We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE. RUINED OUR HOLIDAY.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE. RUINED OUR HOLIDAY.”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

DO NOT TRUST THIS PLACE - THEY RUINED OUR HOLIDAY. My boyfriend and I had booked months in advance a stay at the Broadway Hotel and Hostel for a week in May/June 2011. We took a taxi from the airport taking us straight to the hotel. On arrival a doorman let us in and we were met by the receptionist, however on attempting to check in, we were told by the young girl behind the desk that they were being closed down as they were being made into student accomodation. As annoying as this was, I was calm expecting that she would soon tell us where we would be being transfered to as an alternative. However THEY HAD MADE NO SUCH BOOKING and expected us to sort ourselves out. When i actually asked what are we meant to do? She actually shrugged. We were completely devestated, not only had they FAILED TO LET US KNOW OF THE CANCELLATION, despite taking all my details at the time of booking but now expected us to find alternative accomodation. After a long flight this was the last thing i wanted to do. We were then told we would have to pay to use their internet to find another hotel and i would not be allowed to use the computer on reception. They were not sympathetic at all. After about an hour of calling around to find a relatively cheap alternative we left and made our way to a different hotel. Unfortunately we had to use the majority of our spending money on this hotel due to the last minute bookin. A COST WHICH WAS DOUBLE what we were meant to pay at the Broadway Hotel and Hostel. After that first day, we were determined to put that awful day behind us and enjoy the holiday, but unfortunately we were now hundreds of pounds down and were unable to see most of the things we had dreamed of.

However, I have seen since then that the hotel is still open and people have been reviewing their stays over the last year - obviously this leaves me confused, i thought the hotel was closing or so i was told.....PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU WANT FANTASTIC MEMORIES OF NEW YORK. BROADWAY HOTEL AND HOSTEL RUINED OURS.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwaymgt, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Hi Becky,

We at The Broadway are very sorry to hear that your stay was affected by our temporary closure last year. Yes, it is most unfortunate that this happened during your visit. No one would want to begin their vacation this way and our sympathies are of course with you. The closing of the property came as a shock to not only our guests staying in the hotel and guests that arrived during that time, but also to our staff. We do apologize on behalf of the front desk agent whom appeared to be reluctant to help you. We would also like to explain that the closing of the hotel was not only a sudden event - it was a decision made by the The City of New York and was virtually unannounced to even the staff.

We tried our very best to find accommodations for the guests that were staying in the hotel during that time and for incoming guests as well. Because the closure was so sudden, there were many guests that were not able to check their emails or were even on a flight en route to New York City and contact grew increasingly difficult. Still, we understand and empathize with your aggravation and are regretful that you feel that your visit was ruined. Sometimes circumstance has a way of interfering with ones best laid plans and it is unfortunate for all involved.

With all of this said, The Broadway happily invites you back. Many of the guests who experienced the inconvenience of changing their travel plans because of our temporary closure have returned to us and we give our best to show them what New York has to offer and put our every effort into making them feel as comfortable as can be and glad that they made the decision to stay with us.

We hope that your future travels are what you wish them to be- full of fantastic memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    498
    262
    90
    97
See reviews for
110
336
229
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The location is a bit out of the way I think, but this is a good deal for it's overall value. Everything was reasonably clean and tidy and the staff was friendly. I've stayed in better hotels but wasn't terribly disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We recently made a booking for July for 6 nights, however due to circumstances had to cancel the booking 3 monts prior to arrival.

The hotel have charged us 200 dollars to cancel despite the booking conditions of the agent saying that it was free to cancel. this is also a huge penalty for what is such a budget hotel.

We were a bit warey about booking as we knew that someone else had money issues with this hotel. I wouldn't trust them at all.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 295424Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwaymgt, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Hello, we want to give all of our guests and potential guests every reason to trust us. You had written that it cost $200 dollars to cancel your reservation. We can guarantee that we've never had a cancellation fee of that amount, especially if you canceled over three months in advance. It could be possible that you were initially charged that amount through your booking engine, which of course we would refund once we learned of your cancellation.

If you could please call us at 212/865/7710 or email us at frontdesk@broadwayhotelnyc.com so we can clear up any misunderstandings, that would be greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Negative:
-there was hair in bed on arrival (bath and floor were clean, though)
-rather loud inside the

Positive:
+good location (two metro stations and central park in vicinity.there is no breakfast, but a really good bagel store right on Broadway)
+affordable rates compared to other hostels in NYC
+nice flair in building, comfortable lounge area

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungryhilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

There's only a big problem with the Hostel: After my trip, back at home, when I received my credit card status I was charged twice for my stay. I emailed the hostel to have a solution and fix it, but nothing, they never care to answer me to say that they were gonna check it or whatever. I'm trying to solve it with Visa now, but it would have been nice if they at least sent me an email saying "oh we're sorry!". I'd really like to think it was an accident and not in purpose...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mauruts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 468 in New York City
521 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,531 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 468 in New York City
4,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,090 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 162 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,263 - ₹ 13,112
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing