We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stolen at The Plaza” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #124 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stolen at The Plaza”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

On my recent stay at The Plaza, on july, on my departing day, I had to move from my edwardian suite to a smaller one. That was not convenient but as i was departing and paying whole fare for a late check out, it was ok. I forgot two hangers full of clothing in my previous suite. Two hours after I moved, someone from the front desk went with me to check for my forgotten clothes. The clothes weren't there anymore. Security was callled but my clothes never appeared. They told they were going to try to find out what happened and call me as I was leaving for the airport. Nobody called me back. My clothes were stolen. I usually go to The Plaza at least three times a year, but after this episode I'm not returning.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    382
    199
    116
    85
See reviews for
620
759
102
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Plaza IS New York.

From the moment you enter the grand lobby and reception area you are swept up in a bygone era of etiquette and glamour.

The rooms are the perfect getaway to life outside the walls of the beautiful hotel.

Service is impeccable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I missed my flight last night out of JFK and knew that i would have to spend the night in NYC. After thinking of all the possible hotels that a 19 year old could check into, the Plaza came into my mind. It had always been a dream of mine to stay there, and i knew that last night, it would come true. Within 15 minutes of arriving, I was settled into my VERY spacious room! The sheets, bathrobes, everything about it; amazing! I ordered room service twice (milkshake at night, breakfast in the morning) and both orders arrived within 15 minutes. Amazing staff, amazing hotel; I WILL come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plazalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

A while back I met up with some friends at the plaza. It seemed like a nice place until it came time to leave. On the way out, I accidentally knocked over a wet floor sign. It was probably because I was exhausted and needed sleep but the sexurity gaurd yelled at me. He cursed which upset me and things only escelated from there. At one point it looked like he was going to punch me so I raised my hands above my head and said "I don't want to fight." At thar moment he shoved me hard and kept shoving me towards the door and then down the stairs. Never have I been treated so horribly. This guy was a monster and I have never gone back to the Plaza Hotel or the Oak Room ever since. I won't let my friends go either. While I wanted to press charges at first I soon realized that I did not have the time. Beyond my horrible experience, this was just an overpriced place. Never again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank Acquiescence80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Acquiescence80,
On behalf of The Plaza Hotel, our sincere apologies for your experience. From what we can gather from your post, this event took place in a restaurant that at the time of the event, was not managed by the hotel but rather an outside vendor who hired their own security. Please be sure that the hotel security staff have training of the highest standards and would never treat our guests in such a manner. Should you wish to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact me at feedback@theplaza.com. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove that this is not the way that we conduct business when The Oak Bar re-opens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I have stayed at the Plaza before but never had such a bad experience. When brought to our room we noticed that the hallway was super hot, more than 90 degrees. The bellman said the A/C was out on the lower floors but our room would be cool enough. But the hallway was so hot, the A/C in the room couldn't keep up. Then our TV didn't work and manager Jason Montgomery said there was nothing they could do, they wouldn't fix it or move us to a new room. When I left messages for GM Hans Hordijk and hotel manager Tracy Lowe, I received no response for days. Finally, they ended up refunding all my money. But it was really a disappointment and I would have rather paid full price and had a nice room and nice service. Refunding the money didn't really make me feel any better.

Room Tip: If you have a problem, don't waste your time with the hotel managers. Better to complain directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TAReviewer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#70 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#57 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 35,770 - ₹ 81,371
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing