We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #268 of 477 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

A good location, near to 7th Avenue 28th Street subway which gets you to Times Square, Battery Park & 5th Avenue quickly. Tickets $2.50 per single ride. Reception was always very polite & helpful. Breakfast was fine with cereal, pancakes, fresh fruit, toast, cinnamon buns & 2-3 cooked items available, + coffee & juice. A bit crowded but there are tables outside assuming weather is fine. Rooms are more than adequate, huge beds which are very comfortable, t.v, air conditioning, shower & small bath. Road outside is noisy at all times - bring ear plugs! Choice of restaurants nearby, some better than others, we found 8th Avenue uptown has a reasonable selection. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor or at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PebblesBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    875
    293
    70
    59
See reviews for
597
519
131
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is moderately priced (for NYC) and within 3 blocks of Penn Station. If you're riding the train into NYC and looking for a room close by, this hotel is very convenient, requiring no taxi or metro ride and just a very short walk from the station. It is even closer to Madison Square Garden.

The only negative was that my wife and I were put in a ground floor room beside the elevator and that meant there was more noise than there should have been. I suspect it was because I booked the room through hotels.com and we got one of the less desirable rooms.

But overall, a nice, inexpensive, safe, comfortable and easy place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The receptionist was no help to me. I asked if there was any possible way for me to check in a few hours early and the guy just looked at me and didn't answer until I asked again. He then decided that checking his text messages was more important than dealing with a paying customer. After a little while he just told me no and was extremely rude about it. I have stayed in other holiday inn expresses in ny but I will never stay in this one again.... Great way to treat your priority club members!! Stay at the ramada if the holiday inn near times square is booked.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Rdgon,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27729741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

i have been to new york 5 times and stayed at the new yorker or pensylvania hotels.booked this holiday inn last july through british airways due to the unbelievable offer i got the flight & hotel for £560.my 2 daughters myself and 3yr old grandson arrived march 26th and boy we thought omg the street looks rough.but the hotel is spotless.rooms are small but hey you only sleep in them so what does it matter.we were at the back of hotel so no noise at night so we slept soundly until grandson woke us up at 3am due to his body still being on uk time.the free breakfast was a bonus and changed daily in the hot section.saved us a few dollars so we would recomend this hotel to all unless your the sort who moan about room size.if we can get the same deal again we will be returning again and again.oh and not to forget the check in gentleman.polite well dressed and so helpfull.well done holiday inn.

Room Tip: get a back one we were on 9th floor and no noise at all.get down early foor breakfast as space is li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kath w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our first visit into the city of New York and have to say that staying here at this brilliant hotel made our vislt to this fabulous city all the more enjoyable. Quiet street in the best of locations. ALL the staff we met were superb, very polite and could not have been more helpful. Free internet 24 hrs a day, complimentary coffee and tea in the lounge area, free use of the gym and great complimentary hot breakfast, lots of seating outside on the patio area. We stayed here for 4 nights and could not have been more happy with our choice of hotel. Within walking distance of all the major attractions close to Macy's, Madisson Square Garden, Empire State building, (view from our bedroom window), Chrysler Building. Grand Central station, Times Square, and both the underground and Penn Station. Loads of places to eat nearby. We walked from the hotel to Central Park and to the other end of the island to the 9/11 memorial and Staten Island Ferry.
Twin and double rooms avaialble all with en suites which have baths and showers and complimentary toiletries available should you forget something, wi-fi in all rooms good quality beds and tv's.
We caught the airtrain from JFK airport to Jamaica, last stop on the airtrain at the airport and then the Long Island Rail Road train from Jamaica Hub to Penn Station about a 1/2 hr ride. Penn station is located 2 blocks from the hotel on 31st . So easy to access and very easy ride directly from the airport to the centre of the city. Cost $5 for the airtrain ticket, payable as you enter or exit the airtrain at Jamaica, and $6 for the LIRR train ride. We caught the underground from Penn Station on the E line back to Jamaica - Sutphin Boulevard $2.25 then airtrain $5 back to the airport, would recommend the LIRR train which was much quicker due to the stops on the subway, felt safe but was crowed on the underground.
Thanks to all at the hotel for making our stay so pleasant cannot recommend highly enough, we loved our stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room at the front if you are staying at weekends as there is a nightclub in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear PennyRon,
Thank you very much for sharing with all of us about your wonderful time in the “Big Apple” and in our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We love to see those five out of five ratings as we strive to provide the best possible service and experiences day in and day out; it’s always great to hear from our guest on how we’re doing. We try to make everyone’s stay a “Home away from Home” provide the best comfort, the friendliest service and the best of amenities. We are certain that all Tripadvisor visitors will take your excellent information and advises to heart and with them have the best possible experience they can have while in town. We hope that in the near future you get to see our great city once again and that you choose to share that experience with all, especially with us at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. From all of us at the Holiday Inn Express MSG we salute you and your love ones, have a fantastic day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#169 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#323 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#251 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#119 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#165 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#146 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,507 - ₹ 29,136
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our hotel is a new 15 story high-rise hotel with amenities to include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing