We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new home in NYC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
sarasota, fl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My new home in NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I've stayed here 3 times in the past 6 months and will return. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The rooms are good-sized and comfortable. Furniture is what you would expect if you were staying at a friend's beach or ski house, comfortable/shabby rather than matchy-matchy plastic. There are all the comforts of home, including a selection of books in each room and DVDs available from the desk, as well as a small fridge rather than a mini-bar. Nice towels, real hangers in real closets with doors. And the price is unbeatable, especially for the location a block from the Waldorf.

Room Tip: Rooms 01-02 face the courtyard and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobydSarasota_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear TobydSarasota,

Thank you for sharing your Roger Smith experience. We are delighted to hear you are a loyal guest. Our number one goal is to provide a "home away from home" environment and Im happy we were able to succeed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

P.S. Please contact me on your next visit and I will ensure you have the 01 room you like.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    691
    228
    97
    61
See reviews for
620
383
139
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here one night, booked last minute through HotelTonight. I found it nice and convenient for the price I paid. The reception area is small and cozy and the staff were very nice and efficient. The room was pretty nice, it was clean and had a good view of Lexington Ave. The bathroom was fully stocked basket of complementary toiletries (toothpaste, toothbrush, etc.) The room could use a few updates but it was clean and the bed was very comfortable so I was happy with my choice. I would stay again but I would ask for a higher floor.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and my room had a window AC unit. I'm not sure if that was typical for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubykay19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed for one night on a weekend. Front desk staff was warm, accomodating and efficient.

Room Tip: Beware lower floors with window AC units. Lexington Avenue is a busy street and the street noise may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchbishopofKrejci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and were upgraded to a Junior Suite with no extra charge. The rooms were extremely spacious and very comfortable. I was amazed at the space. The location was fantastic. I have recommended that my parents stay in this hotel next month and I will be back again! Good value for money

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve2463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I had read the reviews on Tripadvisor and found the Roger Smith Hotel for a Four Star Hotel had a reasonable room rate. What is that old saying... you get what you pay for!

When I checked in I was running off to a meeting so I gave my bags to the bellman to deliver to my room. When I got back aroun 9:30 at night I finally saw the room. I had a Jr. Suite and the room was a good size, minimal electric outlets and no wireless connection. They told me that would work on that on Monday (which never happened). I have an iPad, a Smart Phone and a Kindle Fire, none of which could connect to the wireless network.

The first thing I noticed was that there are no fire sprinklers in the room (the hotel was grandfathered in, they told me and so does not need to comply). Also there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. There was however, an old and tired mattress.

In the morning I went to the restaurant for breakfast which was okay eggs coffee and croissants. On the way out I noticed that the restaurant had received a B rating from the board of health, which means that they received a negative 14 to 27 points for sanitary violations. I did not eat there again!

By the way, that rating is on a large 8x10 sign that most restaurants post proudly, theirs was conveniently hidden behind the door leading into the restaurant.

If I hadn't prepaid (won't do that again) I would have moved. I certainly won't go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Kaberk,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. I’m happy you were able to take advantage of the discounted rate offered via our website. I read your below comments on your experience. The Roger Smith is a 3 star boutique hotel that does not claim to be a 4 star property and I believe you may have been confused with the review rating system with Tripadvisor which does not refer to the hotel star rating. Our Junior Suites offer a compliment of amenities at no additional charge which I hope you were able to utilize like, a small refrigerator, tea and coffee maker and a library with a selection of books to read from. I did a walk-thru of your room and counted 7 different electrical outlets, each having 2 – 4 sockets to plug in your electronics. In regards to the complimentary Wi-Fi; I looked over the shift report for that evening and found no interruptions on our network; however I did see that you made a report on the lack of sprinklers in the room which was personally addressed by our engineer who diligently offered information. Fire Sprinklers systems are installed in accordance with consensus standards developed through the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) which are not always required. Many buildings, like the Roger Smith Hotel that were built prior to modern-day standards “grandfathered” so a retrofit is not required. We do have a sprinkler system in place on all other public areas including corridors, as well as fire command stations and a trained Fire Brigade team. I’m glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We too are dissatisfied with the rating and have since implemented new routines to improve and hope for an "A" at our next inspection. In regards to the rating placement, please know that the Board of Health dictates where the rating is placed, and I do apologized if you missed it”

We are very sorry for not satisfying your expectations and ask that you give us a second opportunity at providing an enjoyable stay with the Roger Smith Hotel. Please do contact me directly for your next trip and I will be sure to look after your reservation.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Property: Roger Smith Hotel
Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
#184 Business Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,827 - ₹ 26,702
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing