We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“39th Honeymoon at The London”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #168 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Monkton, Maryland, United States
1 review
“39th Honeymoon at The London”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

What a delightful surprise - a charming, incredibly spacious, comfortable hotel with GREAT service and fabulous views in the heart of NYC! The London is our new favorite mini-vacation retreat. Breakfast and lunch in house were delightful. We could not believe how fast room service was delivered (tea and coffee in under 10 minutes - it would have taken us longer to make it ourselves!) Johnny the doorman, the lovely young lady with the big, welcoming smile at the front desk, and the courtesy car driver - all top drawer. We were also amazed that our room was cleaned by the time we got back from breakfast! Oh, and there are MANY elevators - no lines, no waiting, no crowds. Just can't say enough good stuff about The London NYC. You should go there!

Room Tip: We loved our Vista Suite on the 45th floor. My guess is higher is better. It's very quiet up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,036
    879
    277
    121
    88
See reviews for
723
1,326
146
743
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago when it was the Rihga Royal. Back then rooms were warm with beautiful fabrics and amazing cherry or mahogany wood bathrooms that were fitting for the Queen. We were shocked to walk into an ugly fake wood floor in the living area with the ugliest purple HARD couch and cold decor. The bedroom area was better, but the bathroom was gutted and now all while marble like tiles - everywhere. The tub is gone and now an awkward long shower with shower heads at each end - kinda weird. I am sure those who like modern will enjoy it, but I found it cold and not cozy at all. Now - the service was fine! Check in was a breeze. We requested to check in an hour early - and actually showed up 2 hours early - and got our room immediately. We did have room service and that was very prompt - although 17% tip and 5.00 service charge is included, they still are looking for more. We did use the valet parking and that was perfect! Over all - I really can't complain, but for my taste I just found it too cold.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamells92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drury, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

What a fantastic place! Central to everything, is only about a 2 minute walk to central park, Madison ave, 5th ave, times square and broadway and only a 2/3 stop subway ride to lower manhattan. Hotel is absolutely stunning, beautiful breakfasts, amazing view (if on the central park facing side) and the best beds!! We ended up changing rooms on our 4th night from 5203-4601 and didn't realize how much better the rooms can get. Staff are great, even delivered us a kettle to make our own tea free of charge. Amazing place to stay and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room on the central park side of the building that is on the higher levels, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the London NYC hotel for four nights in July 2012 with my wife and one-year-old baby. The location of the hotel is excellent, just south of Central Park and very close to the 53rd St. and seventh Avenue subway station. The size of the room was also a huge plus as we were in a suite with a pretty big living area where we put the crib. One night we had a few friends over and we were able to put the crib in our bedroom, close the French doors and have some drinks in the living area. The hotel staff was also very accommodating. We needed the fridge to put the baby food in and a microwave to sterilize her milk bottles and these were brought to our room almost immediately when we checked in. There are only a couple of things I can think of that would have made the stay even better:
1. The selection at breakfast could've been better. There were no hot breakfast items as part of the breakfast buffet, you had to order these separate off the menu for a substantial up charge. I think they could've at least put some scrambled eggs in a tray.
2. Please note not all the rooms in the hotel have the Central Park view some of them face south and look straight at another building across the street. If this is important to you make sure that you get a room on a high floor facing north.
3. There is no pool, then again I don't know that many hotels in the city that do have a pool.
I am still giving this hotel five stars because of what I mentioned above and especially the helpfulness of the staff. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Civez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel has it all! Beautifully decorated, quiet, spacious rooms...great restaurant and bar...perfect location for shopping, theater and the park...very accommodating staff. It was our first stay at The London and we'll be back again and again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,657 - ₹ 48,917
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing