We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was pleasantly surprised...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #125 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I was pleasantly surprised...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I really enjoyed the stay, the location, the service, the rooftop bar and the beds...
We stayed in a junior suite for 5 days with 2 kids and 2 adults. My ONLY complaint, was that there is no room service or breakfast... otherwise, I loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 3dtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    703
    231
    98
    62
See reviews for
648
390
146
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

You pay for location. It is an old hotel very well located. So if you don't find a new hotel in the same area for about $230, this is a good option.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I have read the mixed reviews about this property. I just returned from staying there and had a great visit to New York including my stay at the Roger Smith Hotel.

While it was built in 1929, the hotel has a lot of character. I had the Deluxe Suite which included 2 bedrooms, a living room and dining room with a kitchenette. A couple of small critiques: there weren't enough bathrooms for the size of the room, 2 bathrooms would have been helpful. The second room is very small, no room to walk around in. There is plenty of closet space in the hallway and front area.

The hotel service was remarkable and responsive.

Some of the amenities that people may or may not know about.

a. Free movies (library of CDs) and DVD players in every room.
b. The front desk will bring a remote for netflix account holders where you can log in on the TV monitor and watch Netflix movies
c. Books in every room which you can take with you to read, and mail back when you are finished
d. complimentary internet.
e. Discounts at local restaurant since the restaurant is no longer open
f. Rooftop bar/lobby bar

The hotel is convenient to Grand Central Station, 5th Avenue/Park/Madison avenue shopping, across from the Waldorf Astoria and near the UN. Wonderful restaurants all around.

I would stay here again.

While it is an older hotel it is very well kept.

Room Tip: Deluxe suites are great for a family. There is a master bedroom with a king bed, a single room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Sinetime back when boutique hotels came about, you'd be expecting an overwhelming experience from an understated property in a relatively unusual part of whatever town you were in. Some of the usual amenities in regular hotels were spared (Gym, pools in some cases, a business center, etc) but rooms would usually make up for this in style and comfort.

This is clearly not the case if the RS, where an average room is just marginally larger than what you can find in the radisson around the corner or at the courtyard a block north. Furniture is old and decaying, which is not the same as vintage and stylish. The AC in our room was loud and the courtains around it could not be brought together to stop light from coming in the room... kind of important if you want to be able to sleep past 7:30 am.

Lighting of the whole room was left up to the two lamps atop the night stands, and another lamp on top of the desk. The other two lights were not working but I doubt it would have made a difference with 40w bulbs...

The hotel has a lobby but it is not larger than a coffee shop, so getting in and out is easier thru the restaurant than the hotel's main entrance.

Having stayed at places ranging from 5 stars to 2 in this city and knowing how to measure each individually, I wonder how this place can rank within the top 200 hotels in NYC in tripadvisor. Poor is a good description for what I see in this hotel, abd there would be nothing the staff could have done to make things better.

Next time i'll be saving 20% and staying around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Ruleman,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at the Roger Smith. We value each guest review as a tool to identify areas for enhancement and truly sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. The Roger Smith is well known for its character and charm. While many boutique hotels offer limited capabilities in services and amenities, the Roger smith, on the contrary, includes amenities and services provided complimentary for our guests. For example, did you take advantage of the complimentary Wi-Fi, or free local and 800 calls from your room phone? All of our rooms feature a tea-coffee maker, and a refrigerator which are basic amenities that will incur additional charges at other New York City hotels. Did you also notice the selection of literature in your room? In regards to the comparison of room dimensions; our basic/standard rooms are 65 sq ft larger than the basic room at the hotel mentioned. We also provide access to 2 Apple computers at the lobby which are available 24 hours a day and a movie library rental at the front desk.

It is important for us that our guests and clients understand our product and style which is Traditional New England Colonial. Our in-house designer, Mrs. Knowles puts a great deal of thought in to individually decorating each room, selecting one piece of art or furniture as the focal point and inspiration to complete a room where guests walk in and immediately feel welcomed.

While we do have a more intimate lobby space, did you happen to notice the wonderful art work that are on the walls as you walked in? Our Hotel Manager, Ek Wongleecharoen puts together a bi-monthly art show called the “Lobby Series” in which he highlights the most interesting artists of our time.

We would like to conduct a thorough inspection of the room you stayed in and follow up on the points mentioned. Please do provide me with your room number in order to address the matters.

We are proud to share that just recently, the Roger Smith was awarded a certificate of excellence from Trip advisors’ president, for achieving high ratings from our guest reviewers. We are certain that the next time you stay with us the experience will be positive.

Please do reach out to me and I will ensure that we deliver on the promise and code of the Roger Smith; “to create great memories in a home away from home”

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
e-mail: wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Roger Smith hotel is a breath of fresh air in a world of chain hotels: privately owned (with photograph of the owner in each hotel rooom); large rooms; good value; and a great location off of 47th and Lexington. Recommended for business travelers and leisure travelers alike.

Positives

-Large rooms: Especially suites. The full suite actually contains two bedrooms, in addition to a kitchen, a large sitting area. Rooms are in the process of being renovated.

-Prices: Room prices tend to be cheaper than surrounding properties that include Marriott Marquis, Intercontinental, and Doubletree.

-Location: Located smack in the middle of downtown. You can walk to Times Square (7 cross town blocks), Rockefeller Center, and other attractions. Eateries are all within walking distance: expensive ones and cheap ones (street food, which is delicious by the way, McDonald's, Chipotle, etc.).

-Friendly Staff: Manuel ("Manny") is a hoot. Staff is generally very friendly and always willing to help.

Things That Need Improvement

-Air conditioning: The units are old type which means that they tend to be noisier.

-Some rooms need to be renovated, so be sure to ask for a renovated room.

-There is no gym; however, for $10 you can use a facility down the road. (This can be a big deal for some business travelers; but the room rates are much lower here and the $10 gym is a good deal.)

Bottomline

Good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet side of the hotel (always a big deal in Manhattan for light sleepers). Ask for reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgwode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Property: Roger Smith Hotel
Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#183 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,543 - ₹ 25,923
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing