We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 238
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$ 216
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
US$ 358
US$ 201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 230
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$ 229
US$ 206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 406
US$ 306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 303
US$ 233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 347
US$ 309
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 357/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 221
US$ 166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 378
US$ 149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,434)
Filter reviews
2,434 results
Traveller rating
1,160
836
268
104
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,160
836
268
104
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtfree applesnew yorklexington avenuerooftop bargrand central stationjunior suitean older hotelhome away from homestreet noisetimes squaremidtown hotelchrysler buildingfew blocksconvenient locationliving roomsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,800 - 1,805 of 2,434 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Booked this hotel two nights before leaving for a weekend in New York. What a find! It is a small hotel with 130 rooms and a wonderful individual feel. We had a fantastic corner room with two double beds and it felt as if we were in our own bedroom at home! The decor is individualised for each room - there is none of that 'corporate' feel produced by furniture that is so obviously made for every hotel in every city anywhere in the world. The room was spotlessly clean and stocked with good amenities. The staff were helpful and very friendly. The restaurant is great for breakfast. We just can't recommend this hotel highly enough and will definitely be staying there again when we visit our son in New York.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaskyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Heater in main bedroom made loud a loud banging noise off and on all night.
Suite was huge and spacious! Outdated decor. Great to have a dining table and mini kitchen to save money for breakfasts when eating out a lot. Walking distance to subway and to sights - time square etc...paid $300.00 per night

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekkarin, Hotel Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2010

Thank you for your feedback on The Roger Smith Hotel. I wanted to address your concerns and apologize for the delay in doing so. We are addressing the banging pipe by draining the air bubbles that cause the noise to occur. While my team and I apologize for any unpleasant situations, I assure you we have taken the utmost care in building and décor of our rooms. The furniture in all rooms is unique and handpicked to ensure the most comfortable experience for our guests.

Our team and I do hope to be able to welcome you back and hopefully change your opinion.

Sincerely,

Ek Wongleecharoen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

The hotel is super old and smells old. The bedrooms were decorated with bed linens that my great-great granny use to have. The radiator or whatever it is made weird noises all night long so I couldn't sleep because I thought something would pop out of it at any second. The bathroom was so old and worn out looking it made us uncomfortable to use since you couldn't tell whether it was still dirty or just old. At almost $300 a night the hotel should be able to at least upgrade the bed linens. Would never, ever, ever stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekkarin, Hotel Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2010

Thank you for your feedback on The Roger Smith Hotel. I wanted to address your concerns and apologize for the delay in doing so. We are taking your concerns seriously and looking for way to solve them. As for the banging pipe, we drained the pipe to get ride of all the air bubbles that cause the pipe to bang. My team and I can ensure you that cleanliness is our number one priority. We vacuum the floor and wipe down all the furniture daily.
Our team and I do hope to be able to welcome you back and hopefully change your opinion.

Sincerely,

Ek Wongleecharoen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Familyfriendly, cosy, clean and big rooms. When we arrived to the hotel had the staff upgraded our room from a junior suite to a deluxe suite for the same price as junior suite.The staff is wounderful. We are coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Room on 9th floor had much street noise through poorly installed Window AC unit. Difficult to get to sleep with sirens, horns all night. They moved me to 15 floor which as better, but for the price of $285 I could have stayed at a much better hotel. Desk help was courteous and professional, bed comfortable, restaurant was pricy but okay. Health club fee was $35/day for a place across the street, which was way too excessive. Room was clean, furniture, decor dated.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailor6700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews