We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Staff!! Great Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #218 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff!! Great Location!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Front Desk Staff were AWESOME, especially my Check-In Rep!!! Pleasant, efficient, knowledgeable...throughout my two days there, they NEVER failed to greet me by title/surname -- without prompting and without mispronunciatiation...CONSUMMATE Professionals!!!!

Room Tip: Great location...5 blocks from NY Penn Station/AMTRAK...subway to all other attractions within a blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopcornPerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    784
    216
    64
    47
See reviews for
619
494
146
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Subway station 1/2 block away allows you to travel to any part of the city. Hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the price was very fair compared to those hotels near Times Square. At first glance the Garden Inn looks to be far away from the action but is actually within fairly walking distance to Times Square and Penn Station. We will return to this hotel on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear our location was convenient for your many adventures as well. It is nice that we are so close to major attractions, but yet our guests are able to escape large crowds and a lot of noise. We also agree that both our location and value are ideal. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,118 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I recently returned from a 3 week business trip and stayed one night at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea-New York City. It was my first stay, necessitated by clients staying there, as well, and I must say that I was quite impressed. For a Hilton Garden Inn, my room was quite spacious (business king), the service was great, and the location was pretty good, too. My rate was significantly less than the other hotels I normally frequent in the city (Paramount suite, Le Parker Meridien, W Times Square, Tuscany/Court, W Union Square, etc.) for business, too.

I had great air conditioning at the Hilton Garden Inn, something I didn't have when i moved the next 2 nights to the Le Parker Meridien for the weekend.

All in all, for those wanting a decent, clean, and nicely located hotel without a lot of fuss or pricey room, this is a great option.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thanks so much for the nice review of your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are happy to hear our location and amenities were convenient for you. We agree that our rooms are nicely sized in NYC and clean. Our entire staff makes every effort to accommodate our guests and make them feel welcome. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Mostly good things to say about this place. It was in a good, convenient area (W. 28th between 7th and 8th), and that's pretty much the key in NY. A few subway stops from Grand Central and the Port Authority, and there is a 1-train subway stop on the corner a few hundred feet away.

The good traveler photos others have posted are an accurate representation of the rooms. My room was modern, spotlessly clean, and spacious by NYC standards. The furniture was a little overwhelming in size for the room, but it wasn't an issue. The king bed was decent and had adjustable firmness controls (though I didn't change them at all so I can't comment on how good they were). The bedspread had clearly been there for a while, but it was clean. The pillows were mushy balls of nothing, but I adapted. The bathroom was very clean, everything worked properly, and the towels were good. It was nice that a mini-fridge and microwave were included.

I only interacted with the front desk staff but the girl who checked me in was quick and very friendly. Fast, easy check out in the morning. Checkout time of noon is a plus. I didn't make use of most of the amenities but what I saw looked good. Free wi-fi is always a plus.

The only real complaint I would have is the price. I chose this place on a last-minute weekend trip so I wasn't in a position to look around for the cheapest room. Even so, $360/weekend night (with taxes) is steep for a regular Hilton, and especially for a Garden Inn. But after all the positive things I just said, all things considered, it was money well spent, particularly if you're going to spend most of your time in the lower half of Manhattan. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor (there are 24).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Nice hotel in a very nice area of Manhattan. Employees are very welcoming and friendly. I higly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! You and every other guest of ours are very important to us. The entire staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 467 in New York City
1,806 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
699 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#190 of 467 in New York City
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#316 of 467 in New York City
1,896 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#123 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#165 of 467 in New York City
3,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,929 - ₹ 30,969
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing