We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Once in a lifetime experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #122 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at the Plaza during my business trip. I say it is a once in a lifetime experience because, although elegant and very nice, we would never choose to pay out of our own pockets for the experience. We walked across the street to Central park and had a great time walking and people watching. 5th avenue shopping is right outside the door with a great Apple store right across the street. This hotel is truly beautiful with spacious, clean rooms and the best bathrooms anywhere. It s a little uncomfortable however, as the furniture is not inviting and the shops inside the hotel were WAY out of our budget. The gym was being remodeled while we were here so 2 ellipticals and 3 treadmills were set up in an unused guest room. Not ideal. We left the hotel each day for meals because food was insanely priced at this place. $15 for a glass of orange juice! Great to see how the "other half" lives, but definitely not within our budget. I've stayed at other new York city hotels and had a better experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    370
    189
    115
    82
See reviews for
595
737
100
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

For a perfect lunch treat, go to the Oak room at the Plaza for a smoked salmon bagel and a margherita! This will set you up for a spot of roller blading or ice skating on the Wollman Ice Rink which you overlook from the Oak Room window. A perfect New York City treat!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsurferNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

What could be better than staying at this fabulous hotel within such a beautiful part of New York City? Imagine early mooring runs in Central Park followed by a luxurious breakfast and shopping on Fifth Avenue. Reservations are needed well in advance for the breakfast which is served in a leisurely fashion amidst the finery. Downstairs is a restaurant area designed in a similar fashion to Eataly but we preferred exploring the many fine restaurants the city had to offer since this downstairs location although splendidly decorated was a bit too warm and crowded for us. This area is being renovated and we look forward to visiting. We were treated well and even received complimentary champagne when we let it be known it was our anniversary. A grand hotel in every sense and worth a visit. Don't forget to check out the portrait of Eloise, the character from the popular children's books.

Room Tip: Visit the hotel's website and be aware of the room sizes. You may have to pay up for more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skimaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

While staying at the "W Times Square" which I would HIGHLY recommend - a friend and I dropped in at The Plaza just to say we had been there. Upon our arrival, there was a man extremely unhappy with his service in the Afternoon room/wine bar. I thought there is always someone unhappy. To my surprise - it took 25 minutes before anyone ever made an attempt to wait on us. They were rude and unfriendly. I waited for another 25 minutes as I was going to order more coffee but no one ever came to see if I needed anything. The waiters all huddled in the corner. There were 2-3 other guests also having drinks and they were having the same issue. Finally had to flag them down to pay my bill. Due to that ONE experience - I would NEVER trust an overnight stay at The Plaza Central Park.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Sandra,

We are so sorry to hear of your disappointing visit to The Champagne Bar. This is certainly not typical of the level of service we provide at The Plaza. Please be assured that we have reviewed your comments with the team to ensure that the service in this area is monitored and improved.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to get this right for you in the future. Should you wish to discuss further, please do not hesitate to email us directly at feedback@theplaza.com. Once again, our sincerest apologies for this unfortunate experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

After attending a wedding and visiting friends in Pennsylvania and New York, my husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a night in the city at the Plaza...and a treat it was! The only downside was the considerable cost of staying there. We did realize it was New York City and that everything is exponentially more expensive; that was our justification for spending that much on one night! Our room was beautiful. Everything was very comfortable and exactly what I expected. Even the bathroom was luxurious!

We had to check out by noon, but our flight wasn't until that evening, so the hotel held our bags for us at no extra charge. It was a nice feeling knowing our luggage was in a safe and secure spot while we toured the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollymhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#31 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#22 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#83 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#46 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#94 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 36,006 - ₹ 1,06,657
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing