We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Ranked #341 of 467 Hotels in New York City
chasse
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great staff, great location”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I am very surprise that in a 2 day notice to get a nice hotel right near Penn station . The rooms were clean the staff was very helpful , and it even had free breakfast (which I have not gotten in the past at other NYC hotels). Only issue was a noisy air conditioner unit but they had provided ear plugs. I would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    830
    388
    133
    83
See reviews for
783
577
107
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We took the train to NYC with the family. The hotel was One block from the station, and close to Times Square. We had a great time! The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was fairly clean and well kept (the shower cleanliness was my only complaint). The continental breakfast every morning was a little hectic, but what do you expect when it is free (or included in the price). Overall, I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cweed32, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to write your review! We're so happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our very central location and experience Times Square. We're very glad that you got to know our friendly staff, and enjoyed our daily complimentary breakfast. We're sorry to hear about shower cleanliness, and will make sure to address with our housekeeping staff. Thank you for your feedback, it is invaluable in improving our guest’s experience. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next stay in New York City.

Take care!

Charles Weed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Okay so this is a long overdue review but felt I needed to share what an awesome time we had during our very first time to visit my favorite city so far NYC.
loved the location - Macy's around the neighborhood and Starbucks just around the corner.
Room was clean and spacious enough for 2 adults and 1 child.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mystiquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cweed32, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We are thankfully you took time to write about your experience with the Wingate! We love to hear about our guests first time experiences with NYC, and our staff prides itself on helping make this experience a great one. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Thank you,

Charles Weed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wi
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed 5 nights, 2 rooms, 5 women. The staff was wonderful. The rooms were of adequate size, clean,not noisy. We were on the 11th floor. Each floor had only 6 rooms so not many people walking in the halls. The room with one bed had a mirror in the bathroom & outside the bathroom in the sleeping area. The room with 2 double beds had a mirror in the bathroom, none in the bedroom area making getting ready in the morning a problem. The fans were noisy, would like to be able to turn it off if not showering in one room. The other had 2 switches but if wanted a light over the sink had to listen to the fan. Appreciated the safe in the room,ironing board, iron, refrigerator and microwave, wi-fi. Breakfast was adequate with plenty of food. Street was dark at night without much activity on the block but lots to do near by. Walk to Macy's, Times Square,near subway stops.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor away from the street, you will not have a view but it will be quiet and away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Disappointed in this facility! My sister and I had a five day reservation for Monday thru Friday. On Thursday night we both were sick thru the night due to something we ate Thursday night. We decided to check out the next day and go on home afraid we would not enjoy Friday. When we went to check out the woman at the front desk said we would still have to pay for Friday night since we had not given them 48 hrs. notice. We decided that since we had to pay the $196 we would just stay and lay around there and not allow them to resell the room. But believe me, we will NEVER stay there again. The location was OK, but I would recommend you stay at the Doubletree Suites on 7th at Times Square, an excellent location and wonderful friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cweed32, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Dancer46,

Thank you for choosing the Wingate by Wyndham and for giving us this opportunity to explain the reasoning for our policies with the TripAdvisor community. I am sorry that our cancellation policies did not suit your needs. We cherish our guests and for their sake we wish we did not need policies, we have a very small yet very popular hotel in the heart of Midtown Manhattan and so the majority of our guests are leisure travelers. For us it is extremely difficult to resell any room without sufficient notice. Therefore, we offer cancellation policies that are appropriate for our booking window. We detail those cancellation policies very clearly, as you can see for yourself from the numerous printed descriptions on our website. We have cancellation policies that range from 48 hour notice to fully prepaid non-refundable, so it is very important, not just at our hotel but for any reservation or purchase to check the cancellation policy and determine for yourself if it is the right policy for you. Also, please do not think that we only stand on principle. Always, with every last minute cancel situation, we try to resell the room, and if we are able to do so we often issue a credit for the stay or gift certificate for a future stay. Unfortunately, with your case you did stay and we didn’t have the opportunity to try and resell the room last minute. If you or any other TA reader wishes to discuss this further or ask a question with regard to our cancellation policies, please do not hesitate to contact me at 212-209-6222 or Charles.Weed@interstatehotels.com

Thank you,

Charles Weed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#263 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#119 of 467 in New York City
1,337 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#64 of 467 in New York City
635 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#165 of 467 in New York City
2,119 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#160 of 467 in New York City
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Address: 235 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-1901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,632 - ₹ 29,111
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown New York City Hotel is located just 1/2 block from Macys and Herald Square in the heart of the Garment/Fashion District, two blocks from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station and just moments away from such famous landmarks as the Empire State Building - 4 blocks, Times Square - 7 blocks, Bryant Park - 10 blocks, the Theater District - 10 blocks, and the Jacob Javits Convention Center - 10 blocks. At Wingate by Wyndham, we know you mean business. Our ninety-two spacious guestrooms and suites feature a well-lit work area, complimentary high speed internet access-wired and wireless, two line phones and remote printing from your room. The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown is now offering FREE long distance calls to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Manhattan Midtown Hotel New York City
Wingate New York City
Wingate Manhattan Midtown
Wyndham New York City
New York City Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing