We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #173 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very very cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a cool hotel. Dark and broody with a terrace for drinks where the young and beautiful hang out showing each other pictures of cool things on iPads. Even better, the hotel will remove these beautiful young things to make way for paying guests which (partially) compensates those of us envious of their youth.
We spent a fortune but it was worth it. Ate at the Italian place a couple of times (good) and spotted Jody Foster there (obviously we pretended not to notice, to notice would be not cool).
Free rental of bicycles (cool ones, obviously) a big hit that you should do. Local area is bohemian - very mixed crowd and lots of little bars etc.
Rooms are NYC big (read small) but again, cool.
Service was excellent and I suspect that all the staff were 'resting' models and actors but not pretentious at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ManchesterMartin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    132
    28
    5
    17
See reviews for
59
285
72
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

What to say about the Bowery? It is definitely the coolest hotel in town. The bar is always hopping with a mix of cool, NYC characters and movie stars and if you are a guest you can always get a seat- what's not to love about that? I am of 2 minds about if i think the decor is cool, bohemian or if it looks like they found everything on the street but everyone else seems to love it. For people familiar with Los Angeles hotels, it reminds me of the Chateau Marmont meaning it isn't a four seasons but it is used to catering to high end people and has a cool vibe. So you may not have a bath tub in your room but I am sure the concierge can fill any crazy request you might have.

Our room was great- small of course but it IS NY- not smaller than any other hotel room. Persian rugs, floor to ceiling windows give everything a hip vibe. Very comfortable. I personally love the location too.

My only complaints are that i like just a TOUCH more luxury in my hotel- like the fitness room basically feels like you are in someone's house and i know it is NYC but i really like a bathtub in my rooms. Small complaints i know, but i am picky. The Greenwhich hotel in Tribecca has a very similar vibe to the Bowery but with the extra amenities i am looking for (amazing gym, slightly better trained staff etc) but the location is kind of out of the way. The Crosby Hotel is also another favorite, again, you sacrifice a TOUCH of the hip for better service and more amenities. That all being said, I WOULD stay at the Bowery again in a heart beat- I can go to Barry's Bootcamp or Soul Cycle if need to work out and one of 50 million spas if i want a bath- Frankly the cost of the room is worth it just to get a seat at the bar on a Saturday night...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotel_snob0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

The craziest thing about The Bowery is that every surface, finish, knob and fixture are beautifully time burnished, the giant stone fireplace in the lobby/bar is straight out of Citizen Kane, the velvet furniture is what your grandmother would have had if your grandmother was Greta Garbo - yet the place is only a few years old. No one has had time to die of a drug overdose in the top floor suite bathroom, but the place reeks of rock star history. It feels like home, if home were dark, cozy and chill without any plastic toys to trip on. It's got a relaxing not-trying-too-hard (while secretly trying totally hard) starlets-you-don't-recognize-being -interviewed-by-a-magazine-you-haven't-heard-of at the bar kind of vibe. Plus there are amazing 6 ft marble soaking tub and double paned windows that make the rooms perfectly quiet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pixiehermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed 1 night in a corner room on a high floor , with a fabulous view down to the the new WTC tower 1 with just 14 floors to go to completion !The photos we took from our view are a moment in NY history.
The room was vintage style, very chic, wooden floors, and full length windows .
The atmosphere here is so relaxed ,but great service.You step into another era when you find a spot to sit and enjoy a cocktail by the fire in the wood paneled, soft couch filled , softly lit lounge and bar.
The attached restaurant Gemma , is a delight- very good value, interesting menu, great service and atmosphere- we ate there for dinner and Sunday brunch , both were excellent .
We can't wait to return on our next NY trip.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choosyct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We wanted to stay in the East Village to take advantage of the location for interesting restaurants and an off Broadway theater. The Bowery Hotel was the perfect spot. Rooms were absolutely charming with period touches that made you feel like you had stepped back in time. Lobby was elegant and very social and the staff could not have been more helpful. Really nice attention to details and the room and bedding could not have been more comfortable. The concierge filled us in ahead of time about all of the things we could do within walking distance.. Great walking neighborhood - we explored some of Little Italy, visited Katz's Deli for hot pastrami sandwiches and Russ and Daughters for a bagel and to bring home some wonderful Irish smoked salmon. Recommend The Tenement Museum to really understand the area. New York Theater Workshop was a five minute walk. Liked everything about the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north look at the Manahattan skyline - we fell asleep with a view of the Chrysler build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Granitestater87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#89 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Property: The Bowery Hotel
Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#154 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,838 - ₹ 48,814
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bowery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing