We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    915
    316
    74
    61
See reviews for
638
538
136
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This Hotel was so dirty when I got into my room I thought it looked like a great spot in Manhattan that was close-by and convenient...After a few hours I started scratching I couldn't quite figure out why..it got some bad i ripped the covers off of me and found PUBIC hairs in the sheets of my bed...WOW TALK ABOUT DISGUSTING!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyL865, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Unique M,

Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express, we are shocked by your review and disappointed to hear about your experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the accommodations your received, our team works hard to present an impeccable product and this tells us that we dropped the ball this time. We want to let you know that we are inspecting more carefully in order to avoid this event from ever happening again to any future guest. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, we hope to see you in the near future in order to change your view of our hotel. Have a wonderful day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The location of this hotel is great. The free breakfast had so many options (what a cost & time-saver!) They valet-parked the car for the same price as other garages for 24-hour basis which was so convenient at check-in. Note: Call in advance if you're in a hurry at checkout they told us it would be 40 min. to get the car - we walked the few blocks ourselves and picked up the car instead of waiting.

We were able to check-in at 1 p.m. which gave us a chance to freshen up and leave all our bags behind.

I also like that the hotel uses the sheets to cover the duvet - instead of a bedspread. You feel like you have a nice, clean bed.

One negative was that the toilet did not have a powerful flush, so that made me nervous with 4 of us staying in the room, but with a little patience it eventually worked.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosePetal1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyL865, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear RosePetal 1936,

Thank you for your review of our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden, we're happy to learn that your time with us was pleasant. Please come visit us again, we love to provide the best service in the city especially to our returning guest; It brings a smile to our face to see your smile. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

A good location, near to 7th Avenue 28th Street subway which gets you to Times Square, Battery Park & 5th Avenue quickly. Tickets $2.50 per single ride. Reception was always very polite & helpful. Breakfast was fine with cereal, pancakes, fresh fruit, toast, cinnamon buns & 2-3 cooked items available, + coffee & juice. A bit crowded but there are tables outside assuming weather is fine. Rooms are more than adequate, huge beds which are very comfortable, t.v, air conditioning, shower & small bath. Road outside is noisy at all times - bring ear plugs! Choice of restaurants nearby, some better than others, we found 8th Avenue uptown has a reasonable selection. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor or at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PebblesBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is moderately priced (for NYC) and within 3 blocks of Penn Station. If you're riding the train into NYC and looking for a room close by, this hotel is very convenient, requiring no taxi or metro ride and just a very short walk from the station. It is even closer to Madison Square Garden.

The only negative was that my wife and I were put in a ground floor room beside the elevator and that meant there was more noise than there should have been. I suspect it was because I booked the room through hotels.com and we got one of the less desirable rooms.

But overall, a nice, inexpensive, safe, comfortable and easy place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#164 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#332 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,548 - ₹ 25,431
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our hotel is a new 15 story high-rise hotel with amenities to include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing