We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My only NYC hotel option”
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #186 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My only NYC hotel option”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We visited friends for a few days and then decided to splurge and spend a weekend at the Bowery. It was worth every penny. We loved the location, the rooms, the hotel details, the cocktails at the bar, the service, and had a really great time.
We will never stay anywhere else!!!
From Trip Advisor, I knew to request a room with a bath tub, and it was AMAZING!! We had bubble baths on both nights and felt utterly pampered and in luxury. The outdoor bar is a total scene at night, and the number of smokers is kind of appalling, for us California folks. :) But the cocktail was delicious, and it was fun to see the scene and then retire to our room.
We appreciated the NY Times on our doorstep, and we had yummy cappuccinos downstairs at the restaurant, Gemma. We hope to eat there next time.
We had some weird room charge on our credit card when we got home, but when I called the following week to resolve it, they were extremely helpful and apologetic and removed it immediately.
Can't wait for our next NYC adventure!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJeanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    133
    29
    5
    18
See reviews for
60
292
73
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is my favorite hotel in nyc. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathrooms are nice, not large, but not small by nyc standards. The location can't be beat. There are several great restaurants and shops all around the hotel. The New Museum is less than a five minute walk, and you can easily walk to the shops in Nolita in about 5 mins as well. There is also a Whole Foods just down the street in case you need something.

Love the vibe and the fabulous bar/deck/lounge area. The bar is very popular at night, and we've seen celebrities here several times.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on a high floor if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 77wheretonext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a cool hotel. Dark and broody with a terrace for drinks where the young and beautiful hang out showing each other pictures of cool things on iPads. Even better, the hotel will remove these beautiful young things to make way for paying guests which (partially) compensates those of us envious of their youth.
We spent a fortune but it was worth it. Ate at the Italian place a couple of times (good) and spotted Jody Foster there (obviously we pretended not to notice, to notice would be not cool).
Free rental of bicycles (cool ones, obviously) a big hit that you should do. Local area is bohemian - very mixed crowd and lots of little bars etc.
Rooms are NYC big (read small) but again, cool.
Service was excellent and I suspect that all the staff were 'resting' models and actors but not pretentious at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ManchesterMartin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

What to say about the Bowery? It is definitely the coolest hotel in town. The bar is always hopping with a mix of cool, NYC characters and movie stars and if you are a guest you can always get a seat- what's not to love about that? I am of 2 minds about if i think the decor is cool, bohemian or if it looks like they found everything on the street but everyone else seems to love it. For people familiar with Los Angeles hotels, it reminds me of the Chateau Marmont meaning it isn't a four seasons but it is used to catering to high end people and has a cool vibe. So you may not have a bath tub in your room but I am sure the concierge can fill any crazy request you might have.

Our room was great- small of course but it IS NY- not smaller than any other hotel room. Persian rugs, floor to ceiling windows give everything a hip vibe. Very comfortable. I personally love the location too.

My only complaints are that i like just a TOUCH more luxury in my hotel- like the fitness room basically feels like you are in someone's house and i know it is NYC but i really like a bathtub in my rooms. Small complaints i know, but i am picky. The Greenwhich hotel in Tribecca has a very similar vibe to the Bowery but with the extra amenities i am looking for (amazing gym, slightly better trained staff etc) but the location is kind of out of the way. The Crosby Hotel is also another favorite, again, you sacrifice a TOUCH of the hip for better service and more amenities. That all being said, I WOULD stay at the Bowery again in a heart beat- I can go to Barry's Bootcamp or Soul Cycle if need to work out and one of 50 million spas if i want a bath- Frankly the cost of the room is worth it just to get a seat at the bar on a Saturday night...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotel_snob0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The craziest thing about The Bowery is that every surface, finish, knob and fixture are beautifully time burnished, the giant stone fireplace in the lobby/bar is straight out of Citizen Kane, the velvet furniture is what your grandmother would have had if your grandmother was Greta Garbo - yet the place is only a few years old. No one has had time to die of a drug overdose in the top floor suite bathroom, but the place reeks of rock star history. It feels like home, if home were dark, cozy and chill without any plastic toys to trip on. It's got a relaxing not-trying-too-hard (while secretly trying totally hard) starlets-you-don't-recognize-being -interviewed-by-a-magazine-you-haven't-heard-of at the bar kind of vibe. Plus there are amazing 6 ft marble soaking tub and double paned windows that make the rooms perfectly quiet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pixiehermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#165 of 466 in New York City
684 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 466 in New York City
590 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#86 of 466 in New York City
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 466 in New York City
772 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#62 of 466 in New York City
474 reviews
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#112 of 466 in New York City
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,959 - ₹ 42,696
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bowery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing