We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roger Smith Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Bernic Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oakwood Cosmopolitan(New York City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Hotel 48LEX New York(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    New York Marriott East Side(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    W New York(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Internet
    Reviews (2,308)
    Filter reviews
    2,309 results
    Traveller rating
    1,089
    799
    255
    101
    65
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,089
    799
    255
    101
    65
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsyogurtfree applesnew yorklexington avenuerooftop bargrand central stationjunior suitean older hotelhome away from homestreet noisetimes squaremidtown hotelfew blockschrysler buildingspacious roomexcellent locationconvenient location
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,492 - 1,497 of 2,309 reviews
    Reviewed 28 April 2012

    The Roger Smith is awesome! It has so much character. The location ( 47th & Lex) is great. Your just a couple of blocks from Grand Central and walking distance to so many wonderful locations. The staff is about the best we've ever experienced. They are so charming, helpful and well informed about NYC. The rooms are immaculately clean, beds are so comfortable. The daily housekeeping great! Excellent location with all expected amenities! 1 week was just not enough. We can't wait to get back. Thanks so much to the entire staff at RS! We loved it! in one word "Awesome".

    Paul & Susan Weir, N.O., La

    Room Tip: Rm 811 is great!
    • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Paul_WNewOrleans
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 April 2012

    The location is excellent, price paid was good for the place. Unfortunately the attitude and way of dealing with customers in front desk is horrible. Terrible hotelier. I strongly discourage a stay in this hotel hoping owners will change front desk management and workers.
    Both front desk management and workers with an offensive attitude, unfriendly, and the opposite of what "hospitality"should mean.
    In same holiday I stayed in two others hotel and had a much better service experience.

    The awful service happened in two shifts:
    11th April 2012 at 2pm
    12th April 2012 at 10am

    Shame yourself for how you conduct the business

    • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank claudioita
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

    Dear, Caludioita,

    Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay this April. I am delighted to hear that you found our location ideal for your travel. While you stayed in one of my personal favorite rooms, which has been recently renovated, I’m disappointed to hear about the unpleasant service you experienced from the front office staff. The Roger Smith Hotel has been recognized for the personal and friendly hospitality that we pride ourselves in, and the reason we retain our loyal guests. I will be following up with the front office and executive teams to ensure that this does not happen again. Please consider giving us a second opportunity to provide you with a memorable stay.

    Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    Best regards,

    Marlenny Paredes
    wecare@rogersmith.com

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 April 2012

    Stayed in the Roger Smith for one night in mid april, had a reservation for a hotel in New Jersey that offered transportation every 30 minutes to NYC due to the fact that it's almost impossible to find a decent hotel at a decent price in Manhattan. But a friend suggested to try and see if we could find something through the internet, so he made a quick search in Hotels.com and found the Roger Smith at a good price ($198/night), so we decided to take it and avoid NJ. We were pleasantly surprised, as the hotel is in an excellent location, check-in took 2 minutes, and got a room on the 8th. floor (so no noise from Lexington Avenue). The room was a bit dated, but had a cozy feeling, had a mini fridge and a coffee maker, and the bathroom was very clean (although a bit dated too). No problems with the wireless network (even placed a couple of facetime calls which require at least an average internet speed), furniture could use some cleaning.
    Overall a nice stay, would stay there again because of the price/value ratio.

    • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank pppjjj
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 April 2012

    This hotel is located in the centre of Manhattan a few minutes walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, and the Rockerfeller Centre. The Junior Suite we occupied was nicely appointed and very clean and the WiFi worked well.

    The hotel is on a busy street so if your sleep is easily disturbed it may not be for you, but this didn't bother us at all.

    We didn't eat or drink in the hotel so can't comment.

    Absolutely no cause for any complaint.

    Room Tip: Only stayed in one room so don't know what any of the others were like.
    • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Tania0703
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 April 2012

    I stayed here for a conference and it quickly became my NYC home. The staff is great, they are friendly & very helpful with everything from locating a package to helping find a restaurant. My room was a very nice size, was clean, comfortable, and felt like a guest room in a home more than a hotel. The location is very convenient. I will definitely be back.

    Room Tip: Corner rooms are very roomy.
    • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SheilaThomas
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews