We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay in NYC!”
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #121 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Orleans
1 review
“Awesome stay in NYC!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The Roger Smith is awesome! It has so much character. The location ( 47th & Lex) is great. Your just a couple of blocks from Grand Central and walking distance to so many wonderful locations. The staff is about the best we've ever experienced. They are so charming, helpful and well informed about NYC. The rooms are immaculately clean, beds are so comfortable. The daily housekeeping great! Excellent location with all expected amenities! 1 week was just not enough. We can't wait to get back. Thanks so much to the entire staff at RS! We loved it! in one word "Awesome".

Paul & Susan Weir, N.O., La

Room Tip: Rm 811 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_WNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    735
    238
    99
    64
See reviews for
689
401
150
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The location is excellent, price paid was good for the place. Unfortunately the attitude and way of dealing with customers in front desk is horrible. Terrible hotelier. I strongly discourage a stay in this hotel hoping owners will change front desk management and workers.
Both front desk management and workers with an offensive attitude, unfriendly, and the opposite of what "hospitality"should mean.
In same holiday I stayed in two others hotel and had a much better service experience.

The awful service happened in two shifts:
11th April 2012 at 2pm
12th April 2012 at 10am

Shame yourself for how you conduct the business

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claudioita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear, Caludioita,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay this April. I am delighted to hear that you found our location ideal for your travel. While you stayed in one of my personal favorite rooms, which has been recently renovated, I’m disappointed to hear about the unpleasant service you experienced from the front office staff. The Roger Smith Hotel has been recognized for the personal and friendly hospitality that we pride ourselves in, and the reason we retain our loyal guests. I will be following up with the front office and executive teams to ensure that this does not happen again. Please consider giving us a second opportunity to provide you with a memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed in the Roger Smith for one night in mid april, had a reservation for a hotel in New Jersey that offered transportation every 30 minutes to NYC due to the fact that it's almost impossible to find a decent hotel at a decent price in Manhattan. But a friend suggested to try and see if we could find something through the internet, so he made a quick search in Hotels.com and found the Roger Smith at a good price ($198/night), so we decided to take it and avoid NJ. We were pleasantly surprised, as the hotel is in an excellent location, check-in took 2 minutes, and got a room on the 8th. floor (so no noise from Lexington Avenue). The room was a bit dated, but had a cozy feeling, had a mini fridge and a coffee maker, and the bathroom was very clean (although a bit dated too). No problems with the wireless network (even placed a couple of facetime calls which require at least an average internet speed), furniture could use some cleaning.
Overall a nice stay, would stay there again because of the price/value ratio.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pppjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is located in the centre of Manhattan a few minutes walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, and the Rockerfeller Centre. The Junior Suite we occupied was nicely appointed and very clean and the WiFi worked well.

The hotel is on a busy street so if your sleep is easily disturbed it may not be for you, but this didn't bother us at all.

We didn't eat or drink in the hotel so can't comment.

Absolutely no cause for any complaint.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room so don't know what any of the others were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here for a conference and it quickly became my NYC home. The staff is great, they are friendly & very helpful with everything from locating a package to helping find a restaurant. My room was a very nice size, was clean, comfortable, and felt like a guest room in a home more than a hotel. The location is very convenient. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#126 of 467 in New York City
600 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#136 of 467 in New York City
489 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#60 of 467 in New York City
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#34 of 467 in New York City
232 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#73 of 467 in New York City
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Property: Roger Smith Hotel
Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Business Hotel in New York City
#187 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,821 - ₹ 27,447
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing