We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This review is about the hotel facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This review is about the hotel facility”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in a double Room on the 4th floor.

The room was clean enough but very small. A queen size bed, a cupboard, a bedtable, and a very loud and nonetheless very ineffective airconditioning unit.

The Bed was a real Queen size, however with a totally worn out mattress, that squeaked loudly with every movement and with a great, soft vally in the middle, no flat place in the whole bed.
Very inadvisable to people with any back problems.
One side of the bed was at the wall the other side had a bedtable, however no bedside lamp.

The bathroom was clean but also very small. No place where to put your toilet articels, no place to hang up your towels or anything else. Luckyly u can despose all u need in the small room, so its not really far away.

Then the staff was very friendly, patient and helpful.

Free wifi is offered only in the first floor where the other public facilities are located that consisits in three sections, one with pay computers, two with sofas and a television. Sometimes free popcorn is offered.

All in all it was bearable, however for the price we paid (180 Bucks per night, Tax included), we expected more, at least a decent mattress. Maybe this is just what you get in NYC at this price..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StMarkCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    494
    255
    89
    96
See reviews for
108
331
228
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hofn, Iceland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on a July (Humid & Hot ) weekend and would stay again if it were just for 1 to 2 nights again. The Crowd was mostly European with a couple of Australians. Staff were friendly and helped. Cool vibe and you talk to "travelers"

The location is great, 2 blocks from 103rd St Subway Station, Central Park, Riverside Park. Lots of shops, cafes, pizza joints, etc.

I used it primarily to sleep ( ye I know it's Manhattan ) and my room was on the 6th floor [ 7th floor is the penthouse ;) :) ]

Being on the 6th floor, I used the lift to get up and my legs to get back down to ground floor.
Ask to see your available choice of room(s) as not much was in my room : [ double bunk bed, vanity basin, lockers, air conditioner]
The room had a squeaky door which I used to open coming back in the early hours of the morning, sorry to my Dorm partner.
The air conditioner was challenged on the high 90s Fahrenheit weekend temperatures but I did get some sleep.
The shared bathrooms are good but poorly ventilated; so leave those windows open.
They allowed a late checkout of Noon, instead of 11 am.

The wifi was good and 3 TVs were available downstairs and viewed the Wimbledon 2012 Final Live on Sunday morning on comfortable lounge. Congrats to Roger!
The kitchen is new but the refrigerator was too small and was full of food and drinks. Couldn't find any ice.
You can have breakfast but you have to pay. i just went to the great & cheap Bagels shop across the street.

They have security at the door which is good.

If You plan to stay more than 2 nights then compare it with : HI New York on Amsterdam Ave but book early :), rates go .... up!

Room Tip: Good for a short stay. Book early & get a room on one of the 1st 2 levels as the lift is slow. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwaymgt, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Hello, we're glad you enjoyed our staff and the location of The Broadway. Also, thank you for expressing the parts of your stay that you found were less than stellar. We are always searching for ways to improve our amenities and make our guests stay even better. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Firstly, I loved the location of this hotel, I have now stayed at 101st on both the Upper East and West side, and the feel of the West (here) was much safer and better. The Subway was 2 blocks up and easy to navigate, you could get the number 1 all the way to the bottom of Manhattan and it stops in walking distance from almost all major sites. Plus it's nice to still be a busy area without it being too busy OR too expensive for food etc.

It has a very nice feel downstairs in the lobby and kitchen area.

I have to point out something strange that we couldn't understand, there was a man in the room next door to us that clearly lived in the room and wasn't just staying in it as a hotel, because he had hoards of belongings that looked like they'd been there for a long time. He also had 3 cats (it could have been more but we saw 3) living in his room. We found this strange as this hotel has a no pet policy, yet the man always had his door open so quite clearly he wasn't hiding them. We found him quite strange in the way he always seemed to come out of his room when he heard our door - even in the middle of the night. He was friendly and harmless though, we just found his behaviour to be slightly odd and were confused as to why he seemed to be living in a hotel and why he had 3 cats  The room on the other side to us had a table and chairs and wasn't a bedroom - where we were situated felt more like an apartment block than a hotel/hostel.

Other than this strange situation, the room was lovely, we stayed in a 2 bed dorm that was spacious and very clean. The only suggestion I would have is to make the light in the room brighter! It was very dark, but that is the only complaint I have about the room.

To say this is New York City, the price for this hotel was really good value and I would definitely recommend it and stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here 3 times in 5 weeks as we travelled via all 3 NYC airports.
Due to availability, we booked both the 2 bed dorm and private room. Our first stay was in the 2 bed dorm with shared bathroom. The room had a single "bunk bed" in a very small room with a very noisy A/C and neither of us really liked it. There was nothing particularly wrong with it, but it just felt a bit like a prison. Having said that, it was great value for a NYC summer. Our next stay was in a private room with shared bathroom and this room was HUGE. It had a very comfortable bed with TV but still had a noisy A/C. Our third stay was also in the 2 bed dorm with shared bathroom but this time we got 2 single beds with a TV in a room about 3 times as big as the first one, despite it being the same room type.
Each room we stayed in had a ceiling fan, and i'd encourage you to use this (instead of the A/C) overnight, if you want a decent sleep.
The shared bathrooms were clean and generally well maintained, but i still chose to wear flip flops, just in case.
There is free wifi in the downstairs lobby/lounge area but not in the rooms and this would be my only gripe.
The location is pretty good, and its very easy to get to and from LGA on the M60 bus and the subway (1) is 2 or 5 blocks away directly on broadway. Its also a short(ish) walk midtown attractions.

Room Tip: choose a room that does NOT face Broadway as the street can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zok I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I stayed here for one night in a superior twin shared bath room. The shared bath is dirty and the room smelled like feces. It was horrible!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bboi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,843 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,045 - ₹ 12,585
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing