We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We like the place because we can have our private room in a very reasonable price. We got a purple room with a bunk bed. There is air conditioning, a sink and lockers in the room too. Our floor has 6 bath rooms. Thus no waiting There is not much common area and no activities going on though.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    493
    255
    89
    96
See reviews for
108
330
227
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our Girl Scout group of 10 high school girls and five mama chaperones had a wonderful experience at this hotel...we felt comfortable letting girls room independently, and never had trouble with access to the shared bathroom/shower areas. Beds were comfortable, rooms clean, and staff were knowledgeable and friendly. We had two rooms with ensuite baths, and two with baths in the hall. Vevita, the group sales manager, went way out of her way to help us secure metro passes. The kitchen facilities and shared fridge were helpful and well maintained. We visited during a heat wave (105 heat index!) and were completely satisfied with our window ac units. The neighborhood feels completely neighborhoody, very safe and an easy walk (even late at night) to the 103rd Street station. A crosstown bus station was also an easy walk (nice for access to the MET). Convenience stores, McDonalds, and a great breakfast/bagel shop are all within a five minute walk. If you can't handle a little water on the shared shower floor, pay for the ensuite bath. Otherwise, just take flip flops!

Room Tip: We loved two rooms with shared baths (#233 and #236) and two with private bath (#311, #415) Also ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganKira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanoi.vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

evening we had a beautiful hotel and very pleased with the services of our hotel will be transported back here one day last

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davircuong c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in a double Room on the 4th floor.

The room was clean enough but very small. A queen size bed, a cupboard, a bedtable, and a very loud and nonetheless very ineffective airconditioning unit.

The Bed was a real Queen size, however with a totally worn out mattress, that squeaked loudly with every movement and with a great, soft vally in the middle, no flat place in the whole bed.
Very inadvisable to people with any back problems.
One side of the bed was at the wall the other side had a bedtable, however no bedside lamp.

The bathroom was clean but also very small. No place where to put your toilet articels, no place to hang up your towels or anything else. Luckyly u can despose all u need in the small room, so its not really far away.

Then the staff was very friendly, patient and helpful.

Free wifi is offered only in the first floor where the other public facilities are located that consisits in three sections, one with pay computers, two with sofas and a television. Sometimes free popcorn is offered.

All in all it was bearable, however for the price we paid (180 Bucks per night, Tax included), we expected more, at least a decent mattress. Maybe this is just what you get in NYC at this price..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StMarkCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hofn, Iceland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on a July (Humid & Hot ) weekend and would stay again if it were just for 1 to 2 nights again. The Crowd was mostly European with a couple of Australians. Staff were friendly and helped. Cool vibe and you talk to "travelers"

The location is great, 2 blocks from 103rd St Subway Station, Central Park, Riverside Park. Lots of shops, cafes, pizza joints, etc.

I used it primarily to sleep ( ye I know it's Manhattan ) and my room was on the 6th floor [ 7th floor is the penthouse ;) :) ]

Being on the 6th floor, I used the lift to get up and my legs to get back down to ground floor.
Ask to see your available choice of room(s) as not much was in my room : [ double bunk bed, vanity basin, lockers, air conditioner]
The room had a squeaky door which I used to open coming back in the early hours of the morning, sorry to my Dorm partner.
The air conditioner was challenged on the high 90s Fahrenheit weekend temperatures but I did get some sleep.
The shared bathrooms are good but poorly ventilated; so leave those windows open.
They allowed a late checkout of Noon, instead of 11 am.

The wifi was good and 3 TVs were available downstairs and viewed the Wimbledon 2012 Final Live on Sunday morning on comfortable lounge. Congrats to Roger!
The kitchen is new but the refrigerator was too small and was full of food and drinks. Couldn't find any ice.
You can have breakfast but you have to pay. i just went to the great & cheap Bagels shop across the street.

They have security at the door which is good.

If You plan to stay more than 2 nights then compare it with : HI New York on Amsterdam Ave but book early :), rates go .... up!

Room Tip: Good for a short stay. Book early & get a room on one of the 1st 2 levels as the lift is slow. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwaymgt, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Hello, we're glad you enjoyed our staff and the location of The Broadway. Also, thank you for expressing the parts of your stay that you found were less than stellar. We are always searching for ways to improve our amenities and make our guests stay even better. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
1,510 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
512 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
1,318 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#270 of 467 in New York City
1,345 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
10,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,016 - ₹ 12,566
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing