels which were good but ended up returning to the San Carlos because, as a whole, nothing can beat it. All personnel treat you like royalty and the rooms are beyond clean (I am a germaphobe) and updated. The continental breakfast suffices if you're not a big hot breakfast person (they have yogurts, danishes, cold cereals, apples, cottage cheese and hot drinks as well as juice).

The rooms are quite large and well laid out and you can't beat the location with an easy walk to TImes Square and Central Park.

We decided to stop trying out other hotels - this will be our destination for our yearly trip to NYC.

I accidently rated the spa and pool, both of which I don't know if they have.

Room Tip: Choose high and in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mnrbeau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 717 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed two nights in a very spacious well equipped room in this small hotel right around the corner from the Waldorf Astoria. My room had a kitchen, couch, and comfortable bed. Bathroom was small but functional. Breakfast was included but I didn't try it - looked like the usual continental buffet. My only hesitation in recommending this hotel is a very limited room service menu that comes from the Indian restaurant next door. The food was pedestrian and the delivery person hit me up for a tip in cash- a rather odd exchange. No silverware came with the meal - the idea was to use the silver from the kitchen but then plates and silver stayed until the next morning. Otherwise, my stay was good and I would go back. It is away from the hustle and bustle but very well located.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stampwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We just returned from our 5th or 6th stay at the San Carlos Hotel and it was wonderful again. Rooms are spacious and clean and the location is great. The staff are very attentive and you see the same smiling faces as the last visit who seem genuinely happy to see their guests return. You always feel safe and well cared for at this hotel. Don't understand the other Trip Advisor reviews which say the complimentary breakfast leaves anything to be desired-the selection is vast, fresh and presented beautifully. There are plenty of great options and this benefit allows you to start your day early and not have to spend any money. We will be back here again and again and again...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LMT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was an adequate stay for a reasonable price.

The hotel is well situated on E 50th; across the street are both the Benjamin and Affinia 50, so others might want to try them for comparison.

There's nothing special about the property. The reception lounge is relatively small yet efficient. The executive room I took was ok, decent space, comfortable sofa and chairs, workable kitchen facilities - but not of a quality of a place like the Alex. Bathroom was small yet functional - ok water pressure and Aveda giveaways. Bed quality was fine.

Two gripes were the towels and the continental breakfast. The towels were so worn and thin that I thought their sandpaper-like quality might exfoliate my entire body without ever really drying it. Really, it was like a bad summer camp experience. And the continental breakfast was bland, cheap in quality and tasteless. The hotel management must have someone specifically picking up months supplies of huge quantities of nourishment at BJs or Walmart.

So, if you want that location (50th and 3rd) for a decent night's sleep, grab a discounted rate and avoid the breakfast. It's a decent enough place for a night or two (p.s. go get a breakfast bagel at Ess-A-Bagel and coffee across the street and don't even try to justify the embedded continental breakfast cost).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValuingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I just finished my fifth stay at this best kept secret in Manhattan on April 17-20 and the best thing about this hotel is the friendliness of is staff fom the concierge to the bellman (Bobby) to the check-in staff. They are all amazingly kind and well-informed. The rooms are very spacious with modern furnishings. The beds are ver comfortable. The heat and A/C work very well. The television reception on some of the stations in my room (#1009) could have been better bu this small factor is not severe enough to lower my rating of the hotel. It is in every possible way five star. The continental breakfast provided every morning with the cost of your room is fine. Best of all the location is excellent for every type of sightseeing you could want to do in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philipmillermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
1,886 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#65 of 469 in New York City
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 469 in New York City
2,732 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
219 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#85 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 17,591 - ₹ 34,856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Carlos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. Oversized rooms and suites are tastefully appointed and include a pantry or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. This four star boutique hotel is centrally located and walking distance to major attractions, restaurants and shopping. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, the San Carlos Hotel is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing