We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIPPED OFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“RIPPED OFF”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We recently made a booking for July for 6 nights, however due to circumstances had to cancel the booking 3 monts prior to arrival.

The hotel have charged us 200 dollars to cancel despite the booking conditions of the agent saying that it was free to cancel. this is also a huge penalty for what is such a budget hotel.

We were a bit warey about booking as we knew that someone else had money issues with this hotel. I wouldn't trust them at all.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 295424Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwaymgt, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Hello, we want to give all of our guests and potential guests every reason to trust us. You had written that it cost $200 dollars to cancel your reservation. We can guarantee that we've never had a cancellation fee of that amount, especially if you canceled over three months in advance. It could be possible that you were initially charged that amount through your booking engine, which of course we would refund once we learned of your cancellation.

If you could please call us at 212/865/7710 or email us at frontdesk@broadwayhotelnyc.com so we can clear up any misunderstandings, that would be greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    498
    261
    90
    96
See reviews for
110
335
229
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Negative:
-there was hair in bed on arrival (bath and floor were clean, though)
-rather loud inside the

Positive:
+good location (two metro stations and central park in vicinity.there is no breakfast, but a really good bagel store right on Broadway)
+affordable rates compared to other hostels in NYC
+nice flair in building, comfortable lounge area

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungryhilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

There's only a big problem with the Hostel: After my trip, back at home, when I received my credit card status I was charged twice for my stay. I emailed the hostel to have a solution and fix it, but nothing, they never care to answer me to say that they were gonna check it or whatever. I'm trying to solve it with Visa now, but it would have been nice if they at least sent me an email saying "oh we're sorry!". I'd really like to think it was an accident and not in purpose...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mauruts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Broadway Hotel & Hostel is very cheap in comparison to other NY hotels. You do get what you pay for but the location is good, very close to subway and a couple of blocks to Central Park. The staff were lovely and very helpful too.

We stayed in a private ensuite room which was quite small but had a flat screen tv and air con. The bed was uncomfortable and creaked and it was noisy from the traffic on Broadway. Often people were getting home late and making lots of noise. Good to have ear plugs and ask for a room on a higher level. The shower temperature constantly changed and took a while to get hot. There were other communal bathrooms that were better.

The communal area is really nice with computers (only one was working at the time) and an area to watch movies or read books. They also have a little cafe where you can buy cheap coffee and snacks.

If you want somewhere that is cheap to stay in NY then this place is great.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay NSW
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

very basic but clean. Small room and ensuite bathroom cramped. But location out weighs the former. Central to subway, shops, dining. Staff helpful, free Wifi in communal lounge. Would stay again.

Room Tip: our room was quiet, had a view over the street. Only ceiling fans but quite adequite.For the amount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJTBatemansBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#400 of 468 in New York City
518 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 468 in New York City
1,530 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 468 in New York City
4,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,079 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 468 in New York City
17,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 162 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,264 - ₹ 12,987
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing